We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel close to everything”
Review of El Balcon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Balcon
Ranked #1 of 404 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017

I really enjoy the planted courtyard and the organic feel of this refurbished residence. The balconies have a great view of the rooftops of Cusco and the tops of the churches. We went ahead and spent too much money on the best room, again. We couldn't help it, it's a really nice view!

Room Tip: The suite costs double but has great views and private balconies.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LahodaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya R, Guest Relations Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is always great to hear that we were able to have a positive impact on the travel experiences of our guests. We loved your wonderful feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Nice hotell with good beds and friendly staff. Decent breakfast. All day around free coffe and tea (incl coca tea) The also have a nice resturant if you dont feel like going out in cusco. Really relaxed place. A bit thin walls but i really enjoyed my stay. Great value for what i paid.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Really nice and welcomming hotel. Stayed for five nights and had a great time.

+Friendly staf
Good beds
Ok breakfast
Free tea
The garden was really nice
- Little bit of noice from the other rooms

Did not try the restaurant.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jörgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

We are delighted that you had such a great experience. We appreciate your wonderful review of El Balcon. Please let us know if we can be of assistance with any future travel plans here in Cusco. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

El Balcon is a calm retreat a few blocks away from the main square (Plaza de Armas). I stayed there for one night after a visit to Ollantaytambo. I would highly recommend you stay there if you want a relaxing and friendly experience in Cusco. The value is unbeatable. My room had three twin beds for one person and plenty of space. Lots of amenities in the room (phone, robes, hairdryer, heater, basic toiletries, purified water). It's all there. The shower had plenty of hot water and the towels were fluffy (you don't find these things at most places in Cusco). The breakfast was a delight! The staff is kind, friendly and genuine--every single person I interacted with was so nice. The lounge/dining area has a warming wood-burning fireplace, and I adored the decor and atmosphere--lush gardens too. You really can't beat a Wendy Weeks hotel. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. If you're looking for a decent hotel, look no further than El Balcon. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

It is always great to hear that we were able to have a positive impact on the travel experiences of our guests. We loved your wonderful feedback. We hope that the rest of your time in Perú was just as enjoyable as your time spent with us. We look forward to being able to provide you with the same exceptional quality of service on future trips to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

El Balcòn - delivers a great Mix of Peruvian hospitality & modern amenities. After spending a wonderful 10 days in various lodges & homestays in Lima, Cusco & Chinchero, El Balcòn was a great place to relax with nice amenties, welcoming and accommodating staff. Sonia and the rest of the staff were wonderful & made the experience more like staying with a familiar friend than at a hotel/Inn...If you are a westerner & are on the fence about staying in a familiar western brand property, dont do it; stay here!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crazivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

We are overjoyed to hear of your great experience with us. We love that we are able to contribute to our guests’ travels in such a positive way. We hope that you will share your experience with any friends or family that may be visiting our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed three nights in El Balcòn, two initially and another after returning from a trip to Puno. From the reservation to the stay to the transport to the airport, the staff were always wonderful and helpful. The first two nights, we had the balcony room on the upper left, which is special for its long balconies with a little table and chairs, with views of the city. The room was wonderful, and the wood stove gives it a cozy feel - but don't use it. A bit of smoke stayed in the room the first night, so we asked not to have it lit the second night, which was better. The third night, we stayed in the two-room family suite on the upper right, which also had a window view of the city. The high bed was comfortable and we didn't use the second bedroom. The bathroom was simple but very spacious, with a large shower. Both rooms were very nice, but the hotel is made very special by the long balcony looking out over the garden and city, the warm dining room, with delicious made to order breakfast and buffet, and the special architecture throughout, all built on ancient terraces. The staff easily organized transportation, advised us on sights and needs, and arranged for one-day local laundry service. The location also worked fine for us - a little walk from the main plaza, but that worked fine for us, and the cost was so much less than places closer in and much less warm and friendly. I highly recommend El Balcòn!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

We are overjoyed to hear of your great experience with us. We love that we are able to contribute to our guests’ travels in such a positive way. We hope that you will share your experience with any friends or family that may be visiting our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The garden courtyard was beautiful. Our room however was the size of a closet. The bed seemed smaller than a double and there was little room to navigate or open your suitcase. Our shower was visibly moldy and the toilet leaked in a perpetual puddle. Fresh flowers and bathrobes were a nice touch. The narrow double doors had to be secured with a hanging lock when you left. We stayed at the sister hotel in ollayantumbu - breakfast was similar but not quite as good. Here the coffee was stronger but not hot. Our second breakfast yielded strong hot coffee and yummy French toast. The servers were very nice and were working hard. The hotel is in a great location - a short walk to the main square.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at El Balcon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. We always appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,523 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 172 in Cusco
1,554 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 km away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 172 in Cusco
1,146 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#9 of 172 in Cusco
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon

Address: Tambo de Montero 222, Cusco 00000, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 404 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $59 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Balcon 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three blocks from the Plaza de Armas in the city of Cusco, El Balcon has a commanding view of the entire city, cathedrals, churches, mountains and the Ausangate glacier. El Balcon is a renovated colonial Casona that dates back to the 1630s built atop the preceding Inca terraces. Inca stone work and colonial balustrades mesh harmoniously around terraced gardens creating an atmosphere that is beautiful, historic and authentically Peruvian. Some of our amenities and services include free airport transportation, complimentary hot breakfast and buffet, laundry, and free yoga classes. We are happy to help with any travel arrangements so that our guests can experience the best that Cusco and the Sacred Valley has to offer. At El Balcon we strive to provide our guests with the highest level of hospitality so that they have all they need to feel comfortable at our family establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Balcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing