We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Embera Tours Panama
from US$195.00
More Info
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dugout canoe plantains chagres river native dances tribal village daily life villagers plants handicrafts culture jungle carvings panama leader clothing inhabitants perspective
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 277 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2015

Panama is not ready for tourism, nothing to see asides from the canal. Locals already charging NYC prices from tourists and unless you go to favellas, the prices will stay at New York level. Beer for 50 cents is a myth, turtle soup no where to be found, no animals, pretty much nothing exotic that youd expect from exotic country, better off going to peru and try guinea pig stew.

Date of experience: January 2015
5  Thank klimarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

We lucked out and had Garceth as our guide. If you can get him, do this tour as you won't be sorry. It is completely authentic and not hokey at all. This is a REAL village with visitors coming maybe twice a week. You will learn their customs, learn their history, see their way of life and have a delicious lunch. Worth every penny as this is likely something you'll never do anywhere else. We took our three kids- ages 9, 6, and 4- and they had a tremendous time too!

5  Thank Jordan7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2014

I went with Rudy from Patty's Casitas on this tour of the Embera Village in Panama- I met a people who were genuinely kind and patient- the Embera are a people who are healthy looking and peaceful - I toured their village of huts on stilts- a medicine man took us around and Rudy translated- he showed us the herbs and bushes from leaves that cure Diabetes and Cholesterol- we entered their one room school house where Spanish is learned- we were given a delicious meal of fresh Tlipia from the river where they live on its banks- we joined a dance and learned on how happy people can be with living with nature and have minimal material goods and therefore no waste or garbage- it was so satisfying seeing exotic birds from the forest feel comfortable around people- the Embera also sold beaded jewelry and colorful baskets and they did not charge outrageous prices- each product sold made by all the families and benefited the whole village- the Embera taught me a lesson in humans living in harmony

Date of experience: November 2014
3  Thank Oscar072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2014

A trip to an Embara Village with Rudy, from Patty's Casitas is always the highlight of a trip to Panama (yes, it is better than the canal!) It can't be described how a tribe has chosen to live the same lifestyle for over 600 years. there are several small tribes for tourists to visit and 15,000 Embara tribesman live in the jungles near the Nicaragua border!

Just book it with Patty's Casitas and you will understand what I mean after you have the honor of spending a few hours with a wonderful people!

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank striper2fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2014

I got to Panama on the Holland American ship m/s Zuiderman; I got to the Embera village by motorized dugout. What a contrast, both in terms of life style and mode of transportation.

The Embra are semi-nomadic, indigenous people who even in 2014 are retaining many of their old ways and customs.

The visited village is located on a river in the rain forest in Darien Province in Panama, reachable only by dugout canoe. Even with an outboard motor pushing the canoe, it took us at an hour to reach the village. The canoe leaked a bit and the seats were narrow wooden slats, not very comfortable, but I would make the trip again in a heart beat.

If you ever have the opportunity to visit this or another Embera village, be sure to do so. The day I spent in the village was unlike any other experience I have had.

Rather than write a long description of the village, I encourage you to look at this short video. It gives you a very good idea what the trip and visit are like.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVPA_HSHhpQ

The Embera people have their own language but are required by the government to learn Spanish. If you can speak even a little Spanish the residents will enjoy talking with you. I had a good conversation with the chief and one of the people; they enjoyed it as much as I did.

The only bathroom facilities at the village for visitors is a latrine. A simple meal was served of fruit and fish.

Date of experience: October 2014
3  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews