We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cheap-ish”
Review of Central Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Park Hotel
Ranked #89 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 10 May 2016

When we first arrived, we were placed on the 5th floor. The room had chairs with dry-rotted leather, and it smelled a bit musky, and some of the furniture seemed dated. The view wasn't all that great, and the wifi was not working. We asked to be placed in another room, and we were moved to the 10th floor. From there, things were a bit better. A bit.

The Staff
Hospitable, respectable, and attentive to our needs. No complaints about them.

The Rooms
Smelled a bit musky. We had to air it out for a bit. The beds were not made up as neat and as inviting as the photo listed shows, but they were firm and comfortable non-the-less. I wished we had slightly bigger pillows though.

The WiFi
Free, but SLOW. The fastest WiFi is available in the lobby area... And that still pretty slow.

The In-Room Phones
Sometimes they work. Most of the times you pick up the receiver to a dead line. Don't depend on it.

The Pool
It's supposed to be open from 6am to 10pm, but if you're lucky, the entrance to it will be open from 11am to 7pm. If it is closed however, simply ask the reception area to open it for you - although I don't think that we should have the need to do that!
To get there, you'd need to walk all the way downstairs, through the lobby, across the park-park area, and up an old squeaky elevator to the 5th floor. The pool water was cold and looked relatively clear, but had small floating debris in it. Again, uninviting.

The Breakfast
Very small range of things to choose from - Toasted/Sliced Bread, Two types of Cereal, Cheese, Ham, Butter, Eggs made to order (scrambled, boiled, or omelette). The drinks include Coffee/Tea, and Orange/Pineapple Juice.

The Sleep
Relatively comfortable. The only disturbance you may get is the honking trucks from the main road in front of the hotel during rush hour. You barely hear car horns once the door to the veranda is closed.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 10th floor or higher. Anything lower and the view outside of your room may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016

This was our third stay at the Central Park and, very much like our previous stays, there were no disappointments here. The room was magnificent - very large with a private balcony (as are all the rooms in the hotel, I believe). Everything flowed seamlessly, from our late check-in to the very early check-out ten days later. The staff were, as with previous visits, very friendly and helpful. Yes, the rooftop pool is in another building, but its not as if you're walking miles (serious exaggeration that one!). There is a casino in the front and the hotel is in the back of a strip mall, but neither of those facts have any bearing on the comfort or pleasure we enjoyed during this, our third stay. Thank you Central Park for the lovely complimentary plate of snacks and the bottle of Ron Ponche brought to our room on Christmas Day! You know what - if we visit Panama again next year, you'll find us for sure at the Central Park Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Let's start this review with the word AWFUL! Online pictures can be very deceiving for starters. If you look this place up online, looks good right? This place smelled like old moldy socks in the hallways and rooms. The room had no place to put your luggage, no hangers, a coffee pot with no coffee, king bed with lumps, etc. Should I go on?
OK. We checked in to the Superior King room. This room made Motel 6 look like the Ritz. So, we asked for another room immediately. The Junior Suite. Give me a break! Chinese paper lanterns would have been better than the lamps in the room. At least one worked. Another uncomfortable bed, and so on and so on. AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAUGE! We got up early and checked out before 9am and headed to a wonderful hotel that is a Marriott Property. The Sortis Hotel Casino and Spa. Oh, by the way this was my wife's birthday celebration, and what started out as a nightmare on elm street, had a happy ending. Next!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleG55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

We arrived and with no one else checking in, the process took more than 20 minutes (we had a reservation). When we got to the room, the toilet was dirty, there was no toilet paper, the phone did not work, the safe was not working, the internet was spotty at best, and we discovered that we had to go OUTSIDE and across a driveway and up another elevator to use the dirty swimming pool. On the tenth floor (where we stayed) the ice machine was not working and there were two old beds stacked in front of it. Only one of the three elevators worked. The "free" breakfast was terrible and there was nothing to choose from. Finally, the toilet ran intermittently ALL night... Oh did I mention the spa was no longer in business. And lastly, the Casino was a small dirty place without the advertised poker room.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank BlowinBubblesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Exceeded our expectations, thank you Mr. Hernandez for our honeymoon. Nice room and clean, central a/c, nice hot water, excellent view from the balcony. We could not ask for more, thank you all for our wonderful stay. We'll see you soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank versall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abimel H, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest: Thanks for your beautiful phrases, we are very happy to know that you has a perfect stay at our hotel. During your next trip to Panama don’t hesitate to stay with us again, we will be very glad to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were a group that traveled to Panama and we staid 3 nights at this hotel. Thank you so much Angel at the front desk for being so helpfull and nice!
Big rooms with a coffee maker and fridge. Ok location in El Dorado. 4-10 USD for a taxi down town

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abimel H, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank´s for your opinion. During your future trips to Panama City, don't hesitate to stay in this your Central Park Hotel & Casino Panama. Also invite your friends to live the "Perfect Harmony Between Business, Pleasure and Nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 14 day stay at the Central Park Hotel in Panama. The hotel and staff impressed us the first time we stayed there last year and even more so this year. Everything flowed seamlessly from check in to the time we left. We got a room on the 13th Floor again with that wonderful view overlooking the Corridor Norte in the distance and the National Park. The amenities were amazing - we love the rooftop pool, the super friendly and helpful staff, the valet parking. We had more of an opportunity to check out the surrounding neighborhood and spent some time at the casino - really nice. We can't recommend this hotel enough - this was our second successful stay and we plan on staying there again whenever we are in Panama! I am positive you'll enjoy the experience also!

Room Tip: I would again recommend a room facing the national park with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralParkPTY, Web Marketing at Central Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments about your recent visit, we are pleased to know that our installations and services are up to par with your expectations.
Also invite your friends to live the "Perfect Harmony Between Business, Pleasure and Nature. During your next trip to Panama don’t hesitate to stay with us again, we will be very glad to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
2.4 km away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#69 of 116 in Panama City
121 reviews
2.3 km away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#63 of 116 in Panama City
152 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 116 in Panama City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Panama City, Panama
3.6 km away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#98 of 116 in Panama City
300 reviews
2.6 km away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Hotel

Address: Calle Miguel Brostella | El Dorado, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Panama City
#11 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#21 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $61 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa features first-class services and modern facilities, spacious and comfortable rooms, with options of Superior, Deluxe and Junior Suite full equipt with kitchenette (microwave, coffe maker and mini fridge, dining table, working desk, safe box, balconies with Panama City Views and Metropolitan Park Views. Other Facilities: outdoor pool, lobby bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, casino, Spa, front desk and security 24 hours.Central Park Hotel Casino & Spa Central Park Hotel give you the best option for executives and travellers who want to be in Symphony between business, nature, and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing