We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“..just an "OK" hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Managua
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“..just an "OK" hotel...”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times NOT BY CHOICE (company i work for has a contract with them)...and I am not impress.. The service is not that of a 4/5 star hotel they claim to be, i think their staff needs some customer service training ASAP.... The only thing i like at this hotel is the Internet signal (works great 99% of the time) and the FOOD... breakfast is delicious!! OK HOTEL, bad customer service, good food!! There are far better hotels and B&B places in Managua...avoided if you can!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josue_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Josue_fly,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We are pleased you like the location of our hotel as well as our breakfast. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    91
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
40
34
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I had a meeting just across from the hotel at the convention center So was excellent
The service good and you must try the gallo pinto at breaksfast

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The location of the hotel is great. Near a major shopping centre and a short distance from bars, restaurants, the city centre and the airport.
The hotel is good - some rooms are a little dated but comfortable. I stayed in a suite with was furnished as though from the 1980s but was comfortable.
The steak restaurant overlooking the pool is superb with pristine service.
The bar has very reasonably priced drinks.
The pool is great to relax by.
The reception service was abysmal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed for two nights and two rooms.. rooms with old small bathroom small bed.. reserved king and got a small bed .. was told no kings in the room type i resvered. resvered a rate with breakfast and was told it was not true had to print out the resvertion from the office center and they tryed to charge me to print the page...STAY AWAY

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plinimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear plinimia,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santo domingo
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It was nice that the hotel offered a shuttle from the hotel, but arriving to the hotel was like taking a trip back in time. The hotel advertises a price that is not worth what you are paying. The rooms were dated and the carpets in desperate need of attention. I stayed in suite, it was spacious but there was not one available on a non-smoking floor. The restaurants were ok, but not worth staying in the hotel for. Not a safe area to walk in. day or night.

Room Tip: there are other hotels in the area that cost less and offer more for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Lorenzo L,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Managua.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here recently, only one night. A very decent hotel, a bit older, but suited my needs for the night. Not too much around within walking distance, then again, walking around in Managua looking for dinner isn't that great an idea.
Would definitely stay again if necessary in the future to overnight in Managua.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travello76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent two nights at the Crowne Plaza in Managua and had a wonderful hotel experience each night! The hotel arranged for a shuttle to pick us up at the airport and then provided us the same when we were leaving Nicaragua.

The rooms were clean and stocked with all of the necessities such as a coffee maker, shampoo/conditioner, a small fridge and a hair dryer.

The restaurant had delicious food and the lounge provided us with a lovely place to relax and enjoy a good glass of wine at the end of a long travel day. The prices were reasonable.

Staff were courteous and helpful.

We will stay there again on our next visit to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheels_Wings_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
2.4 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 50 in Managua
663 reviews
2.1 km away
Real InterContinental Managua at Metrocentro Mall
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Managua - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Barcelo Managua
Barcelo Managua
#13 of 50 in Managua
377 reviews
5.4 km away
Hyatt Place Managua
Hyatt Place Managua
#1 of 50 in Managua
435 reviews
9.7 km away
Globales Camino Real
Globales Camino Real
#4 of 50 in Managua
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua
Address: Octava Calle Sur Oeste 101, Managua, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Managua
#5 Spa Hotel in Managua
#7 Business Hotel in Managua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua is located in a entertainment and economic strategic place, in Nicaragua only 15 minutes away from the International Airport in Managua, the Hotel is very close to the City Life Center, is conveniently located close to the President Office and many embassies, you will be able to enjoy of a spectacular view, of the city, with the best facilities for your comfort, pleasure, business and conventions. The Hotel Architecture reminds us the Ancestral Mayas Pyramids.The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage was developed to provide our guests with a scientifically-based, holistic approach to better sleep. Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua has a luxury and nice environment. Enjoy of a splendid international food in our restaurants and for our casuals meetings and events, you will enjoy of your delight drink in our nice Bar and Lounge Concorde. The Convention Center of Hotel Crowne Plaza Managua, make an appropriate environment for your meetings congress, conventions success. Our convention center has the largest and moderns meetings lounges in Nicaragua, where you can be able to place groups from 10 to 2000 people, always assisted by our professionals, moderns audio-visuals equipment, video conference, and wireless internet band. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Managua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Managua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing