We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, MD - United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Tierra Viva in Cusco--the helpful professional staff, the great location, the excellent breakfast, and the beautiful decor of the clean and comfortable rooms. They also provide unlimited cups of mate de coca, which I think really helps to counteract the lower oxygen levels at that altitude. (Taking acetazolamide is recommended as well.) They also provide oxygen if you need it.

Our trip to Cusco had 2 parts, since we travelled to Machu Pichu in between. The concierge was extremely helpful in allowing us to store our luggage for the 2 days we were away, and had helpfully placed our luggage in our rooms when we returned to Tierra Viva. And they were great about taking us and picking us up at the bus station or airport. A thoroughly friendly and helpful staff--we recommend this hotel highly for anyone travelling to Cusco...

Room Tip: All of the rooms were excellent--for older people, they might request to have as few steps to access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear JonTemple,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering us a Helpful Hotel, because that is exactly what we try to do with our guests, try to help them to enjoy the destiny they are visiting, and that is why our mission is: To contribute to convert a trip in an unforgettable experience.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    286
    54
    12
    10
See reviews for
146
565
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brits in la Palma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at at the Tierra Viva Plaza Hotel in Cusco.
We are in the middle of a 3 months tour and had to take time out to praise the staff and accommodation.
From the moment we arrived Eleazer, I hope thats the right spelling of his name, went out of his way to make sure we were happy with our room.
He answered all our questions and helped us plan our days.
Downstairs is a beautiful courtyard, a haven in a busy city.
He found out it was our 40th wedding anniversary and set out to make our stay special.
The beds are extremely comfortable, bathroom and fittings to an excellent standard.
If you like travelling with comfort, this is somewhere you can rely on.
Close to the main Plaza Rebublica, with numerous restaurants close at hand.
Also, a big plus, washing by the kilo. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPalmaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Lapalmaduo,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about Tierra Viva!

We will tell Eleazar about your comment and how grateful you were with his attentions.

In Tierra Viva, our mission is “To Contribute to convert a trip in an unforgettable experience”, and comments like yours, assure us that we are in the right path.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The service is very good. The staff is very helpful. Walking distance to Plaza de Armas. Nice and clean room but there is no window to see the outside. The window faces the interior of the building.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilN92121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear blythblyth,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for the time dedicated to write a comment about our hotel.

At Tierra Viva, we have different kind of rooms, some of them face the exterior and others the interiors.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at this amazing hotel for 3 nights in two different rooms in late January 2012.
It is a small boutique hotel just 50 meters up a cobbled side street just off Plazza de Armas in the center of Cuzco.
It seems to be an colonial hacienda which was changed into a series of individual and unique rooms all of which are different. The street view is limited by the colonial terra cotta tile roof tops which add an extra sense of privacy. but you get an excellent view of the mountains surrounding Cuzco
Wonderfully quiet. You feel you are the only guest .
There are 2 high speed computers in a discreet alcove.The room was luxurious with king sized bed, high mattress, jacuzzi tub and flat screen TV. with multi-lingual channels. Bath robes and bottled water! Lovely breakfast with eggs and bacon! They stored my luggage while I went to Machu Picchu for 2 days and washed my laundry while I was gone!
Staff is fluent in English and very knowledgeable.
On my last night, they found me a late night restaurant that served a national dish (coy) that i wanted to experience before leaving Cuzco.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for airport pick up and they will be there when you arrive. Ask for the room off the balcony on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UPTHEAMAZON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Uptheamazon,

Thank you for your wonderful comment about our hotel and the time you have taken to describe some of its features.

Reading comments like yours are a huge incentive for us to continue growing and improving.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in the Tierra Viva Hotel for 5 days in Cusco in January. Initially only intended to stay for 2 days but got really bad food poisoning in Aguas Calientes (do NOT order the chicken taco's ;)) and extending our stay was no problem.

Rooms are clean and nice, if a little small, and any of the rooms we stayed in were without outward facing windows (there were windows facing the internal courtyard, but if you wanted any privacy you had to keep your curtains closed at all times. The walls were a little thin, and you could hear a lot of what was going on in other rooms on all floors, with some intermittent machine noises going on throughout the night.

Breakfast was a nice buffet of local and North American style foods, and staff were generally very helpful, with good English.

Coca tea in reception was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a street view if you want some privacy, although this might be a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naulboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Nealboy,

Thank you for your comment about our hotel and or the time you have taken to write about us.

It is the first time we hear about noises between rooms. Yet, be sure that we will revise it and improve it.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great little hotel, close to the square in the heart of the town. Great service, lovely breakfast, very nice room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre38_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I am obsessed with this hotel. It's adorable, cozy, and pretty much perfect. Not to mention a great deal. And in a great location. We stayed here before the Inca trail and I wish we had stayed here after as well. BEST HOTEL EVER.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Kim T,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and for consider us the BEST HOTEL IN CUSCO.

Once again thank you.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.2 km away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.3 km away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza

Property: Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Address: Calle Suecia 345, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Brituvian Inn)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza owes its name to the nearby “Plaza de Armas” of Cuzco. It is located only 15 meters from the square via a cobblestone street which separates downtown from the beautiful colonial house in which this stunning hotel is located.Steeped in history, this colonial house once served as home to the family of the Spanish conqueror Francisco Pizarro.This beautiful historic building has 20 comfortable rooms and a rest area consisting of a dream patio with wood veneers, illuminated by a beautiful dome that captures the most beautiful sunrises of Cuzco offering magical nights of relaxation.Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza offers a place to rest, and is the ideal place to start and recover from the wonders of a day exploring the magical city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing