We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Nights at the House Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Beautiful spacious living room with Chimney
Nights at the House
Dining area
Living room comfort, 42' TV, Direct Tv, gallery of films
Wonderful time, cinema time
Dining
Perspectives of Living room
Kitchen area, full apliances
Dinner at House
Dining area at day
King bedroom with balcony
King bedroom view
Double Twin bedroom, peace and silence
Doubles, feather comforts, cotton sheets,
Doubles details
Breakfasts
Pizza Night at House
Inner roof garden
Rainbow from house
Salineras is walking distance from house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cusco, Cusco Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CJM524
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing and beautiful stay at the Recoleta cottage in May. We paid the additional fee for breakfast, and each morning a wonderful woman came, made us a delicious breakfast and tidied the cottage. The place has a beautiful and relaxing backyard, with a hammock chair to sit and enjoy the fresh air and views. On our last afternoon I spotted a large humming bird checking out the flowers.
The cottage is in a very convenient location, but far enough away to feel like you are in your own secluded neighborhood. We were able to walk to the town of Urubumba (a beautiful walk) and we were steps from the Monastery hotel, where you can have a nice meal and pick up free wifi. We felt safe the entire time.
We hired a local to drive us up to Moray and the salt mines, and the drive alone was worth our entire trip. The mountains are breathtaking. I don't know how you stay here and not fall in love with Peru.
We took the train from Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu) to the station about 15-20 minutes away from the cottage, and arranged for the hotel to pick us up from there. I would recommend this schedule. We watched the sunrise at Machu Picchu, had a breathtaking and exhausting day at the ruins, took the evening train to the valley and woke up in this beautiful place where all we had to do was relax and wander around for a couple of days. We then arranged for a driver (through Valley and Life) to drive us back to Cusco (a gorgeous drive).
Just my husband and I stayed here, but the cottage accommodates a lot more, and with its nice living room and full kitchen it would be a great place for a large group to stay, relax, make your own meals and take a breath from regular hotels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo R
Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I wish all my travels were like this one.
Extremely good service by our hosts, comfortable accomodation in Rio Grande Cottage which is a very nice house with beautiful gardens. Clean and cozy.
I had the chance of discovering the Sacred Valley of Urubamba with profesional guides and taste peruvian food in very good restaurants.
I shall recommend this to all my friends traveling to Peru.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tours, friendliness by hosts.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nykrista
NY
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay in the Sacred Valley!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We has a wonderful time in the Recolletta Cottage this past January. Our group of 5 stayed in the Cottage for 4 nights, but we wished it was many more! The Cottage is located in a very peaceful area that is quiet and beautiful, but you are also able to walk into town for dinner. The Cottage has everything that you need, including gorgeous views and a nice fireplace to sit by in the evenings. Our hosts were wonderful and they made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. They also coordinated wonderful tours for us around Cusco and the Sacred Valley. I would highly recommend the Recolletta Cottage for anyone looking for a peaceful vacation in the center of the Sacred Valley. I hope to be back sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2013
Dear Krista:
We had also a wonderful time having you and your great family as our guests. We really hope that you or your friends visiting this extraordinary Valley come back again to stay with us. We will be delighted to have such great people in our cottages and be able to be of help in anyway you could need.Hope you come back to Peru soon there is still so much to see around awaiting for you!. All our best wishes to all your family!
Valley and Life team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitris...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable home good location”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Recoletta Cottage is a house within a condominium. Nice and safe place to stay, ideal for a family or friends with 3 bedrooms. Excellent location as it is close to Urubamba town centre. The managers were very friendly, helpful with all my enquiries and did their best to make sure I had everything I needed.

I stayed in the house for 2 weeks and everything was fine during my stay there. I would definitely recommend it to anybody as an excellent option for staying the Sacred Valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is very good for easy access to the town.
Liked least: I didn't have any particular issues.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2013
Dear Dimitri:
It was so great to have you as our guest, you were a wonderful guest and we are glad we were of help and could serve you and fulfill your petitions.
We believe as you know that Service is all that matters in life. We are looking forward to have you again in this Sacred Valley. Hope you return back to Cusco soon.
Regards
Valley and Life Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana L
Dallas, Texas
1 review
““Beyond Expectations””
Reviewed January 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found somewhere special. We stayed in the Valley for one week and were 100% happy with everything. From the minute we arrived until being dropped back off at airport at the end of our stay - everything was wonderful! To start things off we were courteously met at the airport and provided comfortable transportation to our rented cottage. We were served coca tea (for help with altitude) immediately after we arrived which was very nice. Our host also had great suggestions for local restaurants and tours which was a thoughtful way for us to start our vacation.

Our cottage was sparkling clean, spacious, and well decorated. It had all the amenities of home including down comforters, glasses, dishes and all cookware, which was 100% better than staying at a hotel. We also took advantage of the healthy breakfast and lunch which was specially prepared with such enthusiasm by the Managers. The care they put into every detail of our stay was beyond all expectations! The gatherings after tea time with delicious desserts, the warmth of the fireplace, and very clean and comfortable rooms wherever you went were beyond memorable. Everything was very modern with plenty of hot water and a full kitchen to prepare anything you wanted if you chose not to go out for the day. And the free internet was also a very special bonus.

Our cottage was in a very beautiful location and was quiet, secluded, and very relaxing. In the morning you could hear many birds singing and in the evening you could enjoy the orchestra of crickets off in the distance. The walk to the center of town was only about 15-20 minutes and was very quiet and peaceful with beautiful views as well. When you arrive there you can shop at a local market or many of the small shops that are there as well.

Many thanks go out to the Managers for the wonderful and relaxing days we spent at Valley & Life. We could not have made a better choice for our vacation. From the moment we arrived, we felt like old friends were waiting to greet us and constantly checked on us for our entire stay. We will always remember the inspiring view from our cottage through the window overlooking the mountains. It was spectacular!

It was a very nice stay in the Sacred Valley and I hope to repeat the experience many more times in the future. I will never tire of recommending this place to anyone who wants to relax and spend some time unwinding in this wonderful place.

Tatiana

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail!
Liked least: We needed to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2013
Dearest Tatiana:
Our time with you was also for us "beyond expectations" too! We couldn't imagine that a beautiful friendship will start growing from this encounter, and we really hope next time have more extra time to share with you and your husband.
We are looking forward to have you again in our beautiful Sacred Valley and hope you can fulfill the promise of returning back.
We will keep on working to exceed the expectations of all our guests and to improve even more our standard
Have a wonderful year
Valley and Life Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisL0u
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only peaceful, quiet place in Peru!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Recolleta Cottage. We had a wonderful breakfast every morning. We lit a fire in the fireplace every night. We enjoyed reading on the back porch every evening. The cottage is in a compound with 8 other cottages. There are no barking dogs or roosters to wake you up....just quiet! We enjoyed Urubamba for an entire week with teenagers...studying Spanish, learning salsa and visiting all the nearby sites. The place was spotless, the service wonderful and the cook was the best in the world. We were over 7 weeks in Peru and teh Recolleta Cottage was the highlight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: lack of a microwave
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMuente
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot in Urubamba”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely LOVED staying here!

The property is wonderful! It is much better than how it looks on pictures. It is spacious, cosy and allows for a great family experience. The location in Urubamba is unbeatable for those that want to cover most of the must-see places and also hit the unbeaten track.

The managers were not only kind and welcoming, but offered assistance on getting around, purchasing tickets and organizing tours. They gave us valuable tips on ways to save on trains and housing in Aguas Calientes.

We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Ambience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing