We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil City Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Villa Maya
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil City Setting”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I can't say enough about how great the staff and the Villa Maya hotel was. My aunt stayed their a few days before us and they upgraded her without hesitation. We had family come say their goodbyes throughout the day and the staff was so pleasant and accommodating.

The hotel is kept pristine, there are corners throughout the property to sit and absorb the well kept garden and pool area. The rooms are super clean and beds really comfortable.

My flight was very early, and the staff made sure to have breakfast for me even though they didn't begin serving for another two hours. They also arranged a taxi to the hotel with a very nice and reliable man who works with them exclusively. The issue of safety and taxis can be an issue in Managua, and this relationship with their taxi driver made me feel safe and secure.

All in all, a treasure in a very nice part of the city (actually the most exclusive part of the city), and I will be staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cellita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaya, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear guests:

I take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to serve you. Thanks to your reviews, we were awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012 from Trip Advisor. This award commits us to pursue further in our efforts to make a difference in the type of hotel services provided by the tourism industry in Nicaragua.

Sincerely,

Vilma C. Barrientos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    32
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
49
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

In late November I had my second stay at the Villa Maya and it was just as amazing as the first. I could tell that the owners are putting more money into the hotel. I noticed a few small upgrades since my last stay. The hotel was very accommodating and Lily at the front desk went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable during my five night stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Managua area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaya, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear guests:

I take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to serve you. Thanks to your reviews, we were awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012 from Trip Advisor. This award commits us to pursue further in our efforts to make a difference in the type of hotel services provided by the tourism industry in Nicaragua.

Sincerely,

Vilma C. Barrientos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel is a very nice combination of bed and breakfast and hotel. The garden is very nice with lots of space for relaxation. It is not far from the city but feals like the courtryside. I had a very nice stay with very friendly staff and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaya, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear guests:

I take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to serve you. Thanks to your reviews, we were awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012 from Trip Advisor. This award commits us to pursue further in our efforts to make a difference in the type of hotel services provided by the tourism industry in Nicaragua.

Sincerely,

Vilma C. Barrientos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've stayed here many times... i can't avoid saying that it is an awesome hotel; makes you feel like home; the staff is so caring; you feel loved and that they really care about you; they welcomed you with a smile and always being at your service.

It's located in a very quiet community; so i feel relaxed.

i would definitely recommend it...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbsramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I absolutely loved my stay in this boutique-style hotel. Food was great, and overall atmosphere was so nice and peaceful. There's a pool where I didnt hesitate to spend the afternoon after I was done with my day. I don't understand why other reviewers called it 'decent'. The place is beyond nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly. I am extremely picky about clean hotels, and this place was spotless. In my opinion the hotel is well managed and I'd stay there next time without looking any further.

Room Tip: Just make sure to make your reservation in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaya, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear guests:

I take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to serve you. Thanks to your reviews, we were awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012 from Trip Advisor. This award commits us to pursue further in our efforts to make a difference in the type of hotel services provided by the tourism industry in Nicaragua.

Sincerely,

Vilma C. Barrientos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hotel Boutique Villa Maya is a unique spot apart from the noisy streets of Managua yet minutes away from the heart of the city. Situated in the highlands of Managua, this hotel provides a great view to the landscape of Managua and the comfort only nature can offer. Combined with an excellent customer service, tasteful home-made local meals, this hotel offers the best bang for the buck in town if you are looking. The hotel is very quiet, with nicely decorated rooms and a backyard with a tempting pool where you can take a dip after a long sunny day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaya, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear guests:

I take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to serve you. Thanks to your reviews, we were awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012 from Trip Advisor. This award commits us to pursue further in our efforts to make a difference in the type of hotel services provided by the tourism industry in Nicaragua.

Sincerely,

Vilma C. Barrientos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

its not a bad hotel, average. i stayed here instead of hotel beneficial because I was just in for a day and needed to visit a friend in Las Colinas where this place is at. If I didn´t need to be in this part of town, I´d have preferred Hotel Beneficial which is more like a hotel and where the staff have time to help you. Could give a free bottle of water like beneficial does too as the tap water here is yucky.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missibehavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMaya, Owner at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
I was very surprised to read your comment since you mentioned several details which contradict set practices at our hotel. You wrote there was no bottled water offered, but we offer it to each one of our guests as soon as they walk in as one of our choices as a courtesy drink; also, we provide bottled water in each room. As a boutique hotel, we enjoy providing personalized attention to our guests; our staff is devoted to provide customer satisfaction and it has been rewarded with many excellent comments from our satisfied guests. Finally, I went through our registration records and did not find anyone from Madrid registered in August; as required by local law, all of our guests have to register and provide proper ID, which we copy and keep with the registration forms. There is no way a guest can stay in our hotel without being registered.
I invite you to visit us and experience staying at Hotel Boutique Villa Maya, FOR FREE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
4.7 km away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#5 of 50 in Managua
359 reviews
4.8 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
646 reviews
3.3 km away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#14 of 50 in Managua
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel Los Robles
Hotel Los Robles
#13 of 50 in Managua
140 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Mozonte
Hotel Mozonte
#24 of 50 in Managua
315 reviews
8.1 km away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Villa Maya

Property: Hotel Boutique Villa Maya
Address: | Residencial Las Colinas, Segunda Entrada, Managua 14199, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Boutique Hotel in Managua. The rooms remodeled colonial house with a beautiful tropical garden and swimming pool. It counts with a total of nine private rooms, all with private bathrooms, water heated with solar energy, air conditioning, TV with cable, wireless internet, working desks, alarm clocks, telephones, security boxes, etc. Some of them have their own private balcony that opens to the garden and/or swimming pool. The hotel: An Oasis in the city. Our location is ideally for everybody: We are steps away from the city but not in the city! So if you have business downtown, it is a 10 min drive. But if you want to enjoy nature, have a tranquil time to relax and be pampered, Villa Maya is the perfect place. We are close to national attractions (Volcan Masaya, 10 min drive, Granada, 30 min drive) and local malls, shops and the best restaurants (Galerias Santo Domingo) in Managua just 5 min away. The owners: We are a mature couple with over 30 years together. Vilma is an artist from Guatemala and Luis is a lawyer from Nicaragua. Both met and studied at UC Berkeley in the Bay Area in California. Our goal is to provide a boutique hotel option for Managua giving a personalized service to all of our guests while ensuring that our operations are respectful with the environment.*Breakfast a la carte ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boutique Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing