We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
33
45
29
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
45
29
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat poolshared balconyswimming poolhomemade jamsfelt safebetween flightsbasic roommin walkstayed one nightcruise shippensiontransportpfdowntownmarkethostsairport
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 118 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2016

We spent one night in Tahiti on our way to Bora Bora and I wanted someplace cheap that was close enough to walk to town. We found it. The owner and staff were friendly, the breakfast European style with great French bread, Coffee, and home made yoghurt and cheeses. There was no air conditioning but the fans worked well. Bathroom was down the hall. It took about 15 minutes to walk to town. They also served about 10 guests dinner of fresh Tuna, Eggplant, Salad, rice and wonderful bread. They also had a swimming pool. Most people staying there were French and their English was limited.

Room Tip: Upstairs room had a balcony and was big enough for 3 people.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bacurtis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Simple , clean accommodation with helpful owner but located 20 minutes walk from town in a poor area. Not nice to walk back at night as pedestrian access along road not easy with broken surfaces and rubbish tips and stray dogs always along the way , also poor lighting.
We stayed for 2 nights en route to LA but Papeete is not particularly attractive and looks desperately in need of investment with lots of unfinished roadworks and houses and empty shops. Nicest place is by boats and there is a night food market there. Taxis are expensive and only cheap food we found was in the market.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility problems as there is no lift
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2016

Family-run hotel. Large room, good storage (wardobes etc), en-suite. Swimming pool of reasonable size. Continental breakfast (but no croissants!). Water cooler, tea & coffee always available. Dinner is available (if booked earlier in the day), which means eating with the family. A daughter of the family, Vee-anna, (she does not live on the premises but comes at least once a day) is knowledgeable and very helpful in suggesting and organising tours etc. She speaks good English.
Location: about 10 minutes walk from the port and the Moorea ferry. About 10-15 mins from the "Tracks" where low-cost dining is available. Area is safe, if not well-lit or attractive, at night.
NB Tahiti is expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Antony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Was booked when we were looking for space at beginning of trip. Managed last night there because Aranui sailed that morning, so they had rooms. Vaiana, the owner, has been in the travel agency business for a good while. They have different types of rooms, some with ac, some not, some rooms for lots of folks, etc. We needed ac and it was just fine. Papeete has grown, it is noisy and dusty. Ahitea is at the end of a little dead end street. If you are not looking for cookie cutter hotels, but rather a local experience, this is the place. Not a 5 star hotel, but a darned good guest house. Great pool too. Free wifi, friendly public space. We had to leave at 4am, so alas, no breakfast!

Room Tip: Wifi works best in public space.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gypsy32320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016

As other people have noted, we were a bit shocked upon arrival. We had Room #1 (on the main level) with 3 beds. It was suitable as a "day room" to rest, shower and change clothes before the late night Air Tahiti Nui flight back to the USA. The a/c and Wi-Fi worked well in our room. The owner / manager was very pleasant and helpful. She provided ice (upon request), called in our order for pizza (which was delivered to the lodge) and booked a taxi for transport to the airport. Market is only 5+ minutes walk. Restaurants are 10+ minutes walk (probably better to use a taxi). The pool area is nice and in good condition. The taxi transport that the lodge arranges for the 15 minute ride to the airport is quite expensive ($26.00 USD for 4 passengers PLUS $1.00 USD per luggage piece).

Room Tip: We had Room #1 (on the main level) with 3 beds.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AZfreebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews