We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
96
55
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
55
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower muri beach spacious house stayed here for a week hammocks cleanliness backpackers island raro nz lagoon transfer
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 168 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at the Aremango Guesthouse for three nights in June 2012. I booked via eMail and responses have been always fast and helpful. But during my stay I saw the hosts only one time - in the evening before my departure as I wanted to settle the bill.That was not a problem to me, but be prepered to this. Strange thing is, that you don't get a towel with your room - if you want a towel you have to hire it for 2 NZD. Room is spartan - not even a coat hook or some clothes-hanger. Room was clean. There is a fully equipped kitchen. I felt not very comfortable, that you have to pass the kitchen, when going to the shared bathrooms and toilets. A big plus are the bikes, which are free to hire. It was great to cycle the inner ringroad. Overall mixed impressions, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for our final stop in the South Pacific for a beach holiday treat. The guesthouse has character in a good way - it is completely different from the large chain-hotel buildings that house hundreds of tourists rotating on a fortnightly basis. However, although the staff knew you were staying there (there are only a few rooms so it's pretty easy to keep track of the guests!), they are somewhat impersonal, keep themselves very much to themselves and aren't forthcoming with information for travellers e.g. "eat here it's lovely", "this shop sells the cheapest milk", "best place to snorkel is here", "any problems or questions don't hesitate to ask" etc. So if you like some interaction with your hosts without feeling like you are bugging them with questions, then it's maybe not the place for you - guests are left to get on with it. The guesthouse and gardens are non-smoking and each room states this on the doors - however, next to us was a lady who chain-smoked, all the smoke from her outdoor private garden just came straight into our outdoor private garden. We put up with it then it became too bad and we told the couple who run the place. They asked us if WE could approach her and ask her to not smoke on the grounds, as it would be awkward for them as the hosts - oddly I thought that was what they, as the hosts, were there for surely - to enforce the rules they had written and solve guest issues. And equally if we approached her that would simply make things awkward for us. A big positive is that as it's a nice small place, you meet other guests and make friends very quickly. If you are on a budget it's ideal as you have a communal kitchen and your own compartment in the fridge. There are also some old but functioning bikes (the ladies one had one pedal missing) which are free to use - useful for a little cycle around. The beach down the path from the guesthouse is okay, but better to walk down for 5 minutes in either direction for better sand and clearer water. All in all though, we enjoyed our time at Aremango.

Room Tip: When you arrive, ask if there is any availability for an upgrade to a room with a private garden Make sure your room has a standing adjustable fan - it is essential in the evening when it gets very hot
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoOpEr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2012

For budget accommodation, this is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are huge, all doubles, wardrobes, ceiling fans. There are 3 full bathrooms, all fine and cleaned everyday. The kitchen area is huge and fully equipped, two larder fridges, rooms labelled on each shelf and cupboards too. Outside lovely decked area, BBQ, grass area. There are some rooms which has a private courtyard area with outside showers to add a little romance. (Room 2 and 1 I think). The owners are great very friendly, but not there much. You can hire towels $2 for duration of stay. There are washing facilities. The location is ideal, near one end of the town so quiet. But everything is easily walkable. There is a petrol station next door which sells basic groceries. recommend Sails restaurant, great food and views, happy hour 4-6pm.
It is a very short walk to the beach, which is fine here, the hotels on this side unfortunately have the down side that people walk past all the time, unlike the west side. I would not recommend being beach front here, its too busy. Therefore Are Mango was perfect just being set back a bit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are same size, but a few have private courtyard area.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at Aremango for about 6 nights. We found Muri beach to be probably the best snorkeling and most around the island as you can you have all the beautiful motu's nearby.

Whilst this definitely is not 5 star accommodation, it met our needs on an affordable budget.

We had a private courtyard area and have a shower in the courtyard, perfect for a hot day to cool off or wash up after snorkeling. We found the staff to be polite and friendly. I can see how sometimes depending on the guests that sometimes it would become noisy with noise travelling down the corridor at night time. This wasn't too much of a problem for us.

Internet services are however quite slow so your better going into the city centre and using the internet at the Telecom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaytraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A clean guesthouse (common bathrooms) with kitchen facilities and a good seating area. Good location on beautiful Muri beach and with coffee shops/ snack bars and a convenience store very close by. The round-island bus stops just outside the guesthouse. Wifi is available at $NZ10 per hour. No meals are included but you can cook your own. A washing machine is available.
I found this guesthouse useful but lacking in personality - the guests were friendly but the staff hard 'to connect with' both practically and personally.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews