We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Panama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Panama
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Wonderful stay with beautiful rooms and pool terrace great for views of city and harbor. Excellent service. Renaldo at front door is nothing less than exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sj2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.


We thank you for all your compliments and hope to have you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    234
    60
    17
    20
See reviews for
132
248
61
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed at Le Meridian Panama Dec 17th. The hotel is located in a great part of the city. Modern and surprisingly spacious room, overlooking thePacific Ocean. The bathroom was amazing! We at at the hotel restraunt for breakfast and the traditional Panamanian breakfast for four was delious and very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.


We thank you for all your compliments and hope to have you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Le Meridien Panama is swank and wants you to know it. The terrace with a pool is a lovely spot from which to view the city. The beds were very comfortable, but our room (with two queen beds) had too-large gaps in the frosting of the shower wall that were a little odd considering the fact that it was set up for non-couples. The air conditioning was comfortable but made the room quite dry and felt very closed off from the city.

I booked a room with SPG points for three people and was informed upon arrival that the rate I had booked was only for two people and that it was $20 for an additional guest, leading me to assume that the room rate included breakfast. The reply was a stony no, that no rewards reservations include breakfast. The room we received was not made up to include a third person (extra set of towels, bathrobe), depite the additional cost. Worst of all was an incorrect charge on my credit card for the minibar. When I called to ask about the additional charge, I was told that no one could explain the charge me at that time (during normal business hours on a weekday) and I would have to call back at another time.

Bottom line: prices are far too high and hidden charges (no internet, breakfast or tax included in room price, errant minibar charges) and poor service make this hotel less than desireable. There are much better choices in Panama City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_F11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We apologize for not having met your expectations and appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

20 minutes to the airport with a great view. Location is perfect. Staff was extremely nice and free valet parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.


We thank you for all your comments and hope to have you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Rooms are very good. Decoration is great.
Service could be much better. Hotel could give free Wi-Fi and breakfast to everyone as rates are expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaosolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.


We thank you for all your comments and hope to have you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed here and really enjoyed this hotel. The service was the best because the staff that worked there were not only nice but all the info they gave us on things to do, places to eat and see were 100% right on!!! The Hotel was very clean, cozy, modern with the bed so comfortable we took 2 naps 1 day. The pool on the roof was a bit small but clean, never crowded and had a spectacular view of the city. The Bar was nice, modern and was a great place to "wind down" after hitting the city. The Room was large with a large window with a clear view of the bay where you could watch the ships line up to enter the canal. Location was great in that you could walk 2 blocks behind the Hotel for plenty of choices of restaurants, night life etc.

My Wife had to work a bit while on this trip and the hotel easily accommodated that.

I'd recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Get a room to the front of the Hotel so you can get a clear view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWFRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.


We thank you for all your compliments and hope to have you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

First of all, this is a very nice hotel. So from a comfort and cleanliness standpoint, there's really nothing to complain about. It's a cool lobby, the rooms are big and nice (and our view overlooking the water was great), and the facilities are a solid 4+ star experience. We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay there.

I should also add that the location is EXCELLENT. The street that it is on happens to be the heart of the best dining and nightlight options in the city, so you can walk down to great restaurants such as Market, La Posta, LT Restaurant, etc, right there. This is a major plus that shouldn't be overlooked.

The issues we had with the hotel came from mixed service. Overall the service was good. In particular, we had one excellent concierge who really helped us out (including tracking down a missed cell phone).

However, another time my wife was booked for a salon appointment, assured multiple times it was confirmed, only to show up and find it was closed that day. When she asked the concierge (a different person than above) what happened, there was no apology or admission of anything wrong, only that she had planned to call the salon later but never got around to it. At other times the Business Center, which was meant to be open 24 hours, was closed and we had to ask for special requests to get it open even during the day.

These are minor quibbles for what is overall a nice hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone traveling to Panama City. It's just that they need to get a few things together on the professionalism front just to "up" the level to where it needs to be as an international hotel in a fast-growing city.

But from a comfort, "niceness," and location-perspective, it's definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boris D, Manager at Le Meridien Panama, responded to this review, 18 August 2015
We appreciate all your comments and the time taken to evaluate our services and property; this will help us in order to improve our quality standards and to provide you with excellent customer service.


We thank you for all your comments and hope to have you back in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.1 km away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.8 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.1 km away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Panama

Property: Le Meridien Panama
Address: Calle Uruguay and Balboa Avenue, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Bay of Panama overlooking the old and new quarters of the city, we're bounded by charming restaurants and vibrant nightlife, all within a few minutes to the financial center and corporate offices. Our design is jaw-dropping. A double high ceiling lobby features an overturned glass pyramid reflecting vibrant colors, while a black granite lobby blends with golden accents, and a prominent 46 feet high atrium featuring lively glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Panama Hotel Panama City
Le Meridien Panama Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing