We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balcon Inn”
Review of El Balcon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Balcon
Ranked #5 of 344 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Balcon Inn”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We returned to this hotel three times during a 12 day period and each time our room got progressively worse. The first was great with a wonderful view of Cusco but the last was dark and damp. Shame because it was a lovely oasis close to the centre and sights of Cusco and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the balcony overlooking Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    117
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
150
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Wonderful place,BUT-we had an agreement with the hotel to pay on the last day of our stay made by our tourguide,which is by the way the common procedure-and then they suddenly wanted us to pay the whole bill days before ,just when we needed to depart for a tour and in cash,which we were unable to do because we didnt have this amount available(7nights).In the end,the owner was very unclear about payment policy,which was stressful and inconvenient to us,and he was also very rude when we tried to discuss this with him.Despite all this the hotel was a beautiful place to stay,nice rooms ,friendly stuff-just the owner should work on his customer sevice skills!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thorsten s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed at El Balcon for one night prior to departing Cuzco. The rooms were simple, but roomy and tastefully decorated. There was a small space heater available in the room, but it wasn't needed with the heavy and warm blankets. The bathroom was large, as was the shower, and had lots of hot water. There was one flight of stairs to reach the rooms, but the front desk was more than happy to assist with the luggage. Breakfast of eggs, bread, cereal, fruit, and juice/tea was included in the room rate. The hotel is located only 2-3 blocks from Plaza D'Arms, and has a magnificent view of the Plaza from the upper balcony. There are warnings regarding personal safety when walking around the area at night. Taxis are recommended for getting to/from the hotel after dark. But once I was in the hotel, I just wanted a good night's sleep, which I got!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Pros:

+ Proximity to Plaza de Armas
+ Good breakfast
+ Clean rooms (not super fancy, but clean)
+ Luggage storage during trip to Machu Picchu

Cons:

+ Greeting by travel planner which pressure-sells his trips
+ Generally poor english from staff and no patience with my poor spoken spanish
+ Travel arrangements somehow slipped through the cracks and the hotel decided to put the full blame on us
+ Girl working at reception is brash and unhelpful; she was rude when speaking about us with the taxi service since she believed that we did not understand spanish
+ Charge some obscure exchange fee on credit cards which amounts to roughly an 8% surcharge when paying for the room

Overall:

Low bang-for-your-buck. There are surely enough hotels around the Plaza de Armas in Cusco that one can find better service and similar rooms at a discount to this place.

Emilie & Charles

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is ok but rather expensive for what it offers, we didn't get any discount and the room was humid and there was no heating in the room.... the breakfast is ok, but the service is slow as it is understaffed

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
209 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is close to historical city center.
The rooms are correct, a bit cold (ask the heating system at the lobby).
The view from balcon rooms is nice expecially during night.
The staff is nice.
The breakfast is good

To conclud nice place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Great location. Rooms a large and clean with heater.The staff is helpful. And of course fantastic view

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonGuillermoDelSalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.1 km away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.9 km away
B&B-Hotel Pension Alemana
0.9 km away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon

Property: El Balcon
Address: Tambo de Montero 222, Cusco 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 344 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Balcon 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three blocks from the Plaza de Armas in the city of Cusco, El Balcon has a commanding view of the entire city, cathedrals, churches, mountains and the Ausangate glacier. El Balcon is a renovated colonial Casona that dates back to the 1630s built atop the preceding Inca terraces. Inca stone work and colonial balustrades mesh harmoniously around terraced gardens creating an atmosphere that is beautiful, historic and authentically Peruvian. Some of our amenities and services include free airport transportation, complimentary hot breakfast and buffet, laundry, and free yoga classes. We are happy to help with any travel arrangements so that our guests can experience the best that Cusco and the Sacred Valley has to offer. At El Balcon we strive to provide our guests with the highest level of hospitality so that they have all they need to feel comfortable at our family establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Balcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing