We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
44
63
57
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
63
57
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift zebra room comfy bed quiet location location is excellent minute walk wi fi would definitely stay here again reception desk very nice hotel metro station synagogue balcony kettle lidl bulgaria luxury
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 204 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Sophia room which was bigger than most and actually had a real shower where moat of the other rooms just had a wet room. Breakfast was served in the room and was delicious. I've of the best breakfasts we had on our type. Great location.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank treeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2015

Scotty's hotel is located in the centre of Sofia. It is a no frills hotel.

The rooms are named after different cities around the world. We stayed in the 'Sydney' room on the second floor (no lift). It was large, with a tv, fridge, balcony and had free wifi. The room was a little dusty, the wet room was a little dirty and the bed was very low but it was ample for a few nights stay.

The breakfast is quite poor, but it's cheap to eat out in Bulgaria so it didn't matter.

I'd recommend staying here for the location rather than the service.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcrste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2015

Far from the best hotel I ever been in but for the price, you really can't complain! £35 for 2 nights, bfast included! Interesting bathroom... get the toilet paper out before you shower haha but that seems to be a common thing in Bulgaria and really not a big deal.
The bed was really low and very soft so not the best sleep but again for the price.
I do feel sorry for the 3 rooms located literally by the front desk. I would not have been a happy bunny if given that room as the walls are paper thin.
The little terrasse made me laugh... see picture.
But for a couple of nights, stop over in Sofia - does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: NOT on the reception floor!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredouilleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Absolutly no punctual with breakfast 40 min waiting, dusty, no clean rooms when you outside, personal not frendly when ask them when you will be clean up room rude, teapot very very old, from the street a lot of noise

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2014

This was our first visit to Bulgaria & for our last night we stayed at Scotties. For somewhere SO central we thought it was brilliant value for money. Everywhere is in walkable distance & all flat. We liked everything about our stay there. The guys on reception were laid back & very friendly & chatty. One recommended Einstein's restaurant for a reasonably priced meal that included Bulgarian dishes - it didn't disappoint - very cheap & very good. Our room was very large & quite basic, which was fine - & the low bed was extremely comfortable. We faced the Jewish Synagogue & it was great to see & hear the trams going past. Could smoke on the balcony too! We enjoyed our breakfast in our room which, although small, was healthy & tasty & actually adequate to break your fast! If you need more sustenance the wonderful covered Market is just a couple of minutes away - they have a really tasty bakery in there. We am keen to return to Sofia & will definitely stay at Scotties again when I do - I give it 10 out of 10 for its position, comfort & friendliness. Oh, & love the fact it's in an old building, not some modern, featureless place

Room Tip: If you don't like noise (trams start early in the morning) ask for a rear facing room
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews