We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Free Walking Tour Lima
Open today: 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Must-do in Lima

To avoid confusion , this a review for freetourlima.com (title has different name). We only had... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2018
sazzlem88
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
Very interesting and off the tourist beat

It was a different view of the barranco area then we would have been able to see with a regular... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2018
emma g
via mobile
Read all 901 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Lima
from US$40.95
More Info
from US$0.01
More Info
from US$44.00
More Info
from US$150.00
More Info
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveller rating
469
193
72
68
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
193
72
68
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alpaca meat free pisco sours music shop traditional music the main square great introduction local culture learn how kennedy park ceviche cusco instruments information guide english demonstration overview
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 901 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2018

We wanted to do the downtown tour, but the Guide told us, that there must be at least 15 people for the tour. So the tour was canceled and he took us to Barranco as an alternative.
We don't know the name of the guide, because his interaction with the group was so bad, that he didn't tell us his name. He was running with us through the quater, spoke only a few sentences and left us at Barranco Main square after approximately 45 min. The whole Group was dissapointed with this Tour. By far the worst Wallung Tour we ever did.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

I regretted this tour almost from the start. Jonathon (I think his name was) picked us up from the hostel without even introducing himself and started walking away very quickly without even checking if we were following. He then dumped us at a bar for a free beer shot for an hour still without introducing himself or anything about what the tour would be about. He the wasted about 30 minutes trying to get us onto an overcrowded bus into the old town. He was rude and not very friendly to talk to. I felt bad for him and tried to ask him a question about the history of the town and he said "I already explained that, you're not listening". He made us feel very bad about tipping at the end, suggesting we give 60 soles (when normally in Europe you give free walking tours a few euros), and watched us put them in his hand. I wanted to leave but couldn't as I didn't know how to get back to Miraflores by myself on the bus. The whole tour took about 4 hours and was a waste of only one day in Lima.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank remiban95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

We just take the tour and we were very disappointed, I can even remember the tour guy name because he did not socialize at all with us. He was always walking like almost running in front of the group, he seemed like didn’t care at all about us. The tour lasted like 20 minutes 30 top. At the end he suggested to give tips and we weren’t motivates at all. We finally gave him 20 soles. The “free craft beer” is really a sample of a beer of their choice.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank 480jeanmariea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

This was the worst “Free” “walking” tour I’ve ever been on. We met at Miraflores in a tourist magnet sports bar(the free beer was a tiny little shot of beer) and the tour guide didn’t introduce himself (Johnathan?), he just wanted us to write our names on the paper and give him 2,50 Soles for the public transportation to the historic city center. Then he rushed off through the busy streets, didn’t even bother waiting for the group. Yeah you’re absolutely fast and bored, we get it. He was on his phone the whole time, not talking to anybody, just being really pissed and annoyed. He gave us round about 4 little insights and after 45 minutes the tour was over. We stopped on a rooftop bar and he just left us there (we had to walk the stairs, “Johnathan” just used the elevator). He wanted us to give him a tip of 60 Soles (“That’s the average tip, I’m just saying.”) So rude! Please stop offering this “not so free running tour”, it was a waste of time.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Pia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

This walking tour is the worst I’ve experienced in South America. The guide, ERIK, didn’t taught me anything. It seems like he’s just telling you some highlights from Wikipedia. Superficial facts and not getting deep into the information. Furthermore, the tour was very touristic. You stop at a souvenir shop, where a lady had time to promote that her store is the cheapest (she shows you some items and tells you the price). We also went to an instrument store, and this store got promoted heavily as well. We didn’t enjoyed the tour and we decided to leave. It was our bad that we just left without saying anything to the guide. We came across him and he got really upset with us. He accused us being super disrespectful (which was the case, but he could put it into different words) and he accused us that we were the only ones that prefered an English tour, so he had to translate for us (btw- since I understand Spanish a little, I could tell that he’a not translating everything as he said in Spanish). He also sad: “THIS IS NOT A FREE TOUR”. He stayed with us until we gave him money. I think this is rude, because you pay for what its worth. For the worst walking tour in south america, it was not worth a penny.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank WhinneyChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonathan G, Owner at Free Walking Tour Lima, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello whinneychow.

You mustve taken the tour in cusco, Ill let you know what has been the situation there.
Eversince we start our tours like free walking tour cusco in the 2010 we trained tour guides that later open them own free walking tour, this is ofcourse not how business hould be carried and so they went making them own route and signing deals with stores and focusing on recieving the tips at the end of the tour leaving the good service and first hand information behind, thats why nowdays in peru you have over 40 free walking tours, most of them run the same route as a city tour and this is how you got scamed by erik.

Please let us know how was this tour guide dressed, was he wearing a green vest, did you take pictures of him, so we can clean the market.

Thank you and remember not everyone is the same, specially in this free walking tour service, we are running our tours in Lima , please read our reviews you'll find that we are different.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews