We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bakkara Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$248
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$93
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Hotel Rus(Kiev)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bratislava Hotel(Kiev)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Senator Maidan(Kiev)
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Kiev City Center(Kiev)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
118
141
47
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
141
47
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewfloating hotelwalls are thinmetro stationstrip clubvenice islandunique hotel experienceright bankdnipro riverclassic roomtaxi into towncity centresound insulationnice roomhotel restaurant isbathroom doorpriced hotel
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 332 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our stay here was excellent. We had one of the suites facing the river (definately recomended) and had no complaints about this property or the staff (who were excellent). The out of the way location at the Hydropark lets you have a quiet place in the city away from the noise.. The feeling of being on a riverboat cruise and view of the river were great! I'm sure in time the riverfront area will be completed and that it will look great. I would stay here again if my travels take me to Kyiv again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearce71592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana K, Guest Relations Manager at Bakkara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying at Art-hotel “Bakkara”. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience. I passed your great comments to entire team, who were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location near the river in the park area close to the city center. We look forward to welcoming you back to see the front-yard area already completed and You were absolutely right it looks great.
With best regards
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This floating hotel has a neat concept, and is quite well decorated in a contemporary style. Make sure you check the location, it moved 8-10 months ago from one shore to the other..and it can be confusing. At least one taxi driver had no idea where it was!
On location - its not in walking distance of the centre. You will always need a taxi. They aren't expensive - but agree the price beforehand..and argue!
The room I stayed in was small, with a very small en-suite..which leaked. I also made the mistake of taking a very small sip of water from the tap..when I was thirsty...(DONT do this!). That led to an uncomfortable night!
Overall, there are probably better located and cheaper places to stay. If I was going back, I'd try the other places first.

Room Tip: haggle on taxi fares..all the locals do it!
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel is located directly on the river and close to the nature park. Nice room is deluxe room. Standart rooms is so small, but have all arrangment for even 4*, good acoustics, so you know what is doing your neighbors - it's a big minus! The buffet on a breakdfast is atractive, the food is delicious, i was so impressed by fresh juices (wirthout extras) and time for breakfast until 12:00 noon in weekends. Very good service from Fron Office (Grigoriy, Lera, Galina) and House Keeping.

Room Tip: Room is the last on the corridor, to have -1 neighbor
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milana_msc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I had read the reviews here before going to the hotel, and was natuarally worried. Unfortunately i had been booked by a company, so there was little i could do about it. I stayed there for 3 nights.

The Good
Rooms are small, but pretty nice, apart from the ridiculously small bathroom! Wifi is free, which is great, and works overall pretty well. Staff are friendly and speakn english werll. if they dont, they will call someone immidiately. Location is not so bad, if you have a driver. I cant talk about anything else, as I had a private driver for my 3 days. (for 80 UAH pr hour, why not??)
restaurant is pretty good food, although the portions are small.

The Bad:
Water DOES smell funny, im pretty sure the water for showering is taken directly from the river. I did not have a rash or feel sick though. Bathroom was flooded after taking a shower, because they didnt tilt the floor. So you have to wait for the room cleaning service the next day before being able to go to the bathroom again without getting your feet soaked! Room service is slow and portions small. breakfast is nothing special to say the least, the omelet guy is okay, but the rest is below standard.

All in all, pretty good for the price, although they should fix the bathroom problems.

And to the people who are compalining about pricing; I really dont know what you people expect, unless you normally travel in far more exotic places; But 50 UAH (about 7,5 USD) for a club sandwich with a coke, on room service, is NOT EXPENSIVE! STOP compalining about high prices, its ridiculous!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKWEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have both positive and negative feelings about this hotel. The location is really bad, quite away from the city center, the shuttle bus doesnt go according to the scedule, sometimes, even refuse to drive. The Hotel's entrance should be cleaned and and ledder which leads to the hotel doesnt look trustworthy, and that green carpet looked really cheep. The room was nice, quite spacious and good value for money. But it is absolutely impossible to sleep there, because the walls are too thin and one can hear every single word from the neigbouring room. Breakfast was good, but the restaurant itself is too pricey, it is better not to eat there at all. The staff was polite, but not always honest with the guests. So Thats all I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Not so bad
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews