We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
494
76
9
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
76
9
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plaza zabala old town don carlos beautiful square beautiful hotel hot tub breakfast was delicious historic building ciudad vieja rooftop terrace small hotel a great place to stay buenos aires within walking distance ferry terminal old house yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 584 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Elma is a small hotel with loads of characters. It is also well located in old town and one can walk to most points of interests. The breakfast was great. Love the ambiance and size of the hotel.

Service is lovely. Front desk is kind of patience at giving recommendations. One thing that can improve on is having an iron in the room or at least one to loan.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SDWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaHistorica, Front Desk at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the comment that you have written for us! We appreciate the nice touch!

As you have mentioned, the hotel location is undoubtedly a gem, every guest can easily get walking to most of the sightseeing places around the hotel (which are a lot since the old town is the epicenter of Montevideo history crib)

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the breakfast during your mornings, and we will let our cooks know about your experience,

Front Desk Staff thank you for your comment about our service, and we will keep your suggestions in mind in order to offer the best experience,

Hoping that you have had the best experience while visiting our city, and a safe trip back home,

Best regards,

Matías Bastarreix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

This is a great small hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, its well located for the old city, rooms are comfortable and clean, breakfasts are good and there are lovely communal spaces. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a plaza view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkroverSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaHistorica, Front Desk at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing this nice comment about your latest stay at our property - We really appreciate it, a lot!

I would like to thank you on behalf of our staff for your appreciation of our service. Also, as you have mentioned, we would like thank you for highlighting the location, no doubts about it easiness that it provides for guests to walk around the old quarter, and discover the city on foot, too!

We are glad to know that the room sizing, breakfast service and social areas have been enjoyable for you, as well as we love to think that you had a nice relaxing moment and out-of-the-world disconnecting time while visiting our city!

Best regards, and I hope that you have had a wonderful and safe trip back home,

Matías Bastarreix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

This is a pretty boutique hotel in a delightful square in downtown Montevideo. It is a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of Plaza Independencia. Very good and attentive service by a local and international team. Breakfast is simple but with very good quality ingredients. We stayed in the Don Héctor room, overlooking Plaza Zabala (as requested). The hotel organized transportation from the airport.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafaelstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaHistorica, Front Desk at Alma Historica Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Rafael,

Thank you for spending time of yours writing this nice review about your latests experience in our city as well as our boutique hotel, we feel flattered.

Zabala Square, placed down to the center of the old town, bringing a Belle Epoquè breeze all over the tiny nooks into the hotel, as rooms have been inspired by some of the most remarkable persons throughout the Uruguayan XX Century history, featuring details which help our guests to ride back to the past.

On behalf of our team, I want to thank you for appreciating the service that we have provided to you while you were our guests.

We are also glad to read about the expectation-meet that we have achieved, the homemade-style breakfast, and the into-hotel transportation,

If you ever come back to Uruguay, we would love to be welcoming you again! Hoping that you have had a wonderful trip back home,

Best regards,

Matías Bastarreix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We loved our stay here. Great rooms with charming character. Location was excellent for exploring historic Montevideo. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. Kid friendly, with nice park in adjacent plaza. Excellent breakfast.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wolfli107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We loved our stay at the Alma Historica. All of the staff were so helpful and friendly. Our room was gorgeous. I had some issues with tours and losing my credit card and the staff went above and beyond to help us. Not speaking Spanish, it was important to have their help. We loved their restaurant recommendations all close by. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elly1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews