We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
33
45
28
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
45
28
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great pool shared balcony swimming pool homemade jams felt safe between flights basic room min walk stayed one night cruise ship pension transport pf downtown market hosts airport
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 116 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2017

We 4 had an unusual request; with about 10 hours on Tahiti between arrival plane from Raiatea and departure to U.S.A. we wanted to explore Papeete area and then have a place to shower and change before getting on the plane. We booked one double room online and then emailed the Lodge to be sure . Got a very fast response saying yes, and offering to store our luggage while we explored. When we arrived early in the morning, 3 of our 4 were ill. They were just starting to clean the rooms from the prior night. The owner suggested a good, quiet museum not far away where we could enjoy a couple of hours (it was hot and we were already sunburned so didn't want to lounge at the nice pool). When we returned she gave us a large triple room in which to sleep before showering. We never asked for any of those nice extra touches; she just saw what we needed and provided it. Lodge is basic, but clean. We didn't try the restaurant, but would have if we'd been feeling better. Folks were very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marshmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2016

With two cruise ships in town, most places were fully booked. As we did not want to spend $250 at the Le Meridian and did not like the Airport Motel at $142, the tourist information office was very helpful to finally find us the Ahitea Lodge for a mere $100.
Though located five blocks from downtown, being at the end of a cul-de-sac, Ahitea was just ideal. Owner Vaiana and her assistant Ben were extremely friendly and helpful, making our stay comfortable and pleasant. If and when we''ll ever come back to Papeete, we'll certainly will stay here again!
Though listed as a two-star by Booking.com for the five-star crowd, for us Ahitea certainly deserves a five-star! Value, quiet location, friendly atmosphere and a basic but very tasty breakfast included. And coffee whenever you need it; what else can I say?

Room Tip: Being located at the end of a cul-de-sac, all rooms upstairs and downstairs are quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

The place is very simple, undecorated and without major facilities. The breakfast is frugal. As only used for overnight, because the other day we went to Moorea, was ok- but would not recommend to anyone who will stay longer in Papeete

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

The draw for me was the swimming pool. Its was lovely. Clean, but small room with bathroom. Air con was a blessing, and handy to an outdoor terrace (room 9 I think). Free Wifi was great. Access to lounge area with coffee. Really helpfull staff who offered to provide a meal. Quiet surburban cul de sac. Fenced - felt safe. Only downside is it is quite a hike from middle of town and I'm glad I didn't attempt to walk it. Taxi fare of 1400CFX I felt was a bit steep, but the pool is the drawcard!! Easy transfer to airport arranged by the Lodge. Easy, safe, comfortable place. Was very quiet when I was there. One night stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with aircon if you can. It's noisy but helps with the heat.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank b0nnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic time here, Vaiana and her family run a friendly and helpful service. This is not a hotel but a pension or B and B as we call them here. It was much nicer than staying at a hotel and handy to our Friends who also live in Farepiti. We're sorry they only had room for us for 3 nights as we would have liked to have stayed longer. Very handy to down town, no more than 500 metres.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Penneycameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews