We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Sofia”

Hadjidraganovite kashti
Ranked #35 of 1,347 Restaurants in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is in the center of Sofia consisted of four restored houses from 1866 year representing architecture and style from beautiful Bulgarian towns Koprivshtitsa, Zheravna, Melnik and Bansko, combined with a joint yard and a beautiful Summer garden. We offer extensive menu with traditional Bulgarian recipes and Bulgarian wines. In the evenings from Tuesday till Saturday there is live folklore music. “Hadjidraganovite kashti” the way Bulgarian people pronounce it (means Hadzhi Dragan’s Houses) is like a time machine that will take you to the old days of 1866 year and you will get the chance to learn about the customs and culture of the country and to experience a culinary journey with Bulgarian specialties. The legend says that Hadji Dragan - a trader of wool and silk - lived a hundred years ago. He traveled around the country for a lot of years and went round a lot of districts. He was greatly impressed at the beauty of the Bulgarian houses ... (see legend at the web site)
Reviewed November 7, 2018

I visited this restaurant two times in november 2018. The Crew is wonderfull, the food is delicius, the Wine is perfect, and inside you will feel to come back to Bulgaria like in old days. Because of the waiters clothes and the interieur in the restaurant.
Next time I'm in Sofia, I will visit this restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful authentic Bulgarian interior, traditional live music and everybody in traditional clothing that makes the experience fantastic!
Service was the best, very help-full and always smiling, and THE FOOD WAS AMAZING!!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank elam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

Went there cause the tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. I think that the place is mostly for the tourist but it was great. The staff was very polite and we were served rather quick. The food was great if U like meat. Four of us had meal plate for 4 person and we couldn't finish it (we were starving). The bill for 4 persons was 45 euros.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ineretlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Great meal, well prepared, and the Baklava was outstanding. Really enjoyed everything about this restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on a cold monday evening, and they run out of soup :(
We ordered a coke (they only had Pepsi :/ ), and a draft beer, and a waiter brang some milk or whatever but does not beer. He changed it, after we claimed our beer. The main dish was tasty, and the portion was big, but the dessert (cheescake) was a bit dry. If you have a plenty of time, you can enjoy the authentic live folk music, and the food, but if you in a hurry, avoid this restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Mihály P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadjidraganovite kashti also viewed

 

Been to Hadjidraganovite kashti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing