We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
225
129
36
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
129
36
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bread san blas eggs private room bed dorm great view of the city up hill warm blankets own bathroom coca leaves the location is perfect machu picchu airport pickup few blocks hostel jam
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 405 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We stayed 3 times in total during our 3 week stay (first few nights, then after returning from our trek, and again before flying home).
We loved the views and really liked the neighborhood, we didn't even mind the hike to the center of town (you're also closer to the ruins uphill from town) - although we had trouble with the steps at first, we considered it helpful for our acclimatization.
The rooms do get cold at night (and the in room heaters didn't seem to be working), but we were never cold when sleeping as they layer the beds with extra blankets which really do the trick! The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, laundry was reasonable, airport pickup was welcome, and bag storage was great. The showers had do have hot water, but even hotter would have been nice.
Each stay was comfortable, but the upstairs rooms were better. In addition to the great views upstairs, when we stayed on the lower level our sleep was disturbed in the wee hours by inconsiderate guests upstairs talking at full volume and stomping around with their hiking boots on while they presumably packed for and early departure for their trek. Lack of sound insulation is the problem, but we really wished upstairs guests would use common sense including packing the evening prior, talking in hushed voices when everyone else is sleeping, and waiting to put on boots until ready to leave.
The 3 of us stayed in a private triple on 2 occasions and a 4 person dorm with bath on the other. While of us were satisfied overall with our stay in the dorm room (and as the hotel wasn't fully booked we had it to ourselves), we were slightly disappointed that the included breakfast is not as nice for dorms as hit had been for the private room (didn't include juice or eggs, but did offer fruit), although it was cheaper.
One other thing to keep in mind - if you're going on a trek that includes hotel pick up: while the hotel is accessible by taxi (which was great for getting to bus station & airport), the larger vans that our trekking company used can't navigate the narrow winding streets of the neighborhood, so we had a long uphill hike late at night after an exhausting 5 days.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and with fabulous views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elliet369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017

Very friendly staff! Even when we had to be up early for tours they made sure we got a small breakfast. The room was clean when arrived and they offered every day to clean the room during our stay. Also a great location, near the plaza but nice and quiet.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

We really love this hostel. We booked the luxery room with a double bed. The cozy room was really big for a private room in a hostel. The shower was good and warm. And everythinf was very clean. The breakfast was fine. The boys that run the hostel are very nice and spreak good English. Last but not least: the location is perfect and the view is amazine!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EsthervWezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017

We stayed in Samay Wasi for three days prior to trekking in the mountains. The steps to get there were a little intense (our van from the airport couldn't get anywhere near the hostel so we ended walking quite far, but I don't think a regular taxi would have had such a problem), but once we got to the top, the view was so worth it! There were four of us and they provided a six-bed dorm for us to share, which also had a great view of the city. You could hear most of the noise from the hostel in our room, but a simple relaxing noise app on my phone was able to drown out most of the noise. Since it sits a few blocks from the center of town, it was quiet otherwise. Getting up early and enjoying the view as the sun comes up was a highlight of my stay. Breakfast was simple; just bread, coffee and bananas, but that's pretty typical for a hostel. The eggs and such available for purchase were tasty and cheap enough, so it was fine. The staff even made us breakfast at 3:30am on the day we had to leave for our trek! All in all, we found it great for the price and very accommodating. But, seriously, it is a hike from the city center. It's only a few blocks, but all up hill. We found it worth it, but be ready for getting your steps in!

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing a room with friends, the upstairs dorm with six beds had an awesome view!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheridan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Samay Wasi for 3 nights. The view is awesome also the location is quite central and we didn't mind the steps to get there. The staff wasn't really helpful or motivated in any case.
Our room was very cold during the night that's why all our things were moist in the morning. The heater didn't help that much.
The most positive thing about the hostel was the tour operator James. He helped us a lot with organizing our stay in Cusco.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews