We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful, beautiful hotel”
Review of Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Hotel
Ranked #3 of 118 Tirana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Beautiful, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is in the center of Tirana. Judging from the conditions of the city surrounding it, it is obvious that this is one of best hotels in Albania. Every thing is very modern. The mattress felt like a Tempurdepic; I slept very comfortably on it. The shower doors are all glass and the shower head is beautiful. The 15th floor is where the restaurant is located: there are floor to ceiling windows which provide a panoramic view of Tirana and the mountains which surround it. The staff were professional and attended to my every need. There is a mini sauna and nice petite gym. All and all, one of the best things about my trip!

Room Tip: Any room is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    58
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
20
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

heart of tirana, from the taxi driver to reception very good. rooms are 5 star. the guide and taxi driver mrvgazman is kind and informative. hotel has roof yop restaurant and bar, where you get glimpse of the city. taxis availabke round the clock. next to the embassies.

Room Tip: just ask at reception. roadside is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alagiamanavaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Already visiting the area in neighbouring Kosovo, we decided to drive to Tirana for the weekend. After a four hour drive through green mountains, the four of us arrived in town in the late afternoon and had not made reservations! Directed by locals to the Sky Hotel (next to the Swiss Embassy and near the quarter of government buildings), we walked in and got a pretty good deal: 100 euros/night for a luxury suite for two persons, breakfast, parking, internet included. (Regular price is apparently 300 euros/night)
We had considered The Prince hotel where you can get a room for two for 50 euros/night, but heard it was a bit out of town.
Our room was on the 15th floor, the top floor. We faced the back and the view the next morning was lovely, but there is a restaurant on the 16th floor that was having a dance party. It didn't seem to last all that long and we were so tired that we fell asleep despite the noise, but I would suggest that you keep this in mind. Our friends had a suite on the 1st floor and enjoyed that just fine.
The bathroom is clean and modern, all glass and chrome, with a rain shower shower head and bidet. There were robes, soap, shampoo and besides the usual shoe cleaning sponge and shower caps, there were spare tooth brushes with toothpaste, and plastic razors.
The AC was very efficient and ran on a digital thermostat. There was a safe in the closet.
The bar fridge was modestly stocked but the prices were really good to our North American minds. A 500 mL bottle of water was only 70 euro cents, although it is 15 euro cents from any corner store on the street.
Breakfast the next morning was on the 16th floor and included a good selection of pancakes, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses and meats, juice and coffee.
Parking is underground and and is quite secure. The elevator to the garage is key-controlled and only hotel staff have the key. Plus there are cameras in the elevator and the garage.
There is a spa/exercise area but we didn't have time to check it out. There is also a gift shop that has a good selection of not only trinkets, but embroidered traditional clothing, copper works, tea sets and statues and busts of the local famed Skenerboi.
There are many, many cafés and restaurants within walking distance, as well as pizza and burger joints. The hotel is right next to an "AFC", and yes, that stands for Albanian Fried Chicken....
Tirana was surprisingly more attractive as a tourist destination than I expected. It's not a pretty town but it has interest, including traces of the communist era. Beautification is on the municipal agenda, although the Lanë river is no more than a canal, the parks are not only neat and surprisingly garbage-free, and they are well-used by locals. There are even plans for a tram system. A warning though: traffic lights are considered merely a suggestion by most drivers despite the presence of at least 2 traffic cops at each intersection, and they say that the first thing an Albanian does when he looks at buying a car, is tries the horn...

Room Tip: Be aware that the 16th floor is the dining room but doubles as a party/bar/lounge. If your room is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leiladancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

In downtown, perfect location for sightseeing.
Extremely friendly staff, luxury rooms with all you need.
The crème de la crème is the breakfast. On the last floor there is a panorama restaurant with the best possible view of Tirana.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

If there was a 4.5 rating option I would have chosen it, however I'm rounding up this time even though I am usually more conservative. My partner and I stayed here for two nights and would 100% recommend it to anyone staying in Tirana. We went into a few of the top hotels in Tirana to speak to travel agents and car hire places, and although the Sky Hotel isn't flashy like the Sheraton etc, we thought the feel of the place was better. Plus the Sky Hotel's restaurant has a magnificent view.

The hotel is extremely handy to everything in the city centre and is right next to the trendy restaurant, bar and boutique precinct.

We arrived at the hotel really early, and were happily acocmmodated. When I asked the woman at reception for a place to eat breakfast, she was surprised and said that we should eat at the hotel restaurant. This was even though we hadn't stayed the night before so would be getting breakfast for free.

We loved the restaurant. Aside from the view the waiters went out of their way to make us happy. One night we were given a separate part of the restaurant to ourselves, and one the waiters did his best to make sure that I had the tastiest cocktails. The food was excellent.

The rooms are better than they look on the web. They are spacious and had excellent king size beds.

There were only two negatives, both minor:
- The first room we had was ridiculously hot. We found out the the airconditioning could only be used to heat the room, not cool it. This was same throughout the hotel. At some point they switch all of the airconditioning over so that the units can only cool, not heat. The woman on reception was really helpful and gave us a choice of rooms to move to instead.
- Some of the reception staff aren't very professional. One girl and one guy in particular spent hours playing around with each other while we were there. My partner and I both noticed this as we spent a long time using the computer with the free internet is in the lobby. These two reception staff were not overly helpful. Other staff were great though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Four of us stayed one night in Family Suite; was normally 250 euros but we haggled down to 200 euros with no problem. Great beds, beautiful bathroom. Breakfast included in top floor panoramic restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southieguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I spent one night at the Sky Hotel in October 2010. We were four adults, so we rented the 2 bedroom unit, which was very spacious and comfortable. The staff downstairs was extremely helpful and they all spoke perfectly clear English. We asked for laundry service and got it immediately. We asked for directions, recommendations, advice, and all our questions were answered enthusiastically. The hotel occupies the lower 2 or 3 floors of a tall building, so street noise is a minor issue at night. The restaurant is on the top of the building and the view is amazing. Breakfast was free and the buffet was more generous than I had expected. I would love to come back to this hotel and recommend it highly for anyone looking for a hip convenient place to stay in Tirana.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tirana hotels
0.6 km away
The Plaza Tirana
The Plaza Tirana
#1 of 92 in Tirana
133 reviews
0.6 km away
Tirana International Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 km away
Theranda Hotel
Theranda Hotel
#12 of 92 in Tirana
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#20 of 92 in Tirana
129 reviews
0.5 km away
Rogner Hotel Tirana
Rogner Hotel Tirana
#3 of 92 in Tirana
498 reviews
1.1 km away
Dinasty Hotel
Dinasty Hotel
#2 of 92 in Tirana
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel

Property: Sky Hotel
Address: Rruga Deshmoret e 4 Shkurtit, No.5 / 1, Tirana 1019, Albania
Region: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Hotel is located in centre of Tirana and is just a few minutes away from any of the major government institutions of Albania. Our hotel offers the most convenient location and excellent customer service. Our staff is dedicated to making your stay a memorable experience by providing excellent service.The Sky Hotel Bar is located on the ground floor of the hotel. At the bar our guests will also be able to access wireless internet 24/7. Sky hotel is surrounded by the best cafeterias and night clubs in the city, so leisure is literally a minute walk from your hotel room. If you need further help for any additional service you may use our concierge facility at any time. Mirësevini në Sky Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing