We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for such prise.”
Review of Bakkara Art-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Salaspils, Latvia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for such prise.”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I spent in this hotel couple of weekends. Very good hotel, I will recommend this hotel to everybody. Rooms is quite good and all rooms have balcony what is very nice.

Advantages:
1) Price
2) There is Strip bar in hotel :D
3) Best breakfast what you can get in hotel, I have never seen such quantity of dishes and quality is very good!!!

Disadvantages:
1) All time you need pay in bar, you can't simply ask to add bill to your account, this is really annoying.
2) Beds is not so good. (Double room)
3) Poor sound isolation in rooms, you can hear everything what happens in neighbor room

I didn't have any problem with location because it is not far from metro and taxi is very cheap in Kiev.

I'll definitely return to this hotel and actually I already booked a room for upcoming weekends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JurijsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana K, Guest Relations Manager at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Jurijs
Thank you for finding time to provide us with Your review which we value very much. It is especially pleasant to read that You stayed at Art-hotel “Bakkara” for a couple of weeks and that You liked our breakfasts. It is great that You are planning to visit us again and we will do our best to make your staying a pleasant experience.
With best regards
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    128
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
85
31
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
harrisville, utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our stay here was excellent. We had one of the suites facing the river (definately recomended) and had no complaints about this property or the staff (who were excellent). The out of the way location at the Hydropark lets you have a quiet place in the city away from the noise.. The feeling of being on a riverboat cruise and view of the river were great! I'm sure in time the riverfront area will be completed and that it will look great. I would stay here again if my travels take me to Kyiv again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearce71592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana K, Guest Relations Manager at Bakkara Art-Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying at Art-hotel “Bakkara”. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience. I passed your great comments to entire team, who were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location near the river in the park area close to the city center. We look forward to welcoming you back to see the front-yard area already completed and You were absolutely right it looks great.
With best regards
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This floating hotel has a neat concept, and is quite well decorated in a contemporary style. Make sure you check the location, it moved 8-10 months ago from one shore to the other..and it can be confusing. At least one taxi driver had no idea where it was!
On location - its not in walking distance of the centre. You will always need a taxi. They aren't expensive - but agree the price beforehand..and argue!
The room I stayed in was small, with a very small en-suite..which leaked. I also made the mistake of taking a very small sip of water from the tap..when I was thirsty...(DONT do this!). That led to an uncomfortable night!
Overall, there are probably better located and cheaper places to stay. If I was going back, I'd try the other places first.

Room Tip: haggle on taxi fares..all the locals do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is located directly on the river and close to the nature park. Nice room is deluxe room. Standart rooms is so small, but have all arrangment for even 4*, good acoustics, so you know what is doing your neighbors - it's a big minus! The buffet on a breakdfast is atractive, the food is delicious, i was so impressed by fresh juices (wirthout extras) and time for breakfast until 12:00 noon in weekends. Very good service from Fron Office (Grigoriy, Lera, Galina) and House Keeping.

Room Tip: Room is the last on the corridor, to have -1 neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milana_msc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I had read the reviews here before going to the hotel, and was natuarally worried. Unfortunately i had been booked by a company, so there was little i could do about it. I stayed there for 3 nights.

The Good
Rooms are small, but pretty nice, apart from the ridiculously small bathroom! Wifi is free, which is great, and works overall pretty well. Staff are friendly and speakn english werll. if they dont, they will call someone immidiately. Location is not so bad, if you have a driver. I cant talk about anything else, as I had a private driver for my 3 days. (for 80 UAH pr hour, why not??)
restaurant is pretty good food, although the portions are small.

The Bad:
Water DOES smell funny, im pretty sure the water for showering is taken directly from the river. I did not have a rash or feel sick though. Bathroom was flooded after taking a shower, because they didnt tilt the floor. So you have to wait for the room cleaning service the next day before being able to go to the bathroom again without getting your feet soaked! Room service is slow and portions small. breakfast is nothing special to say the least, the omelet guy is okay, but the rest is below standard.

All in all, pretty good for the price, although they should fix the bathroom problems.

And to the people who are compalining about pricing; I really dont know what you people expect, unless you normally travel in far more exotic places; But 50 UAH (about 7,5 USD) for a club sandwich with a coke, on room service, is NOT EXPENSIVE! STOP compalining about high prices, its ridiculous!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKWEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I have both positive and negative feelings about this hotel. The location is really bad, quite away from the city center, the shuttle bus doesnt go according to the scedule, sometimes, even refuse to drive. The Hotel's entrance should be cleaned and and ledder which leads to the hotel doesnt look trustworthy, and that green carpet looked really cheep. The room was nice, quite spacious and good value for money. But it is absolutely impossible to sleep there, because the walls are too thin and one can hear every single word from the neigbouring room. Breakfast was good, but the restaurant itself is too pricey, it is better not to eat there at all. The staff was polite, but not always honest with the guests. So Thats all I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Not so bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This is a floatel. It's in a large 5 floor houseboat. I did book a better class of room - worth the very little extra. It had a really great view of the river.

The room was clean and well maintained. No bath - just a wet deck shower, but quite satisfactory. The room was a large size. Has mini-bar, hair dryer, room safe, laundry bag - really anything that you could need.

There is Wi-Fi in the room (no-charge) - worked pretty well most of the time. Breakfast was also included in the room rate - not bad at all: pretty good egg/omlette chef! Very attentive staff and plenty of them. Most speak English. They work pretty hard.

Transport: The hotel is moored on an island in the river. Taxis are freely available outside the hotel. Be prepared to pay a premium over the local going rate, but it is cheaper than most capital cities that I know. The other (bigger problem) is the traffic jams into the city. Traffic seems to crawl over the bridge.

A better solution is to take a 5-10 minute walk to the "Hydropark" Metro station (in the middle of a funfair leisure area). From there, you can be in the city centre in 10 - 15 minutes. Trains are extremely frequent (up to 2 minutes between trains). The other good thing is that a trip any where on the Metro will cost you 2 UAH - next to nothing! So, much quicker than a taxi and a whole lot cheaper! Avoid rush-hours, though - the Metro gets pretty packed!

One final tip - the hotel has plenty of copies of "Kyiv in your pocket" all over the place (no charge). If you're new to Kiev, it's brilliant: tells you all sorts of usefull things like hosw to use the Metro, do's and don'ts - I found it a mine of information. Good maps and restaurant guides, as well.

Very close to the Exhibitions centre, if that's why you're in Kiev.

There is a night club in the basement - but if you don't like that kind of stuff, it's easily avoidable!

Final thing: the hotel restaurant. Tried it on my first night. Was not very impressed: it could be, though that the food was just not to my taste! Not really international. Much better available in the City.

Room Tip: Book through Expedia - pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
4.9 km away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
12.5 km away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#27 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 111 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#24 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
8.8 km away
Raziotel Kyiv
Raziotel Kyiv
#20 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.1 km away
Oselya Kiev
Oselya Kiev
#18 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakkara Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkara Art-Hotel

Property: Bakkara Art-Hotel
Address: Venice Island, 1 | Hydropark Subway Station, Kiev 02660, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
#19 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakkara Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bakkara Art hotel in Kiev has 200 comfortable rooms that are ideal for romantic breaks as well as for business trips. The variety of different categories of suites that hotel suggests allows you to choose one that fits the purpose of your visit most of all – from a cozy standard room to a luxe class. Comfortable beds with nice bed linens will provide our guests with sound sleep. All the rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with electronic security system, TV, free Wi-Fi Internet access, personal mini safe, hair drier, mini-bar, telephone with direct international access. Buffet breakfast is included into the rooms’ prices. Convenient conference room, sized 105 sq. m, with modern technical equipment is available to all the guests of our hotel for conducting conference, meetings and seminars for up to 100 participants. There is also a modern business center situated near the hotel’s conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakkara Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakkara Art Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing