We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with old friends”
Review of Stoney Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek
Ranked #24 of 53 Viti Levu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This was our second time at Stoney Creek. It is the perfect location when coming into or out of Nadi. Just 15 minutes from the airport - up in the hills away from the tourists, noise and traffic of Nadi. Beautiful views over the sleeping giant and surrounding mountains. This is a great place for kids. Two room bures have plenty of space for a family of 5. The kids love the pool, the dogs, the cats and the frogs. Michelle and Gary are delightful hosts and treat our family like part of theirs. Anytime you need to stay in Nadi look at this as an option - sure beats the sterile hotels of the tourist areas.

Room Tip: Ask for the two room bure if staying with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MUMOFTHREESYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our first trip to Fiji and we stayed at Stoney Creek our last two nights, after having stayed a few nights on the Yasawa Islands.

The resort is peaceful and relaxing, so probably not for the party crowd (unless you bring your own party). We had a great time there as the employees and the owners could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The food was great and really reasonably priced, the room was nice and clean, and the resident animals were cute and friendly but not overbearing. The owner Gary (his wife Michelle was away) was talkative and friendly, told us about the country, gave us a ride into town one day, and even took us along to a barbecue he was going to with friends! It was an awesome introduction to Fiji and the friendly relaxed lifestyle.

Regarding location, Stoney Creek is in a really interesting setting "in the bush" on a hill off of a dirt road. It is not walking distance to Nadi town, but there are a number of buses that pass down the dirt road, some that continue into town and others you have to transfer from. It was actually very easy and not intimidating the way we thought it might be and we managed to take the bus to and from Stoney Creek into Nadi town. On our way home it was flooded with school children which was actually a nice and funny way to see a little bit into the daily life of the Fijians. On our last morning we took a taxi from Stoney Creek directly to the airport which had been prearranged for us the night before by reception. It was on time and charged exactly what we were quoted; no complaints and no haggling.

All in all the place was a great deal, lots of fun, and has wonderful owners and employees. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Go for a room with its own bathroom as I don't think the dorms would be as enjoyable. Worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My fiance were due to check in on 2-14-12.I called three times to make sure all was well.So we get there and its problem after problem at the check in finally get checked in we had rude service at the front desk don't understand how that young man has a job in customer service..Get up to our room which is supposed to be a themed suite to find it a mess.Our hot tub was missing a panel ,bed sheets were dirty and there was a herd of elephants above us .By far the worst valentines ever

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandypolen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

After reading some of the reviews we were a little concerned we were doing a wedding and honeymoon in Fiji and this was our first stop. There does seem to be a slight issue with the cabs though. Email the owner for advice and suggestions replies take a while because the internet is not good but just be patient. Did we see bugs, yes we saw one but its out in the boonies what do you expect, mosquitos yes .....take bug spray but they also bring you coils.
We found our room to be nice please keep in mind this is a hostel not a five star it was better than we expected. The meals were good, tasty and of good size and if you needed something changed they were happy to do it. They had curry a lot which I dont like but I asked for just plain fish and it was no problem. Drinks was far more reasonable here than most places.
We walked to the orchid gardens it was quite a walk bit worth it. We also went into town on the bus what a great experience and we mountain biked. Also the owner Michelle took us out one night and we had a lot of fun. Michelle gave us bottle of champagne for our wedding !!!
The staff were all very friendly and yes there are 8 dogs and 7 cats, but they are very well behaved.

Room Tip: Worth a stay, internet would have made it better but still a great place and reasonable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I have been coming to Fiji for years and visit Stoney Creek Resort whenever I get the chance. Its gorgeous mountain surrounds and peaceful setting provide the perfect atmosphere for those of us who have are learning the true meaning of 'holiday'. The food is divine: reasonably priced and a welcome spin on international dishes using fresh, local ingredients. The staff, owners and pets open up to guests in a unique and inclusive manner and take extreme pride in maintaining the quality of the resort. This open nature encourages guests to truly get to know one another, making it a haven for solo travellers who can elect to spend time together or in peaceful solitude on the ample grounds. The cleanliness, attention to detail and perks given to returning or long-stay guests make it feel like the most beautiful home away from home you could ever ask for. Come and visit, your peaceful state of mind when you return home will be all the reassurance you need...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lots of good things to say about Stoney Creek. The food is excellent, especially the curries and when we arrived over 3 hours late due to ferry delays, Michelle opened the kitchen and cooked especially for us. Our honeymoon bure was excellent with complimentary wine and fruit, a jacuzzi and everything was beautifully clean and well kept. The setting is rural and the views of the mountain ranges were excellent and a change from the beach! However there was still a substantial amount of construction being done on the site which disturbs the rural atmosphere somewhat and Michelle's moods deteriorated significantly over the course of our stay to the point where she was not far off hostile, shame as her staff were lovely. One other point, definitely avoid if you don't like dogs......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Even tho the hotel is nice and good value for money, there is no shuttle service as it says on the website. They put you in a taxi which they say they'll pay for and never do. Also the taxi drivers HATE going to this hotel because the roads are so bad, and you'll get a ear bending from everyone of them who has to take you there. There's a major dispute between the owners and the taxi drivers. You'll likely to get ripped of too.

The hotel seems well run, the pool area nice and clean. The food we had on night one was great but the morning we left my husband was desperately ill from what we assumed was food poisoning. We dont know if it was from here but we'd been in fiji 2 weeks and had been fine until his last night. (we'd drunk bottled water all the way!!!)

The rooms in the main house were nice and clean and comfy with good mozzie nets. We also stayed a night in the bure which i didnt like.

We also didnt get much peace as the owner decided to join us most of the time for chats even if he wasnt invited, which ruined our nice relaxing evening. All he spoke about was how the hotel was being expanded and the dispute with the taxi drivers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viti Levu hotels
0 km away
No photo provided
Fun World Plaza Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lautoka
1 reviews
0 km away
Vatia Beach Eco Resort
0 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Lautoka
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Robinson Crusoe Island Resort
Robinson Crusoe Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Likuri Island
405 reviews
0 km away
Bamboo Hostel
Bamboo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Nadi
583 reviews
0 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek

Address: Sabeto Rd. | Sabeto, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Viti Levu
Price Range: $52 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stoney Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Viti Levu
Stoney Creek Fiji/Viti Levu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing