We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a nice hostel, we stayed in a spacious 6 bed dorm, it was noisy at night since there is a bar in front and it was a bit hot at night since there is no AC. The whole hostel was VERY clean, the staff was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was nice. There is also a kitchen that can be used. We strongly recommend the tour that the owners offer only to the guests, the one that goes to the tunnel museum. This is such an interesting tour given by the generous owner who lived the war. He is such an interesting person and shows around some spots otherwise difficult to see alone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    24
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I don't need to say much here, as I will only be repeating the positives from other reviewers below. I hadn't researched accommodation for Sarajevo at all and this was the first one I walked into - what luck! For me, the hosts at Residence were the best thing about the place - friendly, welcoming, attentive and very informative. I immediately felt at home here. I'm not a serial hosteler, but I think this is what all hostels and guest houses should be like. I also recommend taking the Tunnel tour with them too. Very insightful, and educational. Thank you Residence Rooms!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank railtripper333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed for a couple of days in this very central, clean and comfortable hostel. The owners were very nice and helpful; they offer a tour as well that I can recommend to everyone interested in the history of Sarajevo!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clpief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Etienne du Gres, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here couple of days ago and I have to say that we are really happy with this hostel. It is not classical backpacker''s place (loud and dirty), but that is exactly what we liked. Very clean and comfortable, perfectly located in the heart of the city, this place definately is the place to be in Sarajevo. The best part of this hostel is the family that is running the place, so kind and hospitable people, nothing is too hard for them. Great advices and recommendations about the city, which is so alive and hospitable as well. Once we come back to Balkans Residence Room will be our choice in Sarajevo again, for sure

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelfr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

It is hard not to be impressed by how this hostel looks. The rooms are large and clean and the hostel is clearly well maintained. The hostel looks very grand as well, not surprising considering how it used to be the home of a famous Bosnian writer and another Spanish ambassador, as we were later told.

The hostel is five minutes from the tram stop and has rather good location in the city centre. It's located next to a shop selling good and affordable crepes, fashion label Mango as well as a super-market, and was not more than 10 minutes from the historic center of the town. Moreover, the showers are fantastic, there is free Wifi, free breakfast and they were more than willing to let us sit around in the common room for a couple of hours before we departed in the evening.

We only had two complaints here. Firstly, despite paying for our rooms upfront, we were told to give a deposit of €20 for our keys. I'm not sure if this is a common policy as another guest we met did not have to give any deposit at all as she had paid upfront.

Secondly, we were told that each laundry load would cost €7.50, and proceeded to pass the lady at the hostel two pairs of jeans, one sweater, two towels and a couple of shirts. When our clothes came back, we were told that what we had given her amounted to two laundry-loads worth of clothes and that the total cost would be €15! This is ridiculously expensive and had she informed us before and not after proceeding with the laundry, we would have explored other alternatives. For anyone keen on doing laundry at Residence Rooms, do take note that each €7.50 "load" is only equal to 2kg of dry clothes!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZQSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Very central location. For 40 euros p/n we stayed in huge private room upstairs with large bathroom and well equiped kitchen. All very clean. Downstairs also had another good kitchen, lounge area and dorms. Breakfast was included and was basic but ok. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Could hear the music from the pub/club accross the street - but you get that when it's central and ear plugs sorted that out. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Staff at this hostel were immediately welcoming and very knowledgeable about the local area. Residence Rooms feels more like a cheap hotel than a hostel, due to the high standards of cleanliness, the excellent breakfast provided and the comfortable furnishings. Only problem we encountered was on checkout - we had to leave early for a 7am train and there was nobody at the (24hour) reception to return our keys to in order to retrieve our deposit - we were not the only ones to confront this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zproud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
#3 of 71 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#4 of 71 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#13 of 71 in Sarajevo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
10.0 km away
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
#17 of 71 in Sarajevo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 km away
Travellers Home Hostel
Travellers Home Hostel
#4 of 140 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Rooms

Property: Residence Rooms
Address: Saliha Hadzihuseinovica Muvekita 1, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Residence Rooms is ideally located in the most historical and central area of Sarajevo, (Baščaršija), within a walking distance to all major attractions, and interesting spots of Sarajevo, with a super transport network at your door.In a 105 year old building, we invite our fellow travellers to relax in our music lounge, enjoy a film in the TV/DVD room, or read our books and surf our fast internet.We appreciate the importance of clean facilities, therefore we'll be cleaning all day long, making sure everything is spotless.Our facilities include 5 bathrooms with 5 hot showers 24 hours a day. Dinning room with TV/DVD, Music lounge, reading lounge, piano and free use kitchen.Hostel Residence Rooms is designed in order to provide you the best stay in one of the most beautiful cities of Balkan. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere for young travellers, hopefully making ayou feel at Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Rooms Sarajevo, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing