We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burrito we've had in Latin America”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burrito Bar - Lima

Burrito Bar - Lima
Ranked #57 of 2,464 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Central American, Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve freshly made hand stretched tortillas filled with your choice of chicken, steak, pork, veggies, rice, beans, cheese, guacamole and salsas. We also have a selection of soft drinks and beers. The restaurant is 2 blocks from the main plaza (Parque Municipal) in Barranco.
Quito
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burrito we've had in Latin America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I know, the title may be a bit of a backhanded compliment since in the 10 Latin American countries we have visited in the last 2 years we have had exactly ZERO good burritos.

We come from California, the unofficial land of the burrito and in our honest opinion the Burrito Bar ranks amongst the best burritos we've had anywhere. Home made tortillas, great meats, perfect amount of toppings, just spicy enough.

There are no signs outside the small establishment at the moment, so don't give up, find it! Order a burrito, a beer and then follow it by an amazing chocolate tamal or a tasty brownie a la mode...Writing this makes me wanna go back tomorrow.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LostWorldExpedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    80
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Lima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised with the great food at Burrito Bar. Everything is homemade and super fresh. We had tacos and burritos. The tortillas were amazing and the fillings were super tasty and delicious.
The best part of the meal though was the OUTSTANDING! chocolate tamale with homemade vanilla ice cream. I've never had anything like it. It's a spectacular take on the traditional tamale.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmeriLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy burritos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Excellent and huge burritos at a very reasonable and affordable price. The place itself is quite simple but very cute and cozy. The chef is nice and has no problem in accomodatin requests.
I would definitely recommend it to hang out with friends have a beer and and a burrito before exploring barranco nightlife.
I'll go back there again soon. perfect stop in barranco if ur hungry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank checcacao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best burritos I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I'm from New York, which is full of amazing Tex Mex restaurants, and Burrito Bar would give any place in NYC a run for its money. The carnitas burrito was flavorful, with the perfect texture. The burritos are large (probably weigh 1.5 - 2 lbs) and the chocolate tamales for dessert are original and tasty. We are so happy to have found this place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank surfingandtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So funny place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great to take some beers and pass time. When you wanna go for a good talk in a funny and warm place, this is it. There are nice appetizers too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burrito Bar - Lima also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Burrito Bar - Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing