We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Got Crabs & We Liked It!”
Review of Cajun Claws

Cajun Claws
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Abbeville
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: This is the definitive place to eat boiled crawfish. It's the best in the entire world. You need to get it onto TripAdvisor
Restaurant details
Description: This is the definitive place to eat boiled crawfish. It's the best in the entire world. You need to get it onto TripAdvisor
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

This nondescript metal building off the I-10 was full of delicious surprises! We arrived to discover that Blue Point Crabs were in season but had never eaten any before - The owner came out and gave us a hands-on demonstration in his charming south Louisiana drawl, which framed the meal perfectly. The crabs themselves were ridiculously delicious and the wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and timely. The meal, while messy, was worth the mountain of napkins we used and the prices were very reasonable. The only thing I regret is that we won’t have time to stop there again on our trip back to Texas!

If you don’t stop here, you’re really missing out on something special!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank jlockledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2017

Crawfish is my favorite food on earth. This is simply the best. It is worth the wait. Get a Bloody Mary and fried shrimp for an appetizer! SO GOOD.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank mmc3424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We live just a few blocks away from Cajun Claws, and we had heard many great reviews. However, each time we passed, the parking lots was packed, and overflowing. That's a good sign. We decided to give it a try a few days ago, and it worked. Entering, there is a bar/waiting area that was really warm. The evening sun was shooting through all of the windows heating it up. The wait was just s few minutes, so we had a few beers. The beer was very cold, and came with a frozen mug. OK. That's a plus. We were seated in the dining room, which was a bit gloomy. But, you must learn not to expect much by way of decor in places that specialize in crawfish. Seated directly under a three-bladed ceiling fan did not help cool things down, and the piece of sagging ceiling was not encouraging. As usual, menus are not brought to the table, because it is expected that you have come for crawfish, but we asked for some anyway. The serve crawfish at 3 /12 pounds, 5 pounds, and higher. The traditional fixings of mayo, ketchup (This was not Heinz), and horseradish to make your on crawfish dipping sauce to your taste. Saltine crackers are always on nearly all seafood restaurants in South Louisiana, and while waiting, we made our own sauce dipping our crackers while we wait. The crackers were stale. No question. Quality come into question again. But, then came the crawfish, and they were HUGE! Some were the largestI have ever seen, and their claws, the hinged portion, were nearly 4 inches long!!! They were like small lobsters. They were well worth the wait as well as the few disappointments along the way. They close at the end of crawfish season, around the end of May, so get there soon. Otherwise, you will have to wait until November, when the season begins again.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahab236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

Now they do serve up the biggest, cleanest and best tasting mud bugs we have ever had. Pricey though, but hubby says good crawfish cost. Do they ever. 5 lbs of crawfish each and three beers set us back 97.74 or so. No menus. They were nice, but thought they just didn't have any.
Real good though.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank jewels299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2016

Drove 4 hours for these crawfish and they did not disappoint! Perfectly seasoned and cooked. Everyone of the crawfish were perfect. No squishy or limp ones in the bunch. The Claws!!!!! OMG!!!! They were so big and sweet! The onion, corn and potatoes were perfect as well. Not too much spice, just enough.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank G9224HGsusant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cajun Claws also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Claws? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing