We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
14
16
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
16
8
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 41 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I stayed here on 2 different occasions in Jan, 2010. Family-run business, they have about 6 rooms for rent. Very helpful, even tho they don't speak much English. It is a secure building, well-run, nice breakfast included for very little money. I would return without hesitation. The neighborhood is so-so, don't walk around late at night. Typical for Managua. No hot water available. Free bottled water. They'll give you advice on prices for cabs, directions, things to see, etc. Wireless internet included, too!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtrip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here our last night in Nicaragua because we wanted a cheap hotel near the airport for our early morning flight the next day. To put this review in context, we are in our mid-30s and typically stay at local, non-chain, moderately priced hotels (Hotel Terrasol in Granada and Hotel Vistamar in Pochomil). We didn't want to stay at the Best Western b/c $90 seemed like a rip-off from the reviews we read.

Ok, so first the good:
- The place is super cheap. The room costs $20 per night for a fan only. If you want A/C, the price jumps to $35.
- The woman at the front desk is very sweet and friendly. She arranged for our cab and packed us a breakfast since we had to leave at 5:30am.
- The hotel is maybe 10 mins from the airport, and a cab cost us $8. There is also a quite nice shopping mall where you can grab dinner just a 5 min walk away.
- The place is clean and appeared to be free of bugs of any kind.
- The room had a functioning tv.

So, now the bad:
This guest house is probably about as luxurious as a typical hostel (which I haven't frequented since my backpacker days 10 years ago. A few details:
- There was duct tape all around the door frame.
- The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain.
- There is a sign in the bedroom that says that "sex tourism" is not allowed.

I think you get the picture. Although I didn't see any bugs, it was the kind of place where you worry you might get bed bugs. Overall, the hotel met our needs, but if we planned to spend any length of time in Managua, we wouldn't have stayed there. I gave the hotel an average score b/c it was so cheap, and the service was nice.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Nicaragua Guest House is a great option for the thrifty traveler in Managua with regard to the staff, price, and atmosphere.

Oscar and the others are wonderfully, nice, accommodating, and available. Breakfast is free and includes some bread, bananas, coffee, and fresh mixed fruit!

Rooms are moderately priced and available with Cable TV and Air Conditioning. This was a bonus because I would normally prefer to stay as far away from a TV as possible, but after dinner, there really is not much of anything to do if you are not going to take a ten minute cab to the pricier discos or Pharoah's Casino.

An additional plus would be the easy walk to Las America's for safe feeling banking, grocery needs, and a movie theater with newer movies at cheap rates less than 5 minutes walk.

On the down side-
Room lighting is somewhat akin to a crack-house, ceilings have a bit of a moldy feel to them (and easy access for geckos) without a door to separate the bathroom/bedroom.

Bring a travel sheet if you don't normally travel with one for an extra sense of security!

Lastly, make sure that you have a map from the Airport to the Rotunda of the Virgin as there are no marked streets to help you or your taxi driver(s) to find the Guest House- hint it is TWO BLOCKS SOUTH of the Virgin!

We stayed at the Guest House on our first night AND returned without hesitation for our last night. After all, this is Managua and one day/night is PLENTY of time to spend there when the rest of this amazing country is waiting for you!

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deverest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews