We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nicaragua Guest House
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I planned to stay here for ten days in July. However I got the chance to go to Costa Rica for a few days so the owners let me stow my suitcase in their luggage room until I got back and did not charge me for the days I was not there which I thought was extremely fair.

It is near a couple of bus stops that go direct to Mercado Huembes and taxis are easy to find round there. It is ideal if you are going to be out all day and come back exhausted around nine o'clock ready for bed or a bit of TV. It probably also helps if you speak a bit of the language. The included breakfast of mostly fresh fruit is great. The rooms are clean and the fans keep it comfortable and it felt very safe. I loved the inner court yard where you could eat breakfast in the open air. We had to leave very early to get to the airport and we were given a packed breakfast to take with us. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandma56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

I stayed here on 2 different occasions in Jan, 2010. Family-run business, they have about 6 rooms for rent. Very helpful, even tho they don't speak much English. It is a secure building, well-run, nice breakfast included for very little money. I would return without hesitation. The neighborhood is so-so, don't walk around late at night. Typical for Managua. No hot water available. Free bottled water. They'll give you advice on prices for cabs, directions, things to see, etc. Wireless internet included, too!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here our last night in Nicaragua because we wanted a cheap hotel near the airport for our early morning flight the next day. To put this review in context, we are in our mid-30s and typically stay at local, non-chain, moderately priced hotels (Hotel Terrasol in Granada and Hotel Vistamar in Pochomil). We didn't want to stay at the Best Western b/c $90 seemed like a rip-off from the reviews we read.

Ok, so first the good:
- The place is super cheap. The room costs $20 per night for a fan only. If you want A/C, the price jumps to $35.
- The woman at the front desk is very sweet and friendly. She arranged for our cab and packed us a breakfast since we had to leave at 5:30am.
- The hotel is maybe 10 mins from the airport, and a cab cost us $8. There is also a quite nice shopping mall where you can grab dinner just a 5 min walk away.
- The place is clean and appeared to be free of bugs of any kind.
- The room had a functioning tv.

So, now the bad:
This guest house is probably about as luxurious as a typical hostel (which I haven't frequented since my backpacker days 10 years ago. A few details:
- There was duct tape all around the door frame.
- The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain.
- There is a sign in the bedroom that says that "sex tourism" is not allowed.

I think you get the picture. Although I didn't see any bugs, it was the kind of place where you worry you might get bed bugs. Overall, the hotel met our needs, but if we planned to spend any length of time in Managua, we wouldn't have stayed there. I gave the hotel an average score b/c it was so cheap, and the service was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Nicaragua Guest House is a great option for the thrifty traveler in Managua with regard to the staff, price, and atmosphere.

Oscar and the others are wonderfully, nice, accommodating, and available. Breakfast is free and includes some bread, bananas, coffee, and fresh mixed fruit!

Rooms are moderately priced and available with Cable TV and Air Conditioning. This was a bonus because I would normally prefer to stay as far away from a TV as possible, but after dinner, there really is not much of anything to do if you are not going to take a ten minute cab to the pricier discos or Pharoah's Casino.

An additional plus would be the easy walk to Las America's for safe feeling banking, grocery needs, and a movie theater with newer movies at cheap rates less than 5 minutes walk.

On the down side-
Room lighting is somewhat akin to a crack-house, ceilings have a bit of a moldy feel to them (and easy access for geckos) without a door to separate the bathroom/bedroom.

Bring a travel sheet if you don't normally travel with one for an extra sense of security!

Lastly, make sure that you have a map from the Airport to the Rotunda of the Virgin as there are no marked streets to help you or your taxi driver(s) to find the Guest House- hint it is TWO BLOCKS SOUTH of the Virgin!

We stayed at the Guest House on our first night AND returned without hesitation for our last night. After all, this is Managua and one day/night is PLENTY of time to spend there when the rest of this amazing country is waiting for you!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deverest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank insta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016
Google Translation

Thank Mumbaikar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
5.1 km away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 75 in Managua
109 reviews
5.6 km away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 75 in Managua
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Maracuya Hostel
Maracuya Hostel
#4 of 75 in Managua
212 reviews
4.3 km away
Managua Backpackers Inn
Managua Backpackers Inn
#7 of 75 in Managua
251 reviews
6.4 km away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#7 of 50 in Managua
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicaragua Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicaragua Guest House

Address: Bello Horizonte VI Etapa 217 | Rotonda La Virgen 2 blocks south, 2 1/2 below, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Managua
Price Range: $23 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nicaragua Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a tourist hostal intended for backpackers, here you will find the basic necessities to start or continue your trip. Managua is a hot city, here is not common bath with hot water; usually around the country it is with cold water. At 300 meters from us you will find the shopping center Multicentro Las Americas. There are restaurants, supermarkets, banks, cinemas and all kinds of shops. CHECK OUT is 10:00 am. WE CLOSED at 11 P.M (23h). In order to respect the comfort of all guests, we turn out the principal lights and wi-fi at 11pm. Just 7 kms away from International Airport, 2 kms away from Huembes terminal buses and 4 kms from Mayoreo terminal buses, 8 kms away from UCA Terminal buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Nicaragua Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicaragua Guest House Hotel Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing