We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly place right off the Plaza de Armas”
Review of Hostal El Triunfo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal El Triunfo
Ranked #14 of 390 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2010

A group of four friends and I (all in our mid-twenties) took a 10-day vacation to Peru primarily to hike the Inca Trail and see Machu Picchu. We stayed three nights in Cusco at Hostal El Triunfo to acclimate, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The clean, brightly decorated rooms were a great value at ~$20 per person per night. The breakfast room offered a lovely view out onto the domed roofs and red tiles of the Plaza de Armas, and was stocked all day with coca tea to help with altitude sickness. All the major museums, churches, and sights were just a short stroll down the street.

What really made this place a winner was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. They were very patient with our convoluted division of the bill (can he pay half in dollars, half in soles? Can we put her share of the room on her credit card?). They safely stored our extra luggage during our hike on the Inca Trail, and even labeled our bags with tags (we had rushed out at 5:15 in the morning and had forgotten). The front desk had someone present round-the-clock, so any problems, questions, or requests were dealt with immediately.

The only downside to the hostel was that the water stayed hot for only about one shower, but this complaint seemed to be pretty universal across Cusco unless one stayed at a much higher-end hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepvermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostal El Triunfo. The staff was very polite and helped us to book some tours at the region.

The room was very clean with wifi connection, so we could use our computers. The beds were confortable but I the room was a little bit cold... we had to rent a heater to stay fine. The breakfast was simple but fine.

The main feature of that hostal is the location a block from the main square of Cuzco.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Awesome location of this quaint and simple hotel near the main plaza in Cuzco, Peru is staffed with two gems at the reception desk. They honestly went above and beyond any call of duty to help with the hard to get train and entrance tickets to Machu Picchu during the opening days. I am grateful to Lydia and Giovanna for their kindness and dedication to each and every guest. A warm and helpful staff often means much more to the traveling public than a fancy room or 5 star status. I plan to come back again just to visit the day staff!

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
Thank kathmandusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have stayed at Hostal el Triunfo from January 21 to 28, 2010.
It is a lovely small hotel, nicely located in the heart of Cuzco - Peru. When I arrived I wasn’t feeling very well and they made me feel at home.
If you do not have much expectation, you have a nice clean room and bathroom, and wireless in your room. I did not have any problems with noise and breakfast was enough for me. For the price they charge I do not think any one should complain about breakfast.
Lidia and Giovana are very nice girls (as I speak Spanish) had nice talks. For women travelling on their I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjosecouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Very good place to stay in Cuzco. Near to plaza de armas. The best breakfasts I ate in Peru. I recomend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conguillio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

The warmth of the place, the smile of the staff (Yllich, Jane , Giovanna), the service and hospitality, contributed to a most pleasant stay.

We can only agree to what the others have already said. Great location. Easy to get to anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank let'sgo2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The location of this Hostel is excellent!!! It is 30 seconds walk to the main square one way, and 30 seconds walk to the 12 angle stone the other way. Its street is very narrow and picturesque, and is surrounded by many nice stores from expensive to affordable. The restaurant right across is very good. I travelled with my wife and our 10 year old son, and stayed in one of the triple rooms in the back. It was quite noisy because we could hear people speak and baby crying from a store on the first floor until late at night, and the beds are a bit too hard for our taste. I suggest you bring your own soap as the one provided is very tiny. Breakfast is simple but sufficient; consisting of bread, butter, jelly and orange juice or coca tea. You can also buy eggs or sodas at very affordable price. The service is excellent, and the employees working the front desk are very helpful in providing any information you may need. If travelling on a budget you can do not wrong with staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 km away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.1 km away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 171 in Cusco
1,472 reviews
0.4 km away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Triunfo

Address: Triunfo 379, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 390 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Triunfo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the magical city of Cusco only half block from the Main Square is Hostal El Triunfo , behind the Cathedral, where you will find a warm welcome and will feel at home. We are near everything: restaurants, museums, art galleries, churches, discos, pubs, etc. We have large, light and comfortable bedrooms with private bathroom, with hot and cold water all day long. TV cable and telephone, some of they have balconies to Triunfo Street; and all of them have beautiful views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hostal El Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing