We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly pleased” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orbita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Orbita
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Minsk
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasantly pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

What constitutes a luxury hotel in Minsk is comparable to lower- to mid-type American hotels, but we were grateful for the Orbita. It's clean and pleasant enough.

Be forewarned: the beds are hard, and the sheer curtains let in all light, which makes sleeping more difficult. We couldn't have slept without "chemical enhancement" (sleeping aids such as anti-histamine). Our friends had rooms on the east-facing street side, and the morning sun is a brutal wake-up force. Our room faced the back of the hotel, which was quieter, but the afternoon sun was so strong my husband had to put on his brimmed hat in order to sit at the desk and use his computer! After several nights we pulled a blanket from the duvet cover and hung it in the window to block out the light.

Also be warned that the rooms do not have a clock or a hair dryer. We were, however, surprised and delighted by the excellent strength of the water pressure in the shower.

And be warned that you have to lock yourself in your room when you’re in it. I forgot one time, and was quite surprised when a drunk hotel guest (or visitor?) opened our door by mistake one night. I shudder to think what might else have happened besides a look of surprise on both our faces.

The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant offered fried eggs and boiled eggs in addition to an assortment of eastern European fare. If you use artificial sweetener, bring your own. We had dinner in that restaurant one night and were pleased by the portion sizes and quality of the food. (Interestingly, we were the only patrons.) We ate in the pizzeria several times and were grateful that they had an English dinner menu available (but not lunch). The coffee bar is very good also.

As you go out the hotel door, there is a market to your right which is helpful for things like bottled water, which we bought in 5-liter bottles. (Even the locals don't drink the tap water.) And tissue (Kleenex), which the hotel rooms did not have. We came prepared to make our own coffee in the mornings since in-room coffee makers are non-existent, and were glad to buy large mugs at that market.

Behind the hotel is a supermarket and many flea-market type stalls. It's an interesting stroll if you have the time.

There are steps EVERYWHERE. In the hotel, outside the hotel, downtown. I usually use a scooter or wheelchair when traveling due to a mobility problem, but either would have been useless in Minsk. I saw a number of people on canes, but only one wheelchair and that was in the hotel the morning we left. I wondered how the man was going to get to the restaurant or even up the two steps to the pizzeria. (But then, this is really not out of the ordinary. Even at the Minsk airport, near stairs there are signs with the wheelchair logo that say "with assistance," and two men come to carry wheelchairs and their occupants up and down stairs.)

There is fast wi-fi in the lobby; you buy cards for an hour at a time for about 60 cents. Cheap and good! Only one of the couches had a power outlet close enough to plug into.

My husband's previous experiences with Minsk hotels included aggressive, unwanted prostitutes banging on his door and calling rooms in the middle of the night ("Massage? Sex?"). So he remarked several times on the refreshing difference and classiness of the Orbita. The no-nonsense business-suited security guards always in the lobby, did not allow prostitutes to openly work the hotel.

We were pleased and hope to return to the Orbita.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suebee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    77
    51
    17
    9
See reviews for
30
38
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

This hotel is, in my opinion, the best choice in Minsk, on the quality/prices side.
It has quite good rooms, especially on high floors; a little bit noisy on the Prospekt Pushkina side.
The metro station is directly in front of the hotel,so you can reach the downtown in a few minutes.

The minus is the restaurant, poor quality and rude staff.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The restaurant staff
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank il_pif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2007

The wife and I where on a trafalger tour that stayed for one night at the Orbita. When we arrived we where given accomodation that was there business class standard. According to the information leaflets at the front desk. this standard had air conditioning and a mini fridge. The room in fact had two single beds, no fridge, no air conditioning, fans or cooling of any sort. The mattreses sat inside of a wooden frame that pushed into the back of your legs if you sat on the bed. The only floor in the hotel with air conditioning is the top 14th floor. I was lucky enough to be able to upgrade for US$115.00 to one of the rooms on the 14th floor. I quearied the false accomodation information with the front desk. The answer that the girls gave me was. We know the advertising is wrong but managment dosen't see fit to change it. The next morning we sat down to a fixed breakfast of two fried eggs and two small pork sausages. Not one person in our group touched the sausages as they wher still thawing and when the wife complained that the eggs where cold. She was promptly told by a large russian woman ( not cold you eat) We also noted this with the front counter. All the girls at the counter could do was shrug there sholders and agree that they know that they have a problem with the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jimshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
481 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2007

Was in Minsk in June 2005 with my wife for a football match (Belarus-Scotland), and the travel agent who I had to order my visa from booked us into this hotel!

Little bit way from city center, but is only something like 3 stops on the metro (with the station right out the front door!).

Nice Western-Style clean rooms (though friends one floor up didn't even have carpets), but the staff could be a little bit rude (wife got questioned when we came home by doormen!!)

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2006

This hotel is upmarket by Eastern European standards. I had a 'business single' on the 10th floor and it was nicely furnished. The hotel is easy to find, being outside the Pushkinska Metro station. The road junction outside is quite noisy - light sleepers would do well to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was fine, with a selection of hot and cold items. It offered good value for money, and I would certainly stay there again. Minsk itself was much better than I was expecting - very clean and with plenty of greenery. Transport is very cheap, as are food and drink.

Helpful?
7 Thank JCTkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2006

I was visiting Minsk for business and had to take a cab one night. The dang thing broke right in front of this hotel (ORBITA) and I assumed it would be OK to walk in and ask them to call a cab for me. Well, my assumption was wrong and they nearly escorted me out the door.

I think this hotel is just not ready for a foreign traveller.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank shourick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

we stayed for three days in febuary .the staff were friendly and helpful .the rooms although a bit tired were ok.the breakfast is in the nightclub and is perfectly ok.the metro station is straight outside the hotel and gets you to the centre in minuites.try the supermarket bar/cafe nextdoor for some local colour.if you are looking for a charecterles chain type hotel this is not for you but we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taylosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minsk hotels
0.8 km away
BonHotel
BonHotel
#2 of 45 in Minsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Belarus
Hotel Belarus
#5 of 45 in Minsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#20 of 45 in Minsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Slavyanskaya Hotel
Slavyanskaya Hotel
#7 of 45 in Minsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton Minsk City Centre
2.9 km away
Renaissance Minsk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orbita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orbita

Property: Hotel Orbita
Address: Pushkina 39, Minsk 220092, Belarus
Region: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Minsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orbita 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Orbita" Hotel" is a modern hotel of the Republic of Belarus with comfortable rooms and a wide range of services which is justly considered to be one of the best hotels of Minsk. The hotel is situated in the western part of Minsk near the underground station "Pushkinskaya", close to National exhibition center "BelExpo". The hotel offers you 251 rooms of different types that will give you an opportunity to make a choice according to your wishes and mood. In the evening you will be able to have a rest after a busy day in your suite. In a pleasantly relaxing atmosphere of a cozy and capacious restaurant "Orbita" and pizzeria you can order working lunch as well as perfect dishes of national and European cuisine which will appeal even to the most refined gourmet. For carrying out business meetings, conferences, master classes, negotiations and other similar business events in the hotel there are a conference hall, a negotiation room, a banqueting room. After a working day you can feel refreshment of mind and body in the hotel's sauna. The prices of Hotel "Orbita" are accessible to the public. "Orbita" Hotel has a unique style combined with both elegant simplicity and the fashionable present. The interior of the rooms combine cheerfulness, comfort and freshness of design, forming positive mood creating appropriate conditions for rest and work. Annually tens of thousands of guests from more than 80 countries of the world visit our hotel. People from C.I.S., The USA, Canada, Southern Africa, Australia and a number of European and Oriental countries stayed in our hotel. A large number of guests choose "Orbita" Hotel among all hotels of Minsk because we provide with calm sleep, continental breakfast as well as clean and cosy rooms. "The best hotel of Minsk!", "Thank you for the hospitality!", "Thanks for your kind treatment and care!" - These are the responses given by our guests. Our visitors' well-being is the point of honour of the qualified and obliging personnel. Therefore kindness, outgoingness and responsibility are essential components of our work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Orbita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbita Hotel Minsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing