We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure!”
Review of El Andariego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Andariego
Ranked #10 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2010

My wife and I came to Cusco to visit our daughter, who teaches there. We stayed nearly two weeks at the El Andriego. We found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. The location was central to the attractions with just a short walk to the central square. But what makes this hotel exceptional, is their staff... by the end of our stay, we felt like family. Carlos, Maria, Saol, Shirley and the rest, were more than accomodating....they became our friends. Peru, and Cusco in particular, is all about Old World charm...El Andriego perfectly captures this charm.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2010

My wife & I stayed at El Andariego for 10 nights in the beginning of April. We absolutely loved the place & the people who work there. The location is wonderful being 3 blocks from the main square, Plaza Del Armas. The hotel is located two courtyards removed from the street so it is very quiet. Although several of the rooms are located next to the entry gate & i imagine those rooms would be noisy when people are entering or leaving. We stayed in room 103 & it had a fireplace that added a nice touch. The staff could not have been nicer or more pleasant, they were eager to please. This is the place we would stay on a return trip to Cusco & in fact have recommended El Andariego to friends. If you don't speak Spanish, it would be good to have an English/Spanish dictionary. My Spanish is barely passable & i was able to communicate with the staff. Also I would recommend traveling with an alarm clock as their wake up service was unreliable. As in other hotels we stayed at in Peru there was no shampoo. However, all in all,with it's excellent location & wonderful staff I highly recommend El Andariego as a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Have stayed at the Andariego several times, each tme is like seeing some good friends of mine. The staff and services provided are very good. I like the peace and quite, off the main street, "Avenue Del Sol", but very close so walking is the option to choose. Plaza de Armas, City Market not to mention the historical sites!

Mari Carmen, thanks so much for helping with the things I needed to accomplish is such a short amount of time. You know how to get things done, the first time. THANKS!

I will definitely be staying at the Andariego again on my next visit to Cuzco, Peru

Tom A. , Lima Peru

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenorLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed here in December. We had room 103. It was a skylight, so the room gets very bright as soon as the sun comes up. It's a good thing if you're not planning on sleeping in. The room was equipped with a space heater and fire place. The space heater did almost nothing, but heat up the small radius around it. The fireplace was good, but you can't really keep it going all night...and even then, it didn't really heat up the whole room. We were cold when we went to sleep and woke up, not a very comfortable thing. There's not "central heat" in the room. The bed was clean and so was the room, but the bathroom had a dirty/gross feel to it. It WAS clean, but didn't feel like it.

Pros - The staff was very helpful and nice. They set up a fire for us each night upon request and helped up with setting up a city tour when our's fell through. However, they don't really speak a lot of English, so beware of language barriers. We had a free breakfast every morning of fresh bread, butter, jam, fruit, OJ, and eggs, which was nice. Free internet use of their computers. The location is a 4 minute walk to the Plaza Del Armas. Price of the room.

Cons - cold. There was music from somewhere else near the hotel which could be heard in the room. Sky light.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

It was my first time in El Andariego, and I spent a really good time. You feel there as if you were in a family home; and you feel always delighted by the kind attention, the desserts of Ms María and the smile of María del Carmen.
Definitely , a place to go back to.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carancanfunfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This is the second time I've been in Cuzco, and also the second time I've stayed in "El Andariego".
The best of all is the kindness of the staff and the homemade deserts in the afternoon....Gracias Sra Marìa!!!
The fireplace inside the living allows to have a relaxing time after walking around Cuzco, the rooms are very comfortables and the breakfast is delicious....dont forget to ask for a Papaya Juice.....one of my favorite ; )

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabbath_1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed one night after arriving from Machu Picchu. We loved it. The room had a working fire place and candles..made our room very romantic. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. We also had cable tv. The staff was helpful. They even allowed my friend to check out at noon...because check out is at 10am. There was free wifi internet and 2 computers for guest use upstairs.
Breakfast was great, not the regular bread with coffee. In the evening, they provided cake and tea. We enjoyed our stay and wished we could've stayed longer. Worth the money and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.7 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.7 km away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
1.6 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#1 of 398 in Cusco
405 reviews
0.8 km away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.8 km away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Andariego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Andariego

Address: Calle San Andres 270, Cusco Cusco01, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: $74 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Andariego 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Andariego is a lodging that offers comfort located near the Main Square. It is the ideal place to relax after a day of sightseeing in Cusco and its environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your El Andariego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing