We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Sigatoka River Safari tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Sigatoka River Safari
from US$122.00
More Info
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
692
58
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
58
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain jack jet boat village tour magic mike kava ceremony lady gaga degree spins a real eye opener village life singing and dancing sponge bob sigatoka river eye opening humbling experience change of clothes highly recommend this trip local village
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 767 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

An absolute must do if visiting Fiji. Everything was handled so professionally from booking online to being dropped off at our hotel and everything in between. The staff were extremely helpful, humorous, pleasant and knowledgeable. Do it for yourself and experience what Fiji has to offer. You wont be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank paulbH2276EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayWhyte, Owner at Sigatoka River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Bula paulbH2276EZ

Absolutely thrilled to receive your comments here on TripAdvisor and to learn that you found the Safari experience to be "handled so professionally" which is high praise and one we accept graciously.

As you can hopefully understand it is always nice to know our friends appreciate the Safari experience and we are humbled by your kind words here. It is also awesome to know that you state it is an "Absolute must do if visiting Fiji". We could not agree with you more!! :)

On behalf of the whole team we thank you for choosing to share your Fijian holiday with us and we trust that the memories you made with us are "Simply Unforgettable".

Vinakwa


Jay Whyte
Owner/Operator
Sigatoka River Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We booked a few days earlier for this experience with a group of 15 or more that were staying at various accommodations. Due to the cyclone and flooding in the area the roads were cut in the area. We called them the day before and they notified us that the tour was canceled, and we would get a refund. We went to bed. Next morning they said that the roads opened and tour was back on and we were now NOT going to get the refund.. and after management at the intercontinental got involved they advised us that they were disappointed in the tour operators actions and they refunded us of there own back... thank god for common sense!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Rachbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayWhyte, Owner at Sigatoka River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Bula Rachbeef

With the greatest of respect the information you received was in fact incorrect as at no stage was the Monday tour cancelled and we never informed the booking agents of such, if we had made this statement we would have refunded said monies without issue and we would not even be having this exchange, however unfortunately it would seem that you have been given information that was factually incorrect and as a result feel aggrieved.

You should note that as a result of the Tropical Depression we had cancelled operations on Saturday morning ONLY. We did in fact still operate the Saturday afternoon tour as the weather permitted. This highlights the nature of operations which is based on weather at the time and not the unknown of 24-48 hrs time etc.

As you can hopefully understand we at all times put customer safety at the forefront and would not be running a tour if this was not safe for the guests. I understand that some of your fellow tour party did come out on Monday and based on their own direct feedback were very happy that they did. The group of 9 who were staying at the Shangri-la's Fijian Resort ventured out and saw firsthand the situation on the ground which we were grateful to them for trusting in our expertise, knowledge and professionalism in running our operations.

Our records show that the first contact from you came on Sunday, with less than 24 hours to go until the tour, the Tour Desk phoned to say that the guest would like to cancel their booking. We informed the Tour Desk that the Tour was still going ahead at this time and the response was the guest did not care, they wanted to cancel. We advised that we would be adhering to the advertised cancellation policy, however if they would be able to fill the seats by another booking then no problems with refunding the monies and should the weather on Monday morning dictate that the tour could not proceed we would cancel then and there would be no issues with the refund.

We would not and could not have advised of a cancelled Monday tour on Sunday as this decision would only have been made on Monday morning based on ACTUAL weather situation on the ground.

As you might recall the weather quickly turned for the better along the Coral Coast on Sunday morning and the category 1 cyclone did not directly pass over land on Sunday, it actually turned away from the islands early on Sunday, the weather situation improved dramatically and as such we continued all operations as per normal based on our knowledge of the area and previous weather patterns. As you might recall there was minimal rain on Sunday as compared to Saturday etc

Unfortunately it would appear that the 'in between' was the issue here as our advice never changed in that all operations on Monday were going ahead as we determined they were safe to do so. We at all times put our customer first and explained to the agent our position and asked that if they could organise to have the seats filled with another booking there would be no issue with refunding the monies.

We were perplexed by the request to cancel by you, which was the only advice we received from the booking agent on Sunday. Your threats of legal action were curious to us as we were perplexed by the reaction to our position which is in written form clearly shown on our brochures, our policy and conditions state:-

Conditions:

Sigatoka River Safari reserves the right to cancel or amend any trip due to river, road or weather conditions. Stringent safety procedures are observed. Sigatoka River Safari cannot be held responsible for personal injury or for loss or damage of equipment.

Cancellation Policy:

Sigatoka River Safari has a strict cancellation policy, any cancellation made within 24hrs of departure incurs 100% cancellation fees.
Bookings cancelled between 24-48hrs incur 50% cancellation fees.
Any cancellation made with more than 48hrs notice incur 0% fees.

It would appear that you relied on incorrect information to form your view on what the situation would be in 24 hours time which is obviously disappointing as has caused the situation and subsequent terse comments.

Whilst we certainly can understand your concern about weather in the tropics as I would guess this was the first experience with a Tropical Depression and category1 tropical cyclone, our goal is always to share the Heart & Soul of Fiji with our friends and do this in a safe, uniquely Fijian way. We regret that you found our advertised Cancellation Policy too rigid for you, but as you can hopefully understand we must have such systems in place to protect our operations also.

We appreciate you sharing your comments here as we believe in any operations there is opportunities for refinement and improvement. In this instance, it may have been better for you to speak directly with us as opposed to the 'in between' with a greater clarity of information being critical here but unfortunately this never occurred.

We wish you a positive 2018 ahead.

Vinaka

Jay Whyte
Owner/Operator
Sigatoka River Safari






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

This is a must do tour while in Fiji. Every part of this jet boat safari tour was entertaining and fun from the transfers to the checkin, the jet boat to the village visit all of it.
I went on this tour with my husband and our one year old son and they both loved it ( although my son fell asleep for the entire jet boat ride lol ). The village visit was amazing and the village people were really welcoming and the Fijian lunch they provided was delicious. Our favourite part though was the jet boat ride and the spins at the end, our captain magic mike even gave in and did a few extra for us he really was great!
We enjoyed this so much my husband and I returned the next day to do the road less travelled off road safari which took us into the cave a certain tribe used to use to cook their enemy’s in the days of cannibalism. We spent the day with our driver Leps and our guide Bella who did everything they could to ensure everyone had the best day possible! This tour was amazing but I would recommend wearing reef shoes for this one as the walk down to the cave was very slippery in thongs due to the mud but I would recommend these tours to everyone!!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank SallyF1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayWhyte, Owner at Sigatoka River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Bula Sally F

We are thrilled to receive your comments here on TripAdvisor and to know that you found the experience to be "Absolutely Fabulous".

Knowing that all 3 members of the family loved their Safari experience means a lot to the SRS team. Your 1 yr old is certainly not the first to be lulled to sleep by the dulcet tones of the V8 engines :)

As you discovered the time you spent in your village is what makes the experience so special and of course the bonus Safari jet boat experience is pretty special too.

We also appreciate that you guys ventured out on the Off Road Cave Safari, when you took the road less travelled with us. I have let Leps and Mella know that you appreciated their guiding skills :) They both send you their 'lolomas' (regards).

On behalf of the whole SRS/ORCS family we thank you for choosing to share your Fijian holiday with us and we hope that it won't be too long before we welcome you back home to Fiji!!

Vinakwa

Jay Whyte
Owner/Operator
Sigatoka River Safari
Off Road Cave Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Wow what a wonderful experience our tour guides Ace , Mela and Bella were absolutely fantastic making this trip so worthwhile. A look at Fiji which many might not see definitely recommend this to all the village people were so friendly and the children so beautiful. Also a big thankyou to our bus driver Joe who went above and beyond to make our journey even more special.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Huddo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayWhyte, Owner at Sigatoka River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Bula Huddo64

Awesome to receive your comments here on TripAdvisor following your recent Off Road Cave Safari adventure with us. I have let the team know that you loved their guiding skills and of course their Fijian sense of humour. They asked me to send you their biggest BULA and want to know when you are coming back to visit?

Special thanks from Joe also, he appreciates you choosing to share your comments here and he is happy to know he was able to make the trip down to Sigatoka "even more special".

Next time you come over to Fiji, you can check out our Sigatoka River Safari adventure :)

Warm regards from Fiji

Jay Whyte
Owner/Operator
Off Road Cave Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

This was our third trip on the Sigatoka River Safari. It was terrific as usual. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I noticed a few improvements such as the concrete path to the jetty and the boats have been repainted and are looking good.
As has been the case on each of our trips, the villagers are very friendly and welcoming. This time we went to Sabatau village. It looked a bit more prosperous than the previous villages we have visited but it is still a very simple life in the village so don't expect the Hilton. We did have a beautiful lunch though. One of the things that I like and respect about the River Safari is that the villages benefit from the trip. It still doesn't hurt to donate some cash or thinks like books and writing materials or a Rugby ball!
Thanks again for another wonderful trip. We'll come back again next time we are in Fiji.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MattFitz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayWhyte, Owner at Sigatoka River Safari, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Bula MattFitz57

We are absolutely thrilled and honoured to know that you had been on Safari 3 times now and you loved your 3rd adventure with us, just as you found it to be "Terrific as usual" which is truly appreciated.

It is awesome that you noted the improvements to the Nakaracia site and also the boats after their recent maintenance, it is great when our friends appreciate these improvements so a big VINAKA VAKALEVU!!

We are so grateful to you for sharing your Fijian holidays with us and please drop us a note before you head over for your 4th trip as we would love to make this experience a bit more special!!!

Wishing you a great year ahead from all your friends here in Fiji at Sigatoka River Safari!!

Vinakwa

Jay Whyte
Owner/Operator
Sigatoka River Safari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews