We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel
Ranked #69 of 229 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 4 July 2016

It is called an airport hostel but it is about 15-minute drive from the airport, even in the middle of the night. We arranged an airport pickup but no-one was there when we arrived and we had to make some calls and texts to get someone to pick us up, over 30 mins later.
There was a disco playing very loud somewhere nearby, and by the time it had stopped a rooster was crowing from an adjacent rooftop, so we did not get much sleep. Management was a bit helpful, allowing us to swap a double for two singles a bit further from the noise at no extra cost, but it did not help much.
The interior of the hostel was fine, the breakfast fairly minimal, the area not one that merited much wandering around.
In retrospect, it was, in fact, the worst hostel we stayed in during three weeks in Bolivia nad Peru.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016

I don't regularly stay in hostels when I travel these days but did in this case as I just needed somewhere close to airport as was arriving around 1AM and then leaving again in time for a noon flight. This hostel fit the bill for an overnight stay - it even included a small breakfast in the morning. The card machine wasn't working when I was there though so I had to pay in US cash. I would say this place is ok for the airport but wouldn't recommend here as your base for exploring Lima or for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Lower floor with large bag as no lift
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in between flights entering Lima and heading to Cusco. We chose this place as an inexpensive stay for the short sleep, close to the airport. The young man working was very nice and helpful. The room itself was a let down compared to the image on this site and others. The common areas were alright and the wifi worked there. It also worked, a little slowly, in our 3rd floor room. We didn't stay long enough to experience some of the things other reviewers have written about-good or bad. After an exhausting day of travel, I wish we would have chosen something a little nicer. Overall, it served its purpose for a quick, economic sleep.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

This is a nice hostel located in a not so nice part of town. It is very close to the airport and about a 5 minute drive to a very large mall. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely a great place to stay right after arriving to Peru or right before departing.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercedes S, Propietario at TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Hi Travis, Thank you for your review.
Our most important asset is our location close to the airport. Everything close to the airport looks pretty mucha the same.
We are glad you liked our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Highly recommended hostel. Mercedes and Chris are wonderful hosts and made me feel very welcome. They offer a nice breakfast of toast with jam,fruit, orange juice and coffee. Very clean rooms with attached bathrooms. Very helpful staff with taxi bookings and things to do. I stayed here for 2 nights after flying to Lima and for 2 nights before flying out and would definitely return. Close to the airport for quick and easy travel

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markadrian2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We stayed here two nights and would highly recommend Posada de Rey 2! It's a great no-frills, family-run hostel with clean rooms and awesome service. We really liked the fact that the rooms have attached private bathrooms. The staff was very helpful. Whether it was arranging a cab to take us to/from the airport, exchanging money, recommending things to do in the city, letting us keep luggage in storage room etc, they were nothing short of pleasant to work with. The hostel is probably most ideal for students/backpackers but we even enjoyed our stay as a family of four adults.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ram0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We were so lucky that we had 2 nights at Mercedes and Chris. Therefore we saw the neighbourhood and tried the barbecue twice! Really nice fries and both the hamburger and the sausage is recommendable!
We'll go back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lima
Gran Hotel
#185 of 229 in Lima
40 reviews
Hotel Paris Lima
#94 of 229 in Lima
105 reviews
Lima Wari Suites
#77 of 229 in Lima
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Callao
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Lima Airport
Hotel Granada
#2 of 2 in Coporaque
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel

Address: Avenida Angelica Gamarra 959, Lima 39, Peru (Formerly Posada del Rey 2 - Lima Airport Hostel)
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 229 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tupac Hostel ! We offer cozy beds and private bathrooms with steamy showers. Our exceptional staff is ready to help with your every need! Perfect for your arrival or departure. Shuttle service can be arranged to bring you safely to our doors. Surrounded by restaurants and a fresh market and with two of Lima's largest malls near-by (3kms) there are plenty of food and shopping options. For those who like culture and history, the old downtown city center is just 8kms away with its beautiful cathedrals, plazas, museums and architecture. We can also organise tours to Miraflores and other exciting destinations. Free Wifi and breakfast, laundry, communal kitchen and rooftop barbecues are just a few of the great services we provide! Prepare to be pampered. Make TUPAC your home base for adventure in Perú! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your TUPAC - Lima Airport Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing