We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than you can ever expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than you can ever expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

It was our anniversary and Sofia seemed like a good place to visit. The hotel was recommended by friends and it really deserved the marks they gave it. The staff was aware of the occasion and made sure the weekend was really special. We went to Sofia after a weekend in London and it felt good to stay in a clean room, especially comparing the housekeeping standards in UK, where if you want a good quality you pay dearly for it. If Sofia is your destination, this is the hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Garden View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDublin_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    258
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
86
199
67
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Have always had a great stay. Wonderful hotel, great amenities, conveniently located in the heart of Sofia.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - just book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs-malibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Excellent hotel in perfect location in central Sofia. Close to everything yet very quiet. Huge rooms with full-width panoramic windows. Excellent high speed free internet. Incredibly attentive and efficient staff. Definitely the place to stay in Sofia

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IliaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Grand Hotel Sofia is a pure disappointment if you expect luxury grand hotel. The location couldn't be better next to the National Thatre Ivan Vazov and the park with the chess players and yet, the service and the staff attitude immediately rob you of your few moments of enchantment. I was told that the building was initially built for a library and you definately get the sense of dark, dark corridors when you enter the hotel. The rooms are spacious - actually huge, but there is not a lot you can enjoy there. The bathrooms are gloomy with its dark green marble tiles. My bathroom shower was leaking and fooding the bathroom to which the staff said that it seems I have overloaded the shower - very funny remark, and very inventive - must admit. House keeping never brought me the long expected pillow, they must have been busy. I didn't had breakfast included in my package, so I decided to visit the lobby for coffee and some Danish - good surprise of 70lv (30 EUR) for it. Definately take the walk to the Costa nearby to enjoy smoke free and much tastier coffee. There is not much to be said about this hotel other than the rooms are huge :) I wouldn't recommend it for a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganfina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSerafimova, General Manager at Grand Hotel Sofia, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us via TripAdvisor. I regret to know you feel you have received a sense of bad value for money during your stay. Our guest feedback is generally very positive and guests remaine very happy with the hotel facilities, guestroom ambiance as well as with the staff efficiency and friendliness. We have consistently been rated one of Sofia’s top hotels on TripAdvisor. We believe that, for the level of service and comfort we provide, we do offer excellent value for money.
Please accept our apology for the lack of efficiency in terms of Housekeeping and Technical service. We are making great efforts to train all our staff members as per our in-house standards. Obviously we will try harder to work on the necessary improvements in order to prevent such occurrences in the future. With regards to your comments referring to the breakfast we do believe that we offer extreme flexibility to our guests in terms of alternatives and pricing in order to fit their taste and budget. The prices you have mentioned are absolutely misleading information as they do not correspond to anything from our outlet menus. Be kindly informed that as of January 1st 2011 all our dining outlets are non smoking except the Grand Cafe.

Inspite of the unpleasant experience you have had I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and I welcome the opportunity to invite you back to the Grand Hotel Sofia.

Julieta Serafimova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Spent four nights in Sofia at this hotel. The staff was very courteous and professional. The hotel was very clean and the room I stayed in was very nice. The location was great. I recommend this hotel to anyone that will be staying in Sofia.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanslide03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

GHS is a very nice hotel - clean, polite staff, well located in the city center. I got an upgrade to a superior room, so can not comment on a 'normal' one - but the one I stayed in was great :). I did not eat breakfast, though, so no comment on this one.

If I go to Sofia again, I would be glad to stay there. Of course, could be a little cheaper ;)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel is wonderfu!!!!!Large and luxurious rooms,super breakfst and dinner!!!!All the people that work in this hotel are really professionals and they speak great English!You surely feel that you are in a 5stars hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVED THIS HOTEL!!!!MANY THANKS TO ALL THE DOORMEN (always polite with a huge,sincere smile)and Slaviana at the reception!!!!! Iam a vegetarian and despite the fact that this was told to the chef the last moment ,he made something special for me and my boyfriend!!!! I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insibieusenuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sofia hotels
1.5 km away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 km away
Sofia Hotel Balkan, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 km away
Sense Hotel Sofia
Sense Hotel Sofia
#5 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#4 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 km away
Thracia Hotel
Thracia Hotel
#7 of 131 in Sofia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, Sofia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Property: Grand Hotel Sofia
Address: ul.Gen. Gurko 1, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sofia
#2 Business Hotel in Sofia
#3 Family Hotel in Sofia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star hotel's unique central location and easy access to major sights makes this an ideal choice when staying in Sofia. It offers extremely spacious rooms where to enjoy a 5-star level of luxury, style and comfort. The modern Convention Centre features 4 conference rooms, varying in size to accommodate from 10 to 150 delegates in different set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing