We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kiev
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No surprise”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a very convenient place where to stay in Kiev. However the food is as international as the rooms. No surprise ! I was there for business But would not recommend for typical tourism however. There are a lot of Nice buildings in Kiev. And more typical restaurants. Service at the reception and at the floor does not correspond to luxury standards. Just international.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We were pleased to hear that you have
enjoyed the convenience of the location. We would to like to hear more about your
feedback concerning the service, since we are continuously aiming to improve, by sending an
email to hotel.kiev@ihg.com.

Our dining facilities offer a great variety of Ukrainian local cuisine with a modern
interpretation, while our concierge team knows the best local attractions and is more
than happy to contribute to your unique stay in Kiev.

Thank you and we remain at your disposal.

Best regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    116
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
73
62
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel was nice. I got a room with view to the city. It was nice.Clean room.Service good.The price was around 500euro per night.So I think also ok price.I can say it is in high medium quality!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It was a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the room
features with its view and the level of service from our colleagues.

We will be anticipating your next stay at InterCotinental Kiev.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

the hotel is very good,centrally located with all the main areas nearby even the saint sophia church is also at a walking distance, the rooms are spacious and clean, batroom is clean and neat with all the necessary batroom kits available, food quality is also good, the minibar is free so lots of cold drinks and beer, service is little bit slow but the staffs are well behaved.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manishberiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. It was a pleasure to hear that you have
enjoyed the convenience of the location, room features, complimentary minibar and the food
quality at our dining facilities.

We will be delighted to welcome you once again with your next trip to Kiev.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

If you are into over the top, this is the place for you, especially if you have the budget. The location is great, staff abundant and eager to please, and the breakfast buffet among the best in the world that I have encountered. The rooms are comfortable and very quiet.

That said, I am not into OTT; nice and comfy will do, not wasteful opulence. I do not like it when staff keep guessing that I want something and then deliver "it", something I never asked for and in some cases had explicitly turned down. There are more pillows on the bed than I can deal with. Clearing the bed of them and the thick spread completely filled up a corner of the room. I wedged them there with the armchair. The breakfast buffet has so many wonderful treats -- but it was impossible to get a simple apple juice or brewed coffee. (The coffee is all espresso based and had me wired until mid-afternoon before I figured out what had gone on.) And don't get me started on the tippy plates that look great but are not properly engineered for stability.

No washcloths in the john and the towels are a bit thin but worse, so large (5 ft 6 in or 1.65 m) that they are hard to handle. Too much!

Great selection of cable TV channels, heavy on the news with BBC and EuroNews in English top of the list. A nice flat screen telly that is wall mounted and not so large that it dominates the room. The remote is basic, and simple to understand. The telephone, on the other hand, I never did figure out. If you are under 40, that will not be a problem. WIFI in the room, a cable connection is available if you want.

In-room mineral water is outrageously expense; buy that kind of stuff at the "7-11" type store just up the street. Hotel laundry prices are high even for a five star hotel. Be prepared to pay about $28 for a shirt, undies, and a pair of socks (one day's worth of clothes). Neighborhood drycleaners and laundries are almost unknown in Ukraine so plan (or be prepared to pay) accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed
our breakfast quality, convenience of the location, room features and the professional service
of our colleagues.

We will be anticipating your next stay at InterContinental Kiev and we remain at your disposal.

Best regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
192 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Unreasonably expensive, small rooms , employees who don't give a hoot and average food. Conclusion .? Never again.....

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. If it is possible, we would like to hear more
about your experience since we are continuously aiming to improve our service. Please
forward your remarks to the following email address: hotel.kiev@ihg.com.

Thank you and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel is located in a nice area of the city (although it may be worth noting to get to the centre by foot there is a steep hill to go down but coming back can take some time particularly if it has been snowing). The welcome at the hotel was relatively poor. The room was at the back of the hotel so was a bit dark but the bed was very comfortable and the room pleasant with nice facilities. IT was great to have a free mini-bar. I would watch out for portions in the restaurant as what we had was not sufficient and we had to order more food which was expensive for what it was. Be careful when getting a taxi from the hotel as the door staff seem to have deals with the taxi companies. We found it cheaper to go down the road.

Although I am not sure if I would return to Kiev (nice to go to once in my life) but if I were to go again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Martyn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It was a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the surrounding area of our hotel’s location and complimentary amenities. We apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced at the hotel.

Our hotel cooperates with a reliable taxi company with English speaking drivers. It is a fact that there are other taxi service providers with competitive prices yet we can’t guarantee your safety and comfort.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here for five weeks (for one or two weeks) during Jan to March 2012. The staff was first rate, most were fluent in English, German, or French as well as Russian and Ukrainian. The rooms were high quality and always perfect, though not particularly big. The daily brunch was one of the best I've enjoyed around the world in a business hotel. The mini bar is complimentary (yes, free). The hotel is next to St Michael’s Golden-Domed Monastery. The bar on the top floor has a nice view.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. It was a delight to hear that you enjoyed the level of service, room features and facilities.

We will anticipate in welcoming you back to our hotel and we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#4 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#5 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera Hotel
#7 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kiev

Property: InterContinental Kiev
Address: Velyka Zhytomyrska vul. 2A, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#3 Business Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kiev 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of ancient Kiev and next to three main Ukrainian orthodox churches—St. Sophia, St. Michael and St. Andrew—the location of the InterContinental Kiev is truly unique. Built to match its historical surroundings, the hotel’s traditional style is grand and elegant. Business travellers will appreciate our proximity to corporate entities, government agencies and embassies. When it’s time for leisure, a wealth of shopping, historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art. Spread across 11 floors on the Dnipro River and City Wings, 272 rooms including 7 suites offer you pure relaxation in traditional surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, IHG, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kiev Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing