We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hostel Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canape Connection Guest House
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I've been in a lot of hostels in Europe and I can say Canapè is one of the best place to stay travelling.
It's clean, confortable, with a particolar atmosphere: wall stickers, hot colours, bunk beds or confortable beds on the floor, two showers and two bathrooms, a nice courtyard where is great have breakfast (they are really good to prepare it) or stay speaking with the people. Everything is relaxed and friendly.
The guys are really friendly and do 24/24 h service, always ready to give you advices and answer your questions.
It could look like an advertising but it's my real opinion.
I've been in Sofia two times with them and always was like be at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamberto87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

I am originally from Bulgaria but spent 10 years in the U.S. /studying and working/. I am now back in Bulgaria and travel to Sofia regularly to catch up with friends and to go to an occasional concert. I always stay at Canape because of its unique vibe and friendly atmosphere. The founders are two great girls who always go the extra mile to make the guests feel comfortable and welcome. For example, they sometimes organize dinners with home-cooked food, bake the best cookies ever, put together movie nights as well as organize performances by local artists at the hostel /dancers, singers, actors, etc./. There's great energy at all times!!!
There are tons of foreigners from around the world so you can always hook up with others to explore the city. Lot's of distractions in Sofia - great clubs, bars, live music, art scene, etc.
The hostel also puts together guided tours to the main sights the city has to offer.
The rooms are very clean, you can always ask for stuff if you forgot it /in my case a towel; every single time.../. They even offer a light breakfast which is awesome...
The hostel very centrally located and you can easily walk anywhere. No doubt, CANAPE is the best hostel in Sofia!!!

A>

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I've been to many hostels, and I can say Canape Connection is one of the best, if not the best, hostels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are very comfortable and little touches such as the artwork on the walls make the place feel more like a home away from home than a hostel. The staff are some of the best around and really go out of there way to make your stay the best possible- I had my birthday while I was staying at Canape and one of the staff made me a t-shirt with "I <3 Sofia" on it and another one brought me a piece of cake!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have travelled to Sofia a number of times and after staying in a few other hostels I can say that Canape Connection is my favorite. It is not a huge party hostel so if that's what your'e looking for, look somewhere else. Instead it's just a chill hostel, with a chill vibe, and a chill staff who are some of the most helpful and best around. I stayed in the private room in the basement and it had some really cool artistic flair to it. I would recommend CC to any traveler that wants to mellow out and feel like they are at a home, not a hotel with more beds when they are traveling. I will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: The privates in the basement are pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Canape Connection is a pretty hostel with a nice communal area in the garden and a chilled out atmosphere. Staff is great. Nice for a chat and always ready to give you some directions/recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Canape Hostel was a quiet respit from some other hostels I stayed in. Located in a quiet neighborhood in a small cozy house it was a great choice for me. The beds were big and comfortable and the house a delightful little touches like a pretty mirror in the room and all the beds had curtains around them for privacy. The staff was very professional and helpful and new every guest staying on the premises. Unfortunately I can’t give them a rave review because although I had made reservations more than a month in advance at the last minute they had me move to another hostel for 2 nights. The other hostel was close but was more for kids partying their was across Europe than for me who chose this hostel for its good reviews and quietness. They moved me out because a group was coming, and although it may have been partially for my own comfort that they moved me out, I was frustated because I made reservations and felt they should have honored them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nataliegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.2 km away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#9 of 133 in Sofia
713 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel Sofia
Grand Hotel Sofia
#4 of 133 in Sofia
978 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Niky
Hotel Niky
#17 of 133 in Sofia
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Les Fleurs Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.7 km away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#5 of 133 in Sofia
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canape Connection Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canape Connection Guest House

Address: 12 A William Gladstone Str., Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sofia
Price Range: $42 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early 2016 Canape Connection transformed from a hostel into a guest house - the best alternative for the travelers who travel а lot but hide from the craziness of the youth hostels and prefer to share the moments with the beloved one/s. Retrospectively, the three of us - Nadia, Nadia and Ivo - sharing the same passion for traveling, photography and design, started a hostel in 2009. Back then we created the hostel we always wished to stay at when traveling. Over the years we gathered life and professional experience and felt the natural urge for a change. The hostel has always been a reflection of ourselves and now, as we evolved, the new concept of our place matches our new path. Welcome to our freshly renovated house with self designed hand-made beds. We now offer private rooms suitable for solo travelers or couples, families and friends. We believe that you, as our guest, will experience and enjoy: - Uniqueness and personal touch in the room design. - Solid wide wooden beds with queen- or king-size mattresses. - Quite backyard for recreation or socializing. - Central location in a vivid neighborhood, well connected to public transport, close to landmarks and artistic spots. - Quality and healthy cuisine in the nearby traditional, bio-organic, vegetarian or ayurvedic restaurants or tea houses. - Fast and reliable WiFi connection. - Tips, suggestions and assistance with everything you need during your stay. You arrive as a guest but you definitely leave as a friend! Welcome to Canape Connection Guest House! Yours, Nadia, Ivo & Nadia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canape Connection Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing