We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great holiday at the Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“another great holiday at the Hideaway”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is our second year we went back to the Hideaway in fiji and wasn't disappointed, great staff the manager John Mcfadden was wonderful with us and other guest, we get such great value from My Fiji all drinks FREE all meals FREE plus $500 to your room, OUR BILL AFTER 8 DAYS WAS $30, we will be back again next year same time ( 10/02 -18/02) , staff like Lisa,Waisake Onny made it so special.
Again thanks Hideaway and thanks John Mcfadden and your staff.
regards
Charlie Turpin and Sandra Smith

Room Tip: Ocean Front is the best and most modern but remember there is NO tv in your Burees just settle back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cturpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    465
    173
    47
    37
See reviews for
526
563
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We were a little nervous coming to this resort after reading earlier reviews. When we first arrived it wasnt the glitz and glamour of Denarau Resorts and we were a little disappointed. But we soon got into the swing of this gorgeous little resort and loved it. We loved that it was small so we got to meet everyone staying there, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a huge storm while we were there and waves flooded the pool. The staff did everything in their power to clean it up and bent over backwards to keep us informed. Its a little worn out in places, but when you get your bill you forget all that. It is the cheapest holiday we have ever had in Fiji and one of the best. Unfortunately the weather was stormy but we still enjoyed ourselves. Totally recommend the jetski tour around Beqa Island and the wildlife park. At the end of resort, go out on the road and walk down you get braiding and massages half the price of resort - great great value especially when two of our children wanted their hair done.

Room Tip: Bures on the beach are the best. There are also newer bures that have been built that are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michellen_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Hideaway is a resort about 2 hours from the airport, and about 30 mins from the nearest village, Sigatoka. It is not a 5 star resort. However, it is a great Bargain! I stayed here for 7 days, 6 nights in an ocean-view Buree. The resort looks a little dated and could use a reno, but we didn't pay the 5 star price, and we found everything to be neat and clean! The first night, we found out our Buree had electrical problems (couldn't use the plugs) so we got moved to a different Buree on the other side of the resort, which was lovely! Breakfast is fantastic and I recommend traveler's try the amazing omelets! Lunch and dinner are average, we only paid for breakfast included, so sometimes we ate out at local restaurants (Hint- we asked the local drivers to recommend places, and they were able to recommend some great cafes/restaurants nearby!). We stayed in late December, so it was a bit rainy, and the snorkeling wasn't the best- but I did 7 dives, which were fabulous! The dive shop at Hideaway is staffed with knowledgeable, experienced divers! In fact, all the staff at Hideaway have a motto- arrive as a guest, leave as family, and when we left it felt like leaving behind wonderful relationships that we had built up! There is a massage hut next to the resort, which is half the resort price, and the same massage- so I recommend going there! A great trip, good accommodation and fantastic staff!!

Room Tip: Stay in an ocean view Buree- as they're air conditioned, and if possible stay on the dive shop s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Railton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at Hideaway 6 nights early Feb 2012. Unfortunatley the weather was dreadful the whole of our stay which pretty much wrecked the plans we had for our time in Fiji as the snorkelling and diving trips and the glass bottom boat were all cancelled due to the weather. Snorkelling was still available off the beach but the water was stired up and cloudy during our stay so not much good. The staff at the resort however were wonderful and we cannot speak highly enough of ther friedliness and their willilness to accommodate. My 12 year old son spent most of his time in the pool. We did do one day trip and I would highly reccomend the sugar train/sigatoka day trip and this can be done regardless of the weather. Thanks to the guys who did the drumming routine to commence happy hour, my son loved joining in with you on the two occassions he did so, the guys are so accommodating and the second (the last night we were there) that he showed up they just moved aside and gave him the middle spot and a set of drum sticks without even having to be asked. This was one of the highlights of our stay for him. The only reccommendation I would make is don't visit during the wet season, we had this as a stopover on the way back from a ski trip to USA but it would have been very disappointing had this been our sole holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2012Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon in January 2012.
Overall the resort is nice and relaxing place, but it's a bit worn out here and there.

We had an ocean view bure, which was nice although not anything special.
Aircon worked fine, coffee & tea in the room is complimentary. The chairs on the terrace were basic and not very comfortable so we did not spend much time there.

Outdoor shower was nice, and better than the indoor one. Quality of towels and linens is varying, one day we had fine towels, other day some worn out ones.

Snorkeling off the beach is ok on high tide, but on high tide only as it's very very shallow. For swimming the pool is better, but was a bit too small and crowded for a proper swim. Around the pool there are sunbeds but number of those is limited - sometimes difficult to get one. sunbed mats are quite outdated and a bit disgusting even.

Location of the resort is not very good f you want to do some day trips. Day cruises depart mostly from Port Denarau - 1,5 hrs drive from Hideaway...

Food was quite good and prices were quite ok. Service in the restaurant was speedy and mostly good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

There are two sorts of reviews about HIdeaway - 1. People that expect to pay a pittance and get the world and 2. Those who are realistic about value for money.

As other reviewers have noted, the resort could do with an upgrade in places and some members of staff could be a little more engaging, but overall Hideaway is a pretty special place.

We found the front desk staff pretty unapproachable most times, but generally the other staff were very friendly, accommodating and humble.

We stayed for 7 nights in 2 x Frangipani bure's with our 19 & 13yo children. The accomodation was spacious and well set out. Airconditioning worked well if the bure remained close all day. The outdoor bathroom was amazing! Even though we weren't beachfront, we had a view of the ocean from our verandah and it was lovely. The rooms were clean, although a little scruffy around the edges - mildew in the bathroom and in the corners of the room, but I believe this is so hard to manage in a tropical, humid environment that I didn't see it as 'dirty'. Rooms are reasonably appointed - bar fridge, safe, tea & coffee making, iron & ironing board, small table & chairs, toiletries.

As for the resort itself, the pool and bar are really the heart, with most activties focusing on these areas. Each day an activity program is delivered to your door, however we found that this didn't always run to plan, which made it difficult if you wanted to schedule your day around a particular activity. I highly recommend the cooking demonstrations and Bula Bongo Bingo was a hoot!

As for comments about the beach being 'unswimable' this is totally untrue. It is a coral reef, so when the tide is out, the water is shallow, and it is not possible to swim in many sections. This is perhaps 4 hours a day! The rest of the time, the swimming was fine. Safe, sheltered, cool & relaxing. Snorkelling was OK - not a lot of pretty corals, but ots more fish than we have seen in other places. We took our own gear which was an advantage.

We did a few spa treatments in the resort, though I couldn't work out why these weren't performed in the lovely day spa advertised on the website - rather, in a bure close to the bar. Massages, manicure, pedicure. All were fine. Nothing spectacular, but not terrible either.

We took the all inclusive package as we got a good deal and we found the food to be of a high quality. This includes buffet breakfast, 2 course lunch and 3 course dinner or buffet. Also, 50% off the ala carte menu. We only had one dinner buffet - Lovo night - which was surprisingly disappointing. Everything else we ordered was off the menu or the ala carte menu and was delicious. Try the mudcrab cooked local style and the lobster flambe off the ala carte menu!

We sampled quite a few cocktails (again at 50% off for all-inclusive packages) and these were well made and very tasty. The mocktail list could be a bit more extensive as it only has 4 options. Milkshakes are charged at full price as they are not off the 'bar menu' and these were $11FJD each. Similarly, espresso coffee (including cappucino, latte etc) were charged at full price $10.50FJD.

We watched the Firewalking across the road and this was $16FJDpp, but did not do the glass bottom boat ($25FJDpp) due to the weather. We bought some beautiful cultured pearls from Linni who strings them herself, and some wood carvings from the carver in the bridge bure. Our girls went horse riding with the 'horse man' Kelly from the shack at the end of the beach ($25FJD for 30 min along the beach, or 1.5hrs for $40FJD or 2.5hr rainforest trek for $70FJD) and also had a massage here too ($25FJD for a 30 minute massage which lasted about 45 mins!).

We met some local kids who took us on an adventure to get mangos from the river across the road from the resort and this was a wonderful insight into their lives. They were polite, funny and engaging. And the mangos were yummy too!

The highlight for us was breakfast with eggs cooked to order by Faiyez. He really made HIdeaway come to life for us and went out of his way to get to know us and our girls. He is an amazing member of staff and ambassador for Hideaway.

We really found a place to relax and get away from it all, and it met all of our expectations. To those who have been disappointed, I say 'do your research'.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank woolygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have just returned from spending 18 days at this resort and i enjoyed every single minute and will definetly be returning. The bure was immaculate and clean with a beautiful sea view. The staff are excellent, hard working and ever so friendly. We hired a car and visited other resorts. All resorts are much the same. Visiting the villages is a 'must' to see how the people live, they are ever so friendly. Take some beer or chocolate as this will make them very happy.Book island trips from the resort as you wont get them cheaper anywhere else as transfers are included which takes up to an hour to travel to Denarau.Book the robinson crusoe island trip but take a change of clothing as the staff are crazy and they make sure everyone gets wet!! great fun great laugh!!!!. You can stay overnight if you choose to. Most of the island trips are excellent and can probably recommend the 'captain cook' trip as this seems to be the most popular as it gets fully booked up.The chef cooks some fanastic dishes at the hideaway and he is ever so friendly and always has a smile. I did not go all inclusive as it is much cheaper to eat out. Ko Ko's on the sunset strip past outrigger hotel has fab food and it is owned by an australian guy, also bedarra hotel has a fab reataurant with fab food and fab prices, just 200 meters past ko ko's.When you go outside hotel you can get a bus which costs about $2 to sigatoka. Just put your hand out and the small mini buses will stop for you.Turn right outside of hotel drive on the main road past naviti hotel,past warwick hotel,just keep driving for about 3- 4km until you come to a small sign on the left which says Beachouse backpacker resort and turn right into it,or hop on a bus and the driver will take you right there, they sell cheap beer and great food at great prices and they have happy hour from 5-7 the beach is fab and they have lots of hammocks to relax in, and a fabulous sunset view, this is also owned by a australian guy,. They make you feel very welcome. Prices are very cheap for a double bure. Next time i visit fiji i will stay there for a couple of nights. If you drive further on for approx another 5-6km you will come to pacific ocean which is a beautiful area some nice bars and restaurants and there is also a port there.Dont drink the cava unless you have a strong stomach.Hideaway is a great location for a wedding. Hideaway staff will go all out to please you and tend to your every needs.They are very informative and can give you lots of advice of places to visit.No problem. If you have to see a doctor for any reason whatsoever i would recommend to go to see the Dr at eithr the naviti any day from 10.30-11.30 or outrigger from 9.30-10.30 she is excellent and very cheap as we had to use her due to my partner developing severe ear infection. Hideaway resort use anothe doctor who charges $200 to be called out.

Room Tip: we stayed in the standard bure which were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank KELLY2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
9.4 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
11.1 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
55.7 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.6 km away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
10.6 km away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.2 km away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Property: Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu Box 233, Sigatoka, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing