We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Embera Tours Panama
from US$195.00
More Info
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dugout canoe plantains chagres river native dances tribal village daily life villagers plants handicrafts culture jungle carvings panama leader clothing inhabitants perspective
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 277 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family of 6 (includes ages 18 thru 28) are seasoned travelers from Chicago. When planning our Panama vacation we used Tripadvisor to choose our Embera Tour and I was so impressed I knew that I wanted Garceth as our guide to the Embera Village. Garceth is Embera who is well-educated and obviously extremely knowledgeable. Who better to explain the Embera background and culture? He was excellent in our pre-trip planning, he and his very personable driver were prompt and accommodating. If you are interested in understanding different cultures, natural resources (we took a walk with the village medicine man to understand the use of plants in healing), as well as the bonus of purchasing a hand-crafted beautiful basket from the woman who created it, do not miss this tour! Can't say enough good things about Garceth! and hands down this was one of the memorable experiences for our family!

Date of experience: December 2013
3  Thank susann888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2013

What an experience to visit the Puru Village, just approx. 2 hours from
modern Panama City. Very friendly people, who seem very happy to
live their life in the same way that their ancestors did for hundreds of years.
The excursion is very well organised and our guide Daniel was outstanding.
The Highlight of our short trip to Panama. Make sure to book through:
anne@EmberaVillageTours.com

Date of experience: November 2013
2  Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Trip starts out with a 45 minute dugout canoe ride down a river and across Madden Lake and up some rapids to the Embera Village. It's a small village of about 125 people. The medicine Man took us for a walk outside the village and explained the use of plants in treatments of various ills.

We enjoyed a native lunch; talked with the chief about village operations. Bought some of their lovely crafts that were on display. Had a extensive time strolling through the village; talking with the village people and their children. Then enjoyed some dancing and swimming in the river. GREAT people!!

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I don't have a lot of specifics to add to the earlier reviews, except to say how awesome it was to have a tour director (Garceth, the owner of the business) who is himself an Embera and grew up in a village much like the one that we visited (in Darien, not in the area that we visited on the tour) and thus knows the local language and culture as an insider, not a Western outsider. I was a bit concerned ahead of time that the visit might feel exploitative, but Garceth's presence ensured that it was nothing like that. Instead, we felt like we had stumbled into a National Geographic documentary. The people were warm and friendly and eager to have us learn about their culture, and they tried their best to communicate with us in Spanish. (Don't expect more than a few words of English.) Their handicrafts were truly amazing--I wished that I had brought more money with me so that I could take more objects home to display while also helping them financially. It was so cool to be able to buy a rosewood iguana that was hand-carved by their chief, who personally wrapped it up for me! All seven of us in our group of middle-aged Americans agreed that this was the best thing that we did during our nearly two weeks in Panama. And the price was good, too--notably cheaper than any of the other tour operators if you take a rental car and follow Garceth out to the boat launch site rather than having him transport you there. Don't miss this opportunity!!!

Date of experience: May 2013
4  Thank cljdstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were on a private tour,just the two of us and a guide. The village we visited was very small in number, just one family. They wore native costumes and were very nice and informative, serving us a traditional meal. Unfortunately, they had no handmade goods to sell us. The attention we got was fabulous, our guide wonderful, however, at the end of the visit one must wonder how much of this is just another tourist ploy.

Date of experience: February 2013
4  Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews