We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to spend half an hour”
Review of ChocoMuseo

ChocoMuseo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Cusco ChocoMuseo: From Bean to Bar Chocolate Workshop
Ranked #19 of 171 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cacao and chocolate museum in Cusco, Peru. Learn about the history of cacao, the cacao tree and cacao in Peru. ChocoMuseo has its own artisanal chocolate factory which makes chocolate from organic Peruvian cacao beans. Finally ChocoMuseo offers chocolate workshops to make your own chocolate and cacao farm tours to see how real life in a plantation is. A unique experience for the whole family.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good way to spend half an hour”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The museo is very small but filled with lots of info about chocolate. You can taste test some different kinds and even try chocolate tea which was really good. Then you can buy some to take home.

It is free to get in and located right off the Plaza de Armas.

Helpful?
Thank islndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    676
    312
    61
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute place”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had posters and explanations about how chocolate is made, history of chocolate, etc. Free admisson. We got there just before closing time; plan on an hour.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnThompson_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chocolate heaven in Cusco”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had so much fun at ChocoMuseo one rainy afternoon in Cusco when Gladis showed us how to roast and grind the beans to make choclate. We also made tea from the toasted husks which was yummy.

It was a wonderful experience sipping their hot chocolate with cloves and cinnamon sitting on the balcony over looking Plaza Regoclio whatching a snapshot of Cusco life pass us by.

Thanks

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SChamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Small but interesting.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I wouldn't go out of my way to visit here, but if you're in the area and have a few spare minutes then drop in. There are a few interesting exhibits explaining the history of chocolate. The gift shop sells many varieties of chocolate made right on the premises.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaschneid68, Owner at ChocoMuseo, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your review and we hoped that we had a nice time at ChocoMuseo.
To describe better ChocoMuseo so that everyone knows what to expect, I would day that:
ChocoMuseo is a place where you can learn almost everything about cacao and chocolate if you want to.
ChocoMuseo is a place where we offer fun workshops where one learns all the process from beans to bar with at the end the possibility to bring home your chocolates. The workshops are reasonably priced (70 soles) for what you learn and what you can bring home.
ChocoMuseo is a small articanal chocolate factory where we select our cocoa beans and then transform them into chocolate bars or truffles. The bars are packed by hand and the production made everyday is small (between 40 and 80 chocolate bars).
ChocoMuseo is a small café with 3 tables and 3 balconies where one can taste delicious chocolate and coffee drinks. One of the best hot chocolate in Cusco is served there.
I hope that now everybody knows what to expect and will come to ChocoMuseo to spend a wonderful time.
I hope to see you soon,
Alain Schneider, happy owner of ChocoMuseo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Even me, not a great fan of chocolate, liked it a lot! They mix information with practice (there is a chance to make your own chocolate).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank IvsonSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ChocoMuseo also viewed

 

Been to ChocoMuseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing