We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
324
46
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
46
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews platinum package seafood platter coral coast your doorstep traditional fijian style baby sharks other guests white water rafting piece of paradise wake up hired a car relaxing holiday kava ceremony small resort fijian night curry bigger resorts
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 386 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We can’t rave about this place enough! It completely blew away our expectations.

I researched for months, where in Fiji to spend our honeymoon...and I couldn’t be happier with our choice! We typically enjoy staying somewhere nice with good service…etc, yet we wanted to also be among the Fijian culture, rather than at a big resort. After reading many of the other reviews on Trip advisor, I made the decision to book Maui Palms.

I made sure I booked the front beach-facing villa. One of only 2 beach front standalone villas on the property. It had views from the bed over the pool & Pacific Ocean. Our villa was referred to as the Honeymoon Villa. It was just perfect! We hardly saw anyone the entire trip. We had direct access to the pool (on the right) and the beach was directly ahead. We even had a hammock which hung in front of the villa, making the perfect spot to relax after a day of snorkeling.

The place is very romantic and ideal for couples. If you are looking for the perfect honeymoon destination, without the premiums of the big resorts or spending a fortune of getting out to the islands, this place will meet all your expectations. There was so much to do. We spent a number of hours a day snorkeling the reefs directly out front of the resort. Joel, the activities coordinator is fantastic and will go out of him way to make sure you get the best experience. He took us out on the kayaks, dropped a rope into the reef around a rock and took us on a beautiful snorkeling tour. There are thousands of fish of all colors. Beautiful reefs and plenty to see. It was gorgeous!

One of the greatest assets of Maui Palms is Amid. Amid had just recently starting working at Maui Palms as the Resort Manager. He has background as a professional chef and man, can he cook!!! His cooking is by far some of the best I have EVER eaten… and I’m a foodie who appreciates good food. We had been given money for our wedding to spoil ourselves on a lavish meal during our honeymoon. We enjoyed Amid’s cooking during our stay so much, that we gave up spending money at one of the nearby resorts and choose to eat our special meal at our resort. The staff even set up one of the spare villas for us to enjoy our last meal in. They set up a trail of fresh flowers, decorations and candles, giving us the most romantic Fijian dinner experience. This was completely unexpected and was so special for our last night at the resort. We did not once have a single bad meal. Absolutely incredible!!! Thank you Amid and your wonderful team!

All the staff are very friendly and are happy to chat with you and make sure you are enjoying yourself. Nothing was EVER too much trouble. The rooms have a TV, but they can only play DVD’s. There is no need to be stuck in your room during the day, but it’s nice to choose a dvd at night and relax with a wine after dinner.

The staff helped us organize a driver for one of our days we were in Fiji. For $180 FJD we had a driver from 10am until 6pm. They picked us up at the resort and took us to the Sand Dunes National Park in Sigatoka first (approx. 35 mins from the resort), where we spent about 90 mins trekking through the rain forest and across the beach. It was very pretty. We didn’t see another single person during our visit, which made it very relaxing. I highly recommend bringing shoes to wear if you go during the hours of 11am – 3pm. The sand is very very hot! We then drove another 25-30 mins further towards Nadi to the InterContinental Resort on Natadola Beach (a must see spot!). We paid $40 FJD’s to enter the resort for the day, which then then gave us $40 FJD towards food and drinks to redeem at the resort. I 100% recommend doing this as the cocktails and service at the InterContinental Resort was worth it! Make sure you get the Kiwi Smash (wow!) The infinity pool was breath taking and there was so many water activities to enjoy. We brought our own snorkeling gear with us and went exploring around the little island just off the beach. Our driver waited for us the entire day and he even stopped off to get fresh fruit on the side of the road on the way home.

If you are planning to do a day trip out to the islands, the only island departure points are back in Nadi. So make sure you factor in the 90 min drive to and from the port. We personally didn’t do a day trip, as the coral coast offered us everything we wanted.

The local town is called Sigatoka and is about a 25 min drive from the resort. The taxi ride shouldn’t cost more than $30 FDJ each way. It’s a great way to spend the morning or afternoon. If you want to visit the market (fruit, gifts, jewelry and kava), make sure to go before about 4pm as it closes about then.

The staff at the Maui Palms Resort truly made our trip amazing! Be sure to enjoy the fresh coconuts daily. The staff will climb the neighboring trees and cut up the coconuts for you. They even cut up coconuts that we found on the beach. Everything in Fiji is so fresh! Make the most of it!!

Since there is only a few villas on the property, I do not recommend families with young children to stay here. This place is for honeymooners and couples. I’d suggest staying somewhere else to give everyone else the romantic holiday they are expecting.

We LOVED every minute of our trip and will be back for sure. If you are hesitating because of the distance from Nadi airport to Maui Palms, don’t think twice about it! The 90 min drive is beautiful. I suggest either booking a transfer through the hotel (which is what we did), or get a taxi once you arrive. The Coral Coast is beautiful!! At Maui Palms, snorkeling is on your door step, food is 10/10 and there are plenty of local activities to enjoy. The staff will make you feel at home and honestly we didn’t want to leave.

Vinaka (thank you) Wayne, Amid, Joel, Ben, & all the beautiful ladies who made our Honeymoon one we will never forget! I do hope we get the chance to come back to Maui Palms!

Room Tip: If you are on a romantic holiday, try to book one of the front, beach facing villas (only 2 on the property)
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

If I could give Maui Palms a higher review I would. I stayed here for 7 nights with my partner and neither of us have a bad word to say. What a great place to spend your holiday, all of the staff are very welcoming and nothing is ever to much trouble for them. We found the bed to be extremely comfortable & the room very cosy & clean. We loved the layout of these villas and the surroundings that make it feel tropical. We done some great activities with Jo - snorkelling, kayaking, hiking up the hills, the waterfall tour & the Fijian night experiencing a kava ceremony & eating from an underground oven & WOW what a great fire show by Jo. We tried a lot of different meals at the restaurant and all were very delicious and very reasonably priced! I could continue writing about all our great experiences with Maui Palms but I would be here for hours. I would highly recommend this place. I can’t thank all of the staff enough for making our Fiji Holiday one to remember. Until next time Maui Palms!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shelbznayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Stayed here in February and we were treated to the most amazing service. Neem checked us in and was very friendly and full of information about things to do in the area and also helped us with transport back to Nadi. Joe took us out kayaking to the most amazing place we had ever snorkelled. We saw so many different fish and coral and he informed us of the creatures to watch out for. On the way back to the hotel he showed us the reef sharks, with out naked eye we couldn't see them at all but Joe saw them from over 50m away and managed to get us up all close with them. We feed fish right on the shore line of the hotel and they made a huge frenzy, it was really an amazing sight. We only stayed here for one night but wished we had stayed longer. There are only 9 rooms at the hotel and the only other couple we meet that were staying there for 9 nights said they loved every minute they spent there. The staff go the extra mile to make you feel special and if you book direct with the hotel breakfast is included. We wish we had stayed longer and if we come back to Fiji we would choose to spend our whole time at Maui Palms, it is exactly as you see it in the pictures. Thanks heaps for having us and a special thanks to Joe for preparing us some bread fruit.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MorgyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018 via mobile

This place is paradise!
Ideal romantic place for couples & met all our expectations.
We stayed in a beach front stand alone villa (1 of only 2) with views from the bed over the pool & Pacific Ocean.
Stayed 6 nights which included complimentary full breakfasts & airport transfers (1.5 hours from Nadi).
Food was great, king size bed very comfortable, clean & tidy with good air con. Villa is screened & has a good deep bath a separate shower with nice stone artwork finishing.
Horse riding from the beach directly out front of our Villa.
A real credit to the beautiful team at Maui Palms - Vinaka (thank you) Wayne, Amid, Neil, Ben, Joe & all the beautiful ladies. You have made us feel very welcome & helped wonderfully with the extra activities we choose.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

Stayed as a family of 2A + teenagers in 2 rooms.

What a fantastic place. We had a wonderful time. We were looking for a smaller boutique type place to stay with a beach and water activities on the doorstep but mainly somewhere to just chillax. And this place certainly nailed it on the head.

Our days generally revolved around getting up whenever and having breakfast… lots of breakfast. Go do some snorkelling, swimming, exploring on the beach type activities… wander down to the local shop and pick up some snacks and a couple of beers and sit out the back of our room and enjoy the view/sun. As evening approached we would wander into the resort bar and shoot some pool either amongst ourselves, with other guests or staff… eventually got everybody into the hang of Kelly pool which was fun (pro tip: make Manny play left handed). After a couple of drinks, we would have dinner and then sit out the back of our room and play cards or do something family together. For us this was exactly what was needed. If you are looking for a big hotel with hustle and bustle then this is not for you.

Rooms are large enough to spread out and very clean. A small fridge for keeping the essentials cold. A TV which we never turned on. Be aware that the rooms we stayed in had open showers which I can imagine that for some this may be a little confronting if of a more conservative nature.

The food was excellent and just what was needed for this type of resort. The chef was able to adapt to your particular mood too which was great. As there are not many people at any one time it helps the kitchen if you can give an idea of what time you will be sitting down to dinner. On one of the days of our stay when discussing what time we would like to be seated we said that we all just fancied something a local. So, we chatted to the chef and he asked if we would like him to cook up one of his home specialties – a big pot of curry. Another couple heard us and thought this was a great idea and they asked if they could have some too… eventually the big pot turned into the really really big pot and we had a bit of a “resort wide curry night”. This sort of flexibility and homeliness you will struggle to find in a bigger “chain” type resort.

One of the greatest assets of Maui Palms is the Owner and his staff. All very happy to chat and make sure you are comfortable and enjoying yourself without being too over the top. And nothing was too much trouble. Daily activities with Joe if you wanted then (or you could just watch him climb trees and cut down coconuts and breadfruit). Manny was always on hand to make you smile to take you on a trip into town on one of the supply runs if you did want to get out and about. I should have written this sooner so apologies if I have forgotten you but for those already mentioned and Ben, Neil, Langy and the Owner Wayne we send a big, big thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Pros: Everything really; relaxing; staff; beach; food...

To be aware of: The trip to/from the airport is a bit longer than you think. But a fait bit to look at and a cold drink awaited us when picked up which was a nice touch.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews