We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Embera Tours Panama
from US$195.00
More Info
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
224
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dugout canoe plantains chagres river native dances tribal village daily life villagers plants handicrafts culture jungle carvings panama leader clothing inhabitants perspective
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 279 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Taking a dugout canoe ride to the village made for a nice time--we saw a decent amount of wildlife and it was good to get out of Panama City for a while. It was educational to learn about Embera life and overall a very good way to spend the day. However, some posters give the impression that they are having unique interactions with a primitive, very friendly tribe out of National Geographic. Let's be honest: these villages receive tourists on a regular, almost daily basis and that's how they make money to exist. Some Embera were outgoing and friendly; others were more reserved, just like in real life. Some posed for photos, but many were indifferent. It felt a bit voyeuristic, but still a worthwhile tour.

Date of experience: March 2013
7  Thank Ro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After reading the 5-star reviews from others who had done this excursion, we were eagerly anticipating this experience and booked through Holland America. The hour and 15-minute drive through the countryside was nice. When we arrived at the canoe launch site we were given life vests and proceeded down what is a relatively steep dirt path, especially for the elderly or impaired, and loaded into dugout canoes with outboard motors. We were informed that we had come at a time when the river was at an extremely low level (2-3 feet deep) and the canoes were only loaded at partial capacity for this reason. They normally hold around 20 people but had only 10-12 to decrease the weight. What would have been a 10-minute canoe trip during rainy season took about 20 minutes due to getting stuck multiple times. There was an Embera man on the front of each canoe who had the unenviable task of using a very large pole to get our canoes out of the mud. It was a balmy 90 degrees outside and we were in the full sun so we were quite hot and sweaty when we arrived at the village. Unfortunately we did not find the Embera to be friendly and welcoming as other reviewers had stated. While they were not unfriendly, they seemed to be uncomfortable with all of the visitors and unsure of just exactly what to do with us. They really did not interact with us at all except for the presentations about their history and present day way of life, and, of course, while we were browsing through their craft tables. Even then the interaction was limited to simple, one-word responses to inquiries about the cost of their goods, which, to their credit, were very nice and affordable. They had beautiful wood carvings and colorful baskets for which they charge $1 for each day that it took them to complete. Comparable items in the city were much more expensive. And, as stated by other reviewers, the dances were fun, especially when they chose visitors to join in with them. The highlight for me was watching several of the children dancing and playing. Our tour description stated "light lunch", which was an understatement. We got a deli ham and cheese sandwich and a beverage. The Embera did offer us tilapia and plantain chips served in banana leaves and fresh fruit, which was nice. Beware of the bones in the fish - it is full of them. Please be aware that this tour is listed as one of the more active tours for a reason. There were several people on our excursion who definitely should not have been. A couple of people got overheated/dehydrated and felt faint, and two people fell, one of them requiring a van to come transport her back to the ship. One elderly lady had an asthma attack and had to use her inhaler. Just climbing in and out of the canoes proved very difficult for some, much less the climbing up the steep hillside after returning from the village. We left this tour feeling somewhat disappointed, although this was by no means the fault of the Embera. They have been forced to rely on tourism because their land was turned into a national park by the government, and they are no longer able to hunt the protected animals there, so tourism is their only means of supporting their families. Please, please, please don't haggle with these people over the price of their crafts. Even though our guide made this crystal clear before we arrived, unfortunately some people did not listen, and seemed to offend the Embera by haggling with them. I realize that in many tourist areas the locals expect you to negotiate over the price, but this is not one of them so please respect that.

Date of experience: April 2013
14  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been traveling Central America for the past 5 months and yesterday, just before the end of my trip, I had the most amazing tour with www.emberatourspanama.com. The owner and guide is Garceth Cunampio and he is extremely knowledgeable and personable, being an Embera himself. The trip started at 7:30am, a drive of just over an hour to arrive at the river where you board a long dugout canoe. Because of the low water level, the trip up the river to the village took almost 2 hours, but the bird life enroute was great. Arriving at the village we were greeted by the village men playing music for us. We proceeded to have a tour and walk with the old medicine man, who explained the different plants and their use. Then we had a delicious lunch served by the women, followed by an interesting talk by the village chief about the Embera culture. Then there was time to visit the school, shop for handicrafts (which were exceptional, I didn't take enough money) and time for a swim in the clear river if you desired. The cultural experience was fantastic, the villagers were very friendly and I can totally recommend going with Garceth to see the Embera people. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: April 2013
4  Thank cohoqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

excellent tour we also booked online =) everybody was very friendly with us. Good and nice food, the dance was amazing. We recommend this tour to everybody. it was an amazing adventure for us. thanks a lot

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank Sarb379
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a fantastic tour...we booked this online with the website mentioned above...this was the best tour we booked when we did our cruise through western caribbean...the guide was super friendly,on time in the morning and on time back to the ship...the people prepared food for us..fantastic fresh grilled fish in banana leafs...they danced for us ,we received also explanations about different trees and medical effects...for us it was a fantasic experience..this is our top three experience...so book it...whawwww..you can not explain this in words..it's magic...

2  Thank xavke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews