We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Golden Quinoa" - in name, but also in price! ”
Review of Sophie Bistro - CLOSED

Sophie Bistro
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sophie is a Peruvian taperia that presents a free creative cuisine with advanced techniques and first class sustainable products. We have the most important Cold Bar in Lima where seafood and fish predominate, which can be accompanied by a wide selection of drinks from our Bar. Our Tapas or ¨Petit Classics¨ are made very easy to share by their size and fun and casual design. The background dishes range from daily creations to our artisan meats. All this in an atmosphere with great taste in design and a casual atmosphere.
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

Ate here with my partner on one of our first nights in South America, in September. Sadly it turned out to be the biggest rip off of our trip thus far!
Admittedly, my Duck Confit was delicious, and a reasonable price. However, after my partner was told that not one but two of the salads on the menu were unavailable, she ordered the "Golden Quinoa" upon the waiter's advice. Sadly, what was meant to contain "plenty" of vegetables, had a few token veggies, but was essentially a bowl of cooked quinoa.
Don't know what the cost price would be, but at 40 Soles for a bowl, they must me making a crazy profit from it!
Wine was reasonable, but overpriced for the quality.
My advice would be to keep looking, we found better alternatives nearby for less money.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Euan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa s, Propietario at Sophie Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Our restaurant offers only sustainable products . Speaking of quinua , we offer three types: golden, red and black quinua. all of theme come from Chincheros wish is located in Cusco. It is the best quinua quality you can get. You are right , you do not know the cost and NO , we are not making a crazy profit but it helps in paying the best price directly to the farmers in the Andes.It is a $ 8 dish !
Our waiter Martin was trying to please you in offering an alternative to the salad we usually have. , There ¨Quinua Atamalada¨ is a creole dish and not a salad.It contains Golden Quinua , little peaces of zucchini , fava beans and fresh goat cheese, like it says on the menu. The cost of this dish is 24 soles not 40. The price is clearly printed on the menu .
We are sorry that you felt disappointed but we want to make clear that we NEVER try to rip anybody off.
Our wine list is one of the best price- quality in town .We import most of our wines since we owe the biggest Wine Bar chain in Peru.
You probably did not know that any wine that you import to Peru dobbles its price just in taxes.
One thing you are probably right , there are many others places that are less costly than Sophie but I really doubt that they offer the hight quality and product standard as we do.
Sophie is located in a wonderful and beautiful neighborhood in Miraflores which is famous for being the Gastronomic Capital in Latin America .
We are so proud of that !.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed this restaurant.

The food was cooked and presented wonderfully and the service was great!

Our only concern was that there is no sign or label on the wall or door to identify the restaurant. We had a little trouble finding it as a result.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Sally07040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa s, Propietario at Sophie Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

I appreciate your comments We are glad that everything you liked. We hope to see you again soon. thank you for recommending us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Cool atmosphere and delicious tipical peruvian food and drinks, The staff was helpfull and friendly. Absolutely suggested. Prices of european standard, so a little expensive compared with peruvian levels, but this is Miraflores.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank btix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa s, Propietario at Sophie Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank you very much for the visit and your comments. We are always improving.
We have a new format and the prices are half of what they were.We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Very nice welcome. Thanks for the wonderful sour and the nice food! Greetings from Lord Commander ;)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Bureaustoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sophie Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

We appreciate your words ! Every day we try to do more to publicize the wonderful cuisine we have in Peru. ! I hope we can visit again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely meal! Matt made us feel so welcome and offered lots of knowledge on the menu. The ceviche was one of the best we're had in Peru! It's also a beautiful building both inside and out. One end features a deli! Slightly hidden away from other restaurants it's such gem.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank JesssicaBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa s, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sophie Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

We appreciate your words ! Every day we try to do more to publicize the wonderful cuisine we have in Peru. ! I hope we can visit again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophie Bistro also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing