We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,538)
Filter reviews
1,538 results
Traveller rating
842
531
124
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
531
124
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge seasons restaurant business trip national palace of culture excellent hotel hotel bar steam room an upgrade indoor pool rooms are nice city centre shopping mall modern hotel breakfast was excellent vitosha street min walk metro station
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 1,538 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for a bachelor part. Amazing plays and by paying a small premium u r upgraded to VIP which means free drinks at the VIP LOUNGE
totaly recommended. Breakfast selection quite rich and tasty. Rooms were spotless clean and I loved the seperate shower option in the bathrooms.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Johndalord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It is great to hear that we were able to contribute to a wonderful Sofia experience, with the Executive Floor upgrade, room ambiance and the rich breakfast selection. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof on your next trip to the Bulgarian capital!

Kind regards,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

I spent two nights in the hotel and the staff and the room were really excellent - very much the Hilton Standard. The incredible thing was the price. Business or pleasure this is certainly a value for money capital city. Set in what I would call an island of tranquility (this means a nice park) but within nice walking distance of the shopping area and the old city. My visit in April meant that the view from the room still included the snow capped mountains just over an hour away. I ate in the hotel and the food was really good and the service even better. Yes, expensive in comparison with the local restaurants but still fabulous value fro money by hotel standards. I predict that Sofia will be the next European "in City".

Room Tip: They are all good - minimum noise, all have some sort of view.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! It is great to hear that you had a brilliant hotel experience at Hilton Sofia and remained very happy with the value for money received. We hope that Sofia will be the next European “in City”, as you say, and will be looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof, soon!

Kind regards,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Had three days off and decided to have a solo break. Destinations are shrinking as far as i am concerned and pointing the finger on the globe i picked Sofia.

Hotel choice wasn't great and to avoid serious troubles i chose Hilton.

Location

Not in central sofia and on a major traffic artery which makes taxis happy at lights. a pedestrian bridge gives direct access to centre but honestly...what centre??

Outside appearance

Extremely modern and contemporary.

Easiness of reaching

I took a taxi from the airport and it was no longer than 20'. i was scammed by a driver that took me €50 for a €25 fare. my bad, i should have been more careful.

Check-in

Quick, being a HH i think helped. was given room 930 on top floor, the 9th. the executive floor.

Staff

Extremely nice and polite. english is spoken but do not expect long conversations.

Room

I do not usually stay at hiltons therefore not really able to compare. my room was nice and, there was some musty smell that i that was cigarettes but an outside sign said no smoking so not sure what it was.

at night time i realised i could not sleep due to a very high noise coming from the ceiling. an engineer came (it was midnight) and told me it was a water pump and there was nothing we could do. morning after i asked to be moved and i was, to room 903. noise was still present but not as high. great little room, nothing to complaint. water was given every day, two bottles i think.

WIFI

It was ok, i haven't experienced any shortage or gaps. it was free.

Executive lounge

My room tier gave access to an executive lounge on the first floor where i was told i could have taken all my breakfasts and snacks during certain hours of the day. it was apart from the weekend where all breakfasts are served into main dining area due to less work. this is not nice and should be revised. a perk is perk, always. 7 days a week.

SPA

had a massage and it was at €35, much cheaper than london. masseuse did not speak a word of english which did not help afterwards, when i asked her if she found anything wrong with my back.

i was asked to go sign a chit at the reception in my bathrobes which wasn't classy at all. i was explained it is because spa is outsourced and they have no access to clients. sort of a lame excuse, it would be very easy to ask clients to sign and then take the chit to the reception.

i feel there is some sort of financial control going on there, maybe they had bad experiences in the past with clients paying the spa directly.

Bar

There is a ground floor bar that serves meals using same menu as the restaurant. had lunch there and it was very good and nicely presented. staff very courteous.

Seasons restaurant

Went there three times, at dinner. Had good food and quiet. Nothing fancy but some great soups that i strongly recommend. one evening i asked for a strawberry salad as a dessert. young waitress went a bit mad, she told me she wouldn't know how to "MARKET IT"!!?? clearly she didn't know how to explain it. i told her it was bizarre a place like the hilton could not provide a client with such a basic dessert. a collegue came by and after few minutes i had my salad.

Check-out

No problems there. i paid the night before to avoid queues. at check-in i was told a shuttle could have taken me back to airport. at check-out i was told niet. shuttle only serves airlines crew...

Price

Sofia is a cheap city, in all senses i fear. hotel was €150pn.

Final considerations:

i personally will not go back. i found that the Sofia Balkan Hotel is cheaper and truly stunning. i would go there.

Room Tip: ASk for room 903, avoid 930. and check for noises coming from the ceiling.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for bringing up your Hilton Sofia experience to our attention and for outlining all aspects of your stay. Your comments are highly appreciated, we have evaluated everything you have shared with us and it will stimulate us to keep up our performance!

Best wishes,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Was booked there on business and really wanted to stay in a local hotel, but this was a great choice. Location is close to everything but in a quiet location in/near a park. A few minutes walk from the large pedestrian shopping area. The included breakfast was phenomenal- lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and try the cheese pie!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank mainegirl759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is marvelous to hear that you appreciated the convenient hotel location and the variety of our breakfast buffet and we will be looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back under our roof, on your next business or leisure trip to Sofia!

Kind regards,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is okay in letting me check in before the official check in time. The rooms are typical of all the Hilton hotels with the required room amenities. The amenities are also okay and relatively well maintained with polite and helpful staff.

However, the fact that you do not get complimentary water and the fact that if you are not a Hilton Honors member, you need to pay almost €10 a day to have wifi access is simply ludicrous and can be grating especially in this time and age. To add insult to injury, you get kicked out of wifi pretty often. I know that they provide these 'incentives' in order to sign up for Hilton honors as well as to compete with hotel consolidators. But the fact that wifi is ineffective can be very off-putting. Another issue would be that the staff are not very well aware of the restaurants around the area. This would be a little strange as guests will most likely be interested in eating in restaurants nearby but not having staff familiar with these eating places will be most strange.

Lastly, was only informed that the hotel water tank was being cleaned only in the morning and that theater will be computed. I think that if you are flushing the water tank, complimentary drinking water ought to be provided to all the rooms as nobody would like to drink water that is brownish coloured. I still can't accept the fact that complimentary drinking water and wifi is not provided.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank mel7155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreiter, General Manager at Hilton Sofia, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about Hilton Sofia with us. I am sorry that your stay had minor shortcomings in terms of Internet access and that you were missing complimentary mineral water. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the cleaning of our water tank. I would like to assure you that we have evaluated your comments and will be looking forward to hosting you again, for your next and hopefully immaculate Hilton Sofia experience!

Kind regards,

Stephan Reiter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews