We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, away from it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing, away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here with friends for a few nights while visiting Cusco and surrounding areas. We had 3 people in one room and the space was still comfortable. The closet was ample and was one of nicest hotel closets ever! It had mirrors and great storage options, even for 3 women traveling together. The decor was modern, yet rustic and all in top notch shape. We had a small table and chairs and couch in addition to the beds, TV, etc. The bathroom was ample as well, with separate areas for toilet, sink and shower/tub.

The staff were all super friendly and helpful. I was sick one night and they suggested things to make me feel better such as tea and more bland food. Anything you needed, they were willing to help you with. They all spoke english very well too. One morning at breakfast, we each had just a small amount of food before heading out and they charged us for one continental breakfast instead of each item separately, which was nice and more economical.

Food: Breakfast was excellent. We had the buffet and ordered off the menu. The buffet had a great selection. I liked the local cheeses especially. We had food and drinks in the bar one night which was also top notch. In addition, we ordered room service and it was of high quality as well.

Spa: Great service. The heated chairs to relax in may have made my trip. I think i fell asleep for quite some time and they didn't care. They even brought me a blanket to curl up with. I had the inca trail massage which was a combo of soaking in a jetted tub and a massage. The pool area looked awesome, though i didn't use it. They don't have a ton of chairs to lounge on though, so a few people out there and its crowded.

Grounds: very nice. I walked along the paths which went along the river. Pretty plants and a nice waterfall in the back of the hotel.

Area: this is the swankiest thing in town for sure. The city is cute, worth walking around and exploring for a bit, though not much to see. Does have restaurants, street food and convenience stores that are cheaper to pick up water and snacks. Walkable from the hotel. Beware at night though for wild dogs around that can be scary. Felt safe overall though, so no issues there. You must, must go to Tres Keros restaurant down the street. A short walk from the hotel. Probably one of the best meals we had in Peru. There is a salad with hearts of palm, avocado and some other ingredients. Awesome! Still thinking about it.

Excursions/Trips: onsite staff very helpful. Booked our trip to machu picchu, gave advice on getting to Cusco and around town.

Transportation: this place is way off the beaten path. We had the hotel transport from the airport in Cusco which was very nice. A mercedes van i believe. Though, not cheap. Taking a cab is cheaper, just have them arrange it in advance for travel to Cusco.

Overall, would highly recommend this lavish and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while travelling within Cusco, Peru!

Really impressed and thankful to you for your words and comments about our resort. In fact, all our personnel is trained in order to exceed our guests´ expectations and they do it with great satisfaction.

Please let me inform you that our building was designed by architect Bernando Fort Brescia.

In fact, there are few good restaurants in the area. One of them is 3 Keros.

Pleased to know that you had a great time in our resort and do look forward to having the chance to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,950
    187
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
560
1,050
57
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester by the Sea, MA,US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Without question, this was a fabulous stay. From our initial greeting, to the room, the dining and the concierge staff, it was all outstanding. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. The setting, close to the river on one side, and with stunning views of the Andes on the other side is very special. To use this as a base for our visit to Machu Picchu was just perfect, I am so glad we did not choose to stay in Aqua Calientes, but instead take a long day trip instead, and have this oasis to return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SgFm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while travelling within Cusco, Peru!

Really impressed and thankful to you for your words and comments about our resort. In fact, all our personnel is trained in order to exceed our guests´ expectations and they do it with great satisfaction.

Please let me inform you that our building was designed by architect Bernando Fort Brescia.

Pleased to know that you had a great time in our resort and do look forward to having the chance to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Unique hotel, amazing atmosphere. Nice rooms. Urubamba is a very small town, and it is pretty far from Cusco, around an hour drive. Staff very helpful, and breakfast and other meals also very good. My wife and I tried the spa and it was pleasant, though it was too cold to hit the pool. Hot tub only on the women's side!
The hotel has its own train station, very convenient, and you avoid the crowds at the other stops. Tour group from the hotel was good, but very expensive. Probably a cheaper way to do this.
Overall great experience, though I wouldn't want to stay for more than a few days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pongo1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while travelling within Cusco, Peru!

Really impressed and thankful to you for your words and comments about our resort. In fact, all our personnel is trained in order to exceed our guests´ expectations and they do it with great satisfaction.

Please let me inform you that our building was designed by architect Bernando Fort Brescia.

Our tours are conducted by well trained personnel and they do have proper warranty in all the way. The price is due to all these aspects.

Pleased to know that you had a great time in our resort and do look forward to having the chance to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Beautiful setting in the SV. Very Peruvian Zen feel in trhe lobby. Service is the best I've had anywhere !! Entire staff ( reception, houskeeping, dining room, bellman & our butler) always had a smile, and knew our name.

We were there on Earth day. The hotel supported the initiative by turning out the lights for one hour in the evening. We ended up with a beautiful candellit lobby & free Pisco Sours in the bar. Not exactly a hardship.

The on-property train station was a great convenience for getting to MP. Hotel is also walking distance to several restaurants & the Seminario gallery.

I highly reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants a first class trip to MP & SV

Room Tip: Both views ( river or mountains) are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgreenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Good afternoon ,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while in Cusco, Peru!

I am really thankful for your comments and words. Our personnel does a great job and always tries to exceed our guests´ expectations.

I am pleased that you had a great time with us and really hope to have the chance to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

It does not get any better. So nice that my wife wishes we went back and forth to Machu Picchu from here rather than spending night in Aguas Calientes. Beautiful hotel. Loved hanging out at the comfy chairs outside at the bar. Great food. Nice breakfast. Try 3 Keros one block away for super food a heck of a lot cheaper. Rooms were gorgeous as were all parts of hotel. Only complaints are no hot tub for men and room was HOT at night. They said they fixed our AC but room was still hot at night. Needed to keep window open. At checkout we were told they turn off the AC at night. Maybe they could have informed us of this. My parents loved their spa services. Can not go wrong here and prices are fantastic. Great service. Free wifi would be nice but had business center with several computers for free.

Room Tip: I liked the river view rooms better than mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bondocrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Good afternoon ,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while in Cusco, Peru!

I am really thankful for your comments and words. Our personnel does a great job and always tries to exceed our guests´ expectations.

Sorry to hear about your AC problem and the WIFI connection. I hope that everything was solved properly by our maintenance personnel.

Thank you again for having a great time in tambo and look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Prior to the date of arrival the service was far above others in it's class, an email to verify car service, help with train reservations etc. With my Platinum status I was upgraded to a suite with the service of a personal assistant. Alan was fantastic, always making sure if I needed anything. He was able to arrange an amazing horse ride through the country, not your typical trail ride with horses following the leader.
Spa services were also excellent as was breakfast every morning. Drinks served by Luiz were also fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for the river view, beautiful to fall asleep to the water in the background
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while in Cusco, Peru!

I am really impressed about your comments and words about our property. In fact, all our personnel is really into exceeding our guests´ expectations.

I will give your comments to Allan obout the good service that he has provided to you.

Again, thank you so much for your appreciation and look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectully,

Pablo Marconi

At your disposal,

Isaac Pilares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Brand new hotel with incredible service!
People are too nice to be true!
The Pool and Spa is a dream. You swim inside and outside with a beautiful view on the mountains! What a dream!
Take the time to explore the little streets around to shop! I did some good deal there!

If you want to visit Machu Picchu, the Hotel has its own Train Station. You get on before the croud!

Take the room with breakfast included: you will not regret it! Breakfast is AMAZING!!! At night, if you do not wish to eat ''A La Carte'' at the expensive Hotel Restaurant, take the time to eat from the menu at the Bar! Worth it for the price and a lot less expensive than the restaurant or eat downtown!

Want to live in CUSCO? Forget it! The experience of driving in the mountains on the road to the Sacred Valley of Urubamba is the best experience! And the hotel is more beautiful than anything you will find in Cusco.

Want more details? Do not hesitate to write me!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmarconi, General Manager at Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Good morning Mr. TangoBee,

Thank you for choosing Tambo del Inka as your destination while travelling within Cusco, Peru!

Really impressed for your words and comments. You are right, our personnel does their best in order to exceed our guests´ expectations.

Please let me inform you that the person who designed the hotel is Mr. Bernando Fort Brescia. He has also built several other hotels around the world.

Urubamba is a beautiful quiet town with nice views like the snow mountain (Chicon), Vilcanota River as well as pictorical narrow streets where you can find lots of things.

Again, thank you for appreciation and do look forward to hosting you again in time.

Respectfully,

Pablo Marconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urubamba
0.7 km away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
6.5 km away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
2.3 km away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
28.0 km away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.4 km away
Casa Andina Private Collection Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Ferrocaril s/n,, Urubamba 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#1 Green Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo del Inka is a part of Starwoods Hotel and Resort. Guests staying here may be eligible to use their Starwood Prefered Guest (SPG) points according to what is stated on their webpage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Tambo del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel Urubamba
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Tambo Del Inka, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Sacred Valley/Urubamba, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing