We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Embera Tours Panama
from US$195.00
More Info
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dugout canoe plantains chagres river native dances tribal village daily life villagers plants handicrafts culture jungle carvings panama leader clothing inhabitants perspective
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 277 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2015

It is about an hour ride by van to catch the boats that take you to this indigenous tribal community that gives you an idea of the past cultural impact these people had in this área. You get to taste their talapia fish...very tasty I might add and their folk dances with their kids included are very cute....sweet and peaceful people....I left wishing I knew more about their past and present situations, but the barrier of time and language prevented me from doing so. I wish that they would have a hut with a DVD player giving a better historical over view and recent up dates..like how the village actually functions politically and relationally when it come to marriage etc but I loved it over all

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank 286thomasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2015

We visited Panama on a cruise ship so no excursion was going to be that special due to the number of people involved. The journey from Lake Gatun to Chagres River was interesting as we passed rural views and local villages. The trip was spoilt by the non-stop commentary by our guide but others seems to appreciate his efforts.
The river journey was special in dugout canoes that leaked a bit but powered by Suzuki outboard motors. We travelled into the rain forest which closed on both sides. There were houses with small areas of deforestation around them but overall little sign of human habitation. We saw a few birds but no large mammals.
Once at the Embera Village, one of a few that are visited by tourists, we were welcomed by traditional music and then we were able to wander around the outside of homes and school. This appeared to be a real village. There was dancing and music plus the crafts to buy as expected. It was interesting to learn how the fibres are stained by natural products and woven so tightly that dishes hold liquids. There was a long drop latrine for guests.
There were just too many people for the atmosphere to be meaningful and the costumes seemed too similar to be fully authentic but this was as good as one could expect from a cruise excursion.

Date of experience: January 2015
4  Thank Dean-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2015

We arrived there by boat. The local tribe people did some of their traditional dances and the normal touristy tables with souvenirs were available to the tourists. Lunch prepared by the locals was provided. All in all an interesting experience, but very touristy.

Date of experience: March 2015
4  Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2015

You will learn about the crops that the tribe grows, the crafts that they make, how they build their homes, etc. All questions were welcome. We enjoyed seeing how the vibrant colors in the baskets were made using natural plant dyes.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank travelpal600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2015

Panama is not ready for tourism, nothing to see asides from the canal. Locals already charging NYC prices from tourists and unless you go to favellas, the prices will stay at New York level. Beer for 50 cents is a myth, turtle soup no where to be found, no animals, pretty much nothing exotic that youd expect from exotic country, better off going to peru and try guinea pig stew.

Date of experience: January 2015
5  Thank klimarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews