We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Embera Tours Panama
from US$195.00
More Info
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dugout canoe plantains chagres river native dances tribal village daily life villagers plants handicrafts culture jungle carvings panama leader clothing inhabitants perspective
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 277 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took the trip with Garceth. It seemed to us from the tours we read about that this would be the least visited village. The canoe ride was through some of the most beautiful areas. Garceth pointed out areas of interest on the way. Upon arrival and greeting, we were treated to a long explanation and demonstration of many items of their way of life. We asked so many additional questions and felt we learned much about them and their culture and life. After that we had a lunch prepared of fish and plantains along with a huge mound of pineapple and melon. All was fresh and tasted good. Some of us went on a hike to learn about plants they use in daily life. A couple of us stayed in the village and were pleasantly surprised to find a young girl who spoke fairly good English. She had stayed with a Missionary and learned the language there. We enjoyed sitting around and getting to know her and her family and she asked us about our lives back home. While our life styles are so different, we are all the same when it comes to children and families.
We did have an opportunity to buy some beautiful baskets, carvings and silver jewelry. Our biggest disappointment was that we didn't bring more money. I would have liked to buy more. It was an amazing trip and I will never forget it. Garceth was excellent and took the time to make sure we understood the people and their culture. I would recommend this very highly. I was skeptical because I was concerned it would be too "touristy". The young lady we met did say when they have visitors it is a day off of work for them and they enjoy it very much.

Date of experience: January 2013
3  Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Garceth, as an Embera Indian himself, brings additional information and background to this unique tour. We rode to the Embera Puru Village in a dugout canoe, which in itself was like going back in time. The villagers were very friendly and welcoming as they shared information about their lifestyle, creating handicrafts, and day to day life. We had a hike through the jungle with a healer who pointed out different plants used in healing and then we had a delicious meal served in a leaf bowl. The villagers performed several dances and we were all invited to join in.This was a very special tour. Don't miss learning more about this unique culture.

Date of experience: November 2012
2  Thank Mary4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I took the tour with emberavillagetours.com and Anne was our guide. She is from the USA but married one of the Embera men after meeting him while working on a documentary filmed in the village. This is one of those once in a lifetime experiences that I am so glad I didnt miss. The Embara people are very nice and the children was beautiful. They loved having their photos taken and the lunch they prepared for us was delcious. I highly recommend contacting Anne for the experience.

Date of experience: November 2012
3  Thank Becky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with Gamboa Tours, which was prompt, individualized and personal. We agree with all the reviews that this is a tour not to be missed for its educational value. We left the tour quickly as there was an impending rain storm, which we just missed in the canoes, but which made our return drive through the rainforest and additional experience as our driver and guide evaded numerous downed trees which blocked the road. Gamboa Tours, in general, provided good drivers, who were always on time, courteous, and knowledgeable, and who made our visit to Panama worry free.

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was a little apprehensive about taking our 2 yo daughter to this but overall it was fantastic experience for all and I didn't need to worry at all.

Do bring snacks, an umbrella for shade as it was incredibly hot and can burn you (we traveled toward end of August ), suncream and swimwear and insect repellant. The only aspect of the tour that I didn't do was the 20 min or so tour of the forest where the tribe leader explains how the herbs they use, the plants in the area. This tour is in the forest and not so safe for a young toddler to walk through as our tour leader advised.

The embera tribe were so welcoming, we had a wonderful lunch (fresh fried fish, plaintains and fruit options- rambutans, watermelon, pineapple) and everyone was friendly and we felt quite at home.

Towards the end of the tour, you do get to buy the crafts which all support the different families. You also can get a tattoo like theirs which does disappear between 8-10 days.

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank OJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews