We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many pluses for this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Ahitea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2016

ARRIVAL: We arrived in Papeete after 1am. At our request, Ahitea had arranged for an airport pickup for 2600 XPF. This was charged to the room, so no worry about immediately having to get local currency. Our opinion of the price was that it was fair, unlike other opinions here. 1) this is similar to what we later paid on leaving to the airport from another hotel; 2) we were the only customers to be picked up at 1:30am and the person who picked us up had to come back to the airport for another pickup at 5am. For about US26? Totally fair.

ACCOMODATION: We greeted by the friendly manager. Her assistant happily carried our two heavy bags upstairs to the next floor. The room was a very neat and clean 3* room. Spacious. Bed was comfortable. It was quiet, except, as some others have mentioned, for local roosters. My wife loved the sound of the roosters. although on the second night we didn't even notice them. Ahitea Lodge has a clean swimming pool, which my wife enjoyed, while I took another walk into town. There are several large dining tables for the lovely continental breakfast of cereals, fruits, juice, bread. All fruits are covered to protect from flies. Free WIFI is included with a request not to abuse the privilege (no downloads, movies, etc)

LOCATION: was a comfortable, if warm, walk into the town centre. A few minutes walk to a local convenience store. There is a chinese restaurant a few minutes down the road, and Le Roulette food trucks in the neighborhood, as well as in Papeete centre. In addition many neighbourhood homes open the front verandah/carport of their homes for public meals in the evening.

RATING: Up to this, we have a nice, clean and well run 3*. A really basic compact 3* that meets expectations is worth 3 points. Ahitea Lodge was very good, spacious & comfortable, as mentioned, so we give it 4*. However, anyone who reads our reviews would know to get 5 points, any hotel has to have something perhaps unexpected, really special or extra about it. In this case, there were 4 special items. We didn't ask for these, they were not expected, perhaps we got them because we (or they) are wonderful special people. Who knows. 1) We asked them if they were offering dinner on the Friday night. They weren't but suggested we might like to share their family meal with them; 2) We thought we would go into the centre for dinner from the Roulette trucks. They drove us and helped us to select what we wanted and drove us back with our take-out; 3) When we asked if there was anywhere nearby to get some wine, they gave us a bottle of their own wine; 4) when we checked out to go to our cruise, although they publish a fee for transport to the port, they drove us without charge. For your experience, perhaps 4 points, for our experience 5 points.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank wazik-the-brave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016

A great place to stay if you are waiting for a cruise or freighter. Really the only budget option in downtown Papeete. The family that runs it is very nice they even gave me some of their dinner and a beer when I got in late on the night I arrived. The hotel is basic. the Rooms are clean and spacious. 2 fans made for a good tolerable sleeping temperature. and there was an extra couch in the room for more than 2 people. Bathroom is shared but clean and there are enough bathrooms on site that there was never a wait.

Breakfast is included and is quite good: fresh fruit, yoghurt, coffee, juice, bread and butter etc. and the pool looked nice, though I didn't go in as it was raining. Common areas were clean and the wifi was as good as can be expected in PF maybe 1-2mb per second.

Walking distance to downtown, the central market, ferry and cruise ship terminal and bus station. If you want to avoid the cost of a cab to the airport usually around $20USD the bus is roughly $1.75USD and runs every 30 mins and goes all the way around the island including to the airport, but it can be hit or miss late night and on the weekends.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank huthbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean but very basic with the restroom down the hall. It is walking distance to the main shopping area. The neighborhood seemed safe for walking around during the day but I was weary of going out after dark. I opted to pay and have dinner at the lodge. It was family style with most of the guests around the same table alternating conversation between English and French. It was a lovely evening that I'll remember for a long time.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We spent one night in Tahiti on our way to Bora Bora and I wanted someplace cheap that was close enough to walk to town. We found it. The owner and staff were friendly, the breakfast European style with great French bread, Coffee, and home made yoghurt and cheeses. There was no air conditioning but the fans worked well. Bathroom was down the hall. It took about 15 minutes to walk to town. They also served about 10 guests dinner of fresh Tuna, Eggplant, Salad, rice and wonderful bread. They also had a swimming pool. Most people staying there were French and their English was limited.

Room Tip: Upstairs room had a balcony and was big enough for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bacurtis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Simple , clean accommodation with helpful owner but located 20 minutes walk from town in a poor area. Not nice to walk back at night as pedestrian access along road not easy with broken surfaces and rubbish tips and stray dogs always along the way , also poor lighting.
We stayed for 2 nights en route to LA but Papeete is not particularly attractive and looks desperately in need of investment with lots of unfinished roadworks and houses and empty shops. Nicest place is by boats and there is a night food market there. Taxis are expensive and only cheap food we found was in the market.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have mobility problems as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Family-run hotel. Large room, good storage (wardobes etc), en-suite. Swimming pool of reasonable size. Continental breakfast (but no croissants!). Water cooler, tea & coffee always available. Dinner is available (if booked earlier in the day), which means eating with the family. A daughter of the family, Vee-anna, (she does not live on the premises but comes at least once a day) is knowledgeable and very helpful in suggesting and organising tours etc. She speaks good English.
Location: about 10 minutes walk from the port and the Moorea ferry. About 10-15 mins from the "Tracks" where low-cost dining is available. Area is safe, if not well-lit or attractive, at night.
NB Tahiti is expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Antony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Was booked when we were looking for space at beginning of trip. Managed last night there because Aranui sailed that morning, so they had rooms. Vaiana, the owner, has been in the travel agency business for a good while. They have different types of rooms, some with ac, some not, some rooms for lots of folks, etc. We needed ac and it was just fine. Papeete has grown, it is noisy and dusty. Ahitea is at the end of a little dead end street. If you are not looking for cookie cutter hotels, but rather a local experience, this is the place. Not a 5 star hotel, but a darned good guest house. Great pool too. Free wifi, friendly public space. We had to leave at 4am, so alas, no breakfast!

Room Tip: Wifi works best in public space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gypsy32320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
1.2 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
301 reviews
9.5 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
2 km away
Fare Suisse Tahiti
Fare Suisse Tahiti
#1 of 7 in Papeete
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Punatea Village
Punatea Village
#5 of 7 in Papeete
30 reviews
0.1 km away
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
#2 of 7 in Papeete
120 reviews
0.8 km away
Mahana Lodge Hostel & Bacpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ahitea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ahitea Lodge

Address: Avenue Vaitaaoa, Papeete 5597, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range: $111 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension de famille comportant 12 chambres, et situe au coeur de la ville de Papeete, notre pension vous permettra grace a sa localisation de decouvrir la ville avec sa culture, ses habitants, son esprit et ses roulottes. Dans un esprit familial et de detente, vous apprecierez le cadre agreable et verdoyant de notre pension dans laquelle vos vacances vous permettrons de garder un merveilleux souvenir de Polynesie. Situe tout proche de la gare routiere et du port de Tahiti, vous aurez la possibilite de pouvoir decouvrir d'autres lieux de l'ile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Ahitea Lodge Tahiti/Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing