We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This place is incredible. For those who like peace and quiet, this is the place to go. The fact that it's isolated (the access is pretty rough with a normal car), gives all the charm to this beautiful place. My boyfriend and I were the only guests in the resort for the first 2 days. We were greeted with warmth by the our local hosts who really made sure we were happy all the time. The villa where we stayed was located beautiful, and we had an amazing view on the lagoon from the balcony. Ole was cooking us breakfast every day, delicious lunch, and incredible dinner meals with most ingredients coming from their own garden.
The papaya and pineapple were extremely tasty!
In 2 days, I did so much: snorkelling, kayaking (available for free from the beach), horseriding (they have horses on the property!), playing with the goats (plenty on the property), kitesurfing, and just RELAXING on the hammock!
Just loved that place!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    36
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
50
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Firstly the cons: When we arrived there we were told that we would have only 4 hours of power supply. So, come prepared if you want to charge your batteries its just this 4 hour slot that you have to make do with.. For all you happy eco-tourists read on :)
Its off the highway by about 15 minutes. So, if your idea of a good holiday is to be close to civilization, doing a number of tours throughout your stay, you'll have to fork out extra to be picked up from here
You are not surrounded by shops and restaurants. Now, depending on what you choose to do on a holiday its a good thing or a bad thing :)
If you have read this far and feel i dont see why anyone would have an issue with it then, i would strongly recommned that you book your stay here for 2-3 days :)
I cannot stop raving about the views. All villas open up to the lagoon at the back. The beach is about 20 metres away from the villa! And what a beautiful aqua blue the lagoon is! straight out of a "photo shopped" post card. Its unbelievable that the pricing is so low for such a beautiful setting. Give this place to a hotel chain and they will triple the price.

How can i not mention Oley.. who took such good care of us while we were there.. she made sure that every thing was in order.. and was keen on suggestions to make the place better.. loved the long chats that we had with her

Food was prepared using ingredients from the farm.. The fruits were delicious and the food finger licking good.. when we finally got the bill - we were taken aback as to how cheap it was!

Go to Namuka Bay for its peace, its tranquility and as a break from the hectic pace we lead our lives.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This burgeoning property has magnificent potential, but has a little way to go to tick all the boxes. The spot although isolated provides beautiful white sandy beaches and absolute peace and quiet. Forget taking your laptop and mobile phone reception is patchy at best. Generator powered electricity is available from 6pm to around 9pm. Did not experience any problems with the hot water. Stayed in an oceanfront villa, sitting on the verandah provided uninterrupted views of the beach. Glad there was nobody staying in the adjoining villa as the verandah is shared. Other than that the standard and cleanliness of the room was fine. Snorkelling is extremely safe as beach is protected by a coral reef, but like most places on the Coral Coast the coral is dead, but there are plenty of brightly coloured fish and brillant blue starfish. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The real issue I had was with the food. OK so it's cheap, but we did return a dish because it was inedible. There is nothing wrong with the produce. Its very fresh and grown on site, it's just the execution of some of the dishes. There are nice little touches like being able to take your meals in private on your verandah. This is actually preferable to the dining area as it has no views. The shining light was eating the owner's wife's curry. Best roti I've tasted and I loved the homemade chutney. We did suggest that she should be in charge of a curry night. If they could just raise the bar in the food department, I would return again and again as a place for total peace and quiet and relaxation. One important thing make sure you take cash with you. There are no credit card facilities either in the Nadi office or at the property.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here on my own for 5 nights. I booked a dorm but was upgraded to my own room, which was a really good deal.
I was in the Standard Room which was clean. Cold shower (probably due to the lack of power) but I manage well - quite refreshing to have a cool shower in warm weater.
The beach was stunning - crystal clear sea and safe swimming due to the reef break further out.
Food was excellent and as has said before bought to your room. I was actuall the only person at the whole resort for my whole stay, which really confuses me. Maybe more marketing? I picked the brochure up and on of the places I stayed but at the other 3 there were no brochures of this place. And I did stay between Nadi and Namatakula so the place isn't exactly far away.
The brochure advertises internet but as the power has not come down that far, yet, be aware there isn't any. My roaming Vodaphone coverage worked very well.
The journey down the dirt track is 7kms and I would suggest a 4 wheel drive to get there.
I would definately go back, probably only if the weather is good for the beach as there would be nothing nmuch to do, its not easy to just pop out and do some shopping!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JubblyOnBribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namukabay, Public Relations Manager at Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Bula Guests,

many thanks for your review and very much appreciate that. the resort is an Eco-tourism resort and nature is taken into consideration and electricity is available at the resort including the internet services upon request access to the modem directly. many things to do at resort itself and they are listed below: -

Snorkeling, Kayaking, Sanctuary Limestone Cave Visiting, Ecological Site discovered by Fiji Museum, Camping, Hand-line Fishing, Trekking, Horse Riding, Coconut Water Drinking, and many more...

looking forward to your stay with us again and have a pleasant and enjoyable season.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast,Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

After our vacation, this place deserves a mention-what surprised me the most was that not lot of people know about this place and the locality....as the other review has mentioned...its a ride as the road is not that good...a decent road...nevertheless, the ride thru the hills is just breathtaking, you see the seas, and getting to the resort-you will find yourself surrounded with huge forest...it was so peaceful, as very quiet & tranquility about the place...
The Villas are huge, with an outdoor shower, you sit on your deck, and just watch the sunset and hear the waves crashing onto the shores....lots of coral washed on the shore, the beach was clean, there is a huge wave break, but we did not try to surf as we had no board... The rooms were well kept, power is run on generator...rooms are fan cooled, and you don't even get to use the fan as the sea breeze just wafts in...
There is no Bar & Restaurant, i asked the owners they were starting to build, we were served all our meals on our villa deck, the chef is great...very fresh, and they have papayas all grown on the resort......
The resort is run by a family, well coordinated, we got a decent rate which included all meals, which was pretty cheap, and it was a holiday for us but felt like a Honeymoon...the rooms are just gorgeous.....
The resort was very quiet ; I guess they did not have many guests, as a new resort, not many people know about Namuka.
Lovely resort, great for those looking for relaxing, quiet, holiday, this is the place

Room Tip: the Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelHelp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

I have had the pleassure to spent one night in this hotel and I could say is one of the best lodgements in Coral Coast.
It's a little dificult to get in but when you arrives there it seems to be another world. The service is excellent with Ole managing whatever you needs and also you have a nice bay, beach, excellent food...all you need for a peacefull stay.
Don't fear to go to this hotel because you won't forget it never!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xaviur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namukabay, Owner at Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Bula Xavier,

As our guest has mentioned, the service in terms of Bay, Beach, Food and accommodation.
A little elaboration on that; the resort is directly situated on the beach so no difference from being on an island, the food is awesome with a combination of Authentic Indian Dishes, Traditionally prepared Fijian Dishes, and mixture of Foreign Dishes. all the ingredients are organic that is grown and produced at the farm, all vegetables grown and all meat produce are grown to maintain quality and not frozen. the beach is for you without any interruptions and disturbance.

If you are looking for Value of your stay with Services that suit your needs, where guests are put to our first priority - Namuka Bay Resort is the place to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
17.7 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
4.6 km away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
19.2 km away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
43.9 km away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
18.2 km away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort

Property: Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Address: Nadiri Junction (right handside) before Cuvu | Cuvu, Sigatoka, Viti Levu P.O BOX 251, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namuka bay lagoon is more of a hideaway than a frilly resort it offers wellness in its serene and unpulluted surroundings, adventure in its limestone caves and historic archelogical sites and activities ranging from mountain biking,kayaking, horseriding, massage,meditation,snorkelling,hiking to nearby Fijian village or to nearby 5 star rssorts.The Namuka Bay lagoon is very safe for kids and it is the last part of the mainland which still has live coral.Namuka bay promises a healthy you, through our resorts gardens and corn fed pultry and meadow fresh milk and eggs. If you want to feel alive again try us..you wont be disapointed Namuka is Fiji's newly discovered paradise its not only for a new breed of eco-travellers but its for those who want to rejuvenate themselves and return to mother nature itself A unique blend of nature and adventure awaits you ...hidden amongst rolling hills of a tropical rainforest. Namuka Bay promises more than just a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namuka Bay Lagoon Hotel Sigatoka
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing