We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
229
31
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
31
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building turn down service twilight walk alfredo bird watching free activities night walk twilight tour juan jose guided walk hot water bottles sacred valley tours offered eco friendly hotel bar and lounge area toilet room heated towel rack
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 273 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2018

The casitas, views, and overall atmosphere are lovely, and the service is fine--though many of the staff speak very little English, including the servers in the restaurant. I was underwhelmed by the service in the restaurant, especially at breakfast, when it is hard to get attention to order. We enjoyed many of the dinner options. Each guest gets a complimentary 1/2 liter bottle of water each day, which wasn't even enough to brush our teeth and rinse our toothbrushes. So, the miserliness with relation to water (and extra bottle are way above the market price) on that front was noted.

Room Tip: I recommend the "top" tier/back row casitas for the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Ecommerce_Inkaterra at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our property. We want to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay, We will check our procedure as we are always looking to improve our service. We appreciate your feedback that will help us to keep us improving, our Guest Service team carefully review each point described in order to make improvements where needed.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

We travelling around Peru staying in 9 hotels! At the end we decided this was the best hotel.

The cabins are spacious and really good quality with wooden beams. If it gets a bit cold then a wood burning stove can be lit. The turndown service includes a hot water bottle.

The views across the valley and up the mountains the other side are great.

The dinner is good, the breakfast contains interesting Andean options also. Service is good. A great stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank BritmexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear BritmexLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share theses lovely comments for our property and service that encourage us to keep providing our guest wirh authentic travel experiences. Our hotel is surronded by mountains ans trees creating an enabling environment for mental, spiritual and physical rest.

We also appreciate your wonderful comments for our restaurant service, it is apleasure to know that you keep great memories and hope to be at your service in a next opportunity.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We stayed in a total of 7 hotels on our tour of Peru with Llama Travel and this was easily the best.

Before going to Peru we saw the Sacred Valley as just part of our tour on the way to Macchu Picchu, however, the whole area and this hotel in particular is beautiful and you could easily use the Sacred Valley as a base for a few days to explore this amazing part of Peru.

The lodges are set on the mountainside with incredible views, especially in the morning with the sunlight reflecting off the mountains opposite.

The rooms themselves are very comfortable including log fires which the staff will light for you as part of the turn down service. Hot water bottles are also supplied which is a nice touch for chilly Andean winter nights. The bathroom is very well appointed including a huge walk in shower.

Breakfast is excellent and I highly recommend the Andean Eggs Benedict with local trout. We had dinner in both the restaurant and the bar. Both meals were excellent although we preferred the more relaxed atmosphere of the bar. Prices are slightly higher than in Cusco but still represent excellent value for money.

We did not go on the early morning birdwalk or evening star gazing but friends on our tour who did enjoyed both.

If choosing a hotel in the Sacred Valley I would highly recommend the Inkaterra Hacienda

Room Tip: Stay in one of the Cassitas
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simsu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share theses lovely comments of your stay with us. The Valley’s beautiful scenery, picturesque villages, folk arts and crafts and friendly local people, reflect the authenticity of Peru that travellers come searching for. Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba is located in the heart of the Sacred Valley, among mountains and trees, creating an enabling environment for mental, spiritual and physical rest.

We appreciate your kind comments about our accomodation, facilities and rooms. All our casitas feature breath-taking views of the valley, immersing guests in open space, serenity and relaxing solitude. We would like to thank you for your comments about our restaurant service, offers a menu emphasizing local ingredients harvested from our property's organic farm and enjoying a gorgeous wiew of the valley and the imposing mountains that surround it.

It is a pity to heard you did not have the opportunity to enjoyed our activities and excursion, which allow travelers to get involved in our projects, enjoy a morning of adventure or simply explore the environment and landscapes.

Thank you again for contacting us, and we hope to have the opportunity to assist you in a future occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I love small independent hotels that feel like they give you some experience of the place you are visiting. I thought this place was much better than the pictures on line. Loved the interior decor and the huge glass windows looking out across the valley from the comfort of big comfy sofas in front of the fire were great. A great evening on our way to Machu pichu and a really relaxing break from the rush of the day.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank MrsTiggywinkle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share these lovely comments for our property and service that encourage us to keep providing guest with authentic travel experiences. We are very glad that you enyojed your stay in our property, built in the heart of Urubamba Valley (Cusco), among mountains and trees, creating an enabling environment for mental, spiritual and physical rest.

Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba has a design inspired by the architecture of the Cusco region, with an interior design inspired by local materials, feature breath-taking views of the valley, immersing guests in open space, serenity and relaxing solitude.

It is a pleasure to know that you keep great memories of your visit and hope to welcome again in a next opportunity in the rest of Inkaterra properties.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

It's easy to see why this hotel is rated as one of the top lodges in the world. The location is simply stunning and every detail has been taken into account. The luxurious rooms are amazing: a simply enormous bed, log fire, beautiful furnishings. Many of the rooms are situated as lodges separate from the main building. They have terraces with comfortable seating and jaw dropping views across the valley.
There are a number of free activities available led by the wonderful knowledgeable guides. We did a hike and bird watching, where we saw 3 types of hummingbird and a flock of parakeets.
The staff could not be more attentive or helpful.
If you are looking for that extra which will put the cherry on the top of your time in the Sacred Valley, then this is it. Simply stunning.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_Inkaterra, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Mark B,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments for our property. Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba is a contemporary hotel with colonial inspiration, built in the heart of Urubamba Valley (Cusco). A luxurious Andean environment of the Inkaterra spirit preserves the authenticity of Peruvian highlands. Actually we were recognized by "Travel + Leisure" one of the most popular travel magazines in North America, as the second Best Resort Hotel in South America and as the 14th hotel in the world.

We appreciate your compliments for our rooms, with architecture and interiors inspired on the area’s cultural history, with colonial furniture, authentic Inca masks and handcrafted woodwork adding to the hacienda’s local charm, featuring breath-taking views of the valley, immersing guests in open space, serenity and relaxing

During their stay, travellers may choose among a variety of excursions (free or aditional paid), get involved in one of our projects, enjoy a morning of adventure or simply explore the environment and landscapes. These activities are perfectly designed to assist travellers with the process of acclimatization. We also appreciate your kind comments for our staff who are always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you once again for your warm comments and for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews