We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
51
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
51
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atv trails level sites quiet hours wifi maine bathhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We have camped for 40 years, and this is the nicest, best-run place we have ever stayed in. They have something for everyone, and it is clean, quiet, they have recycling bins, just absolutely top notch! It is off the beaten path, nestled in the pines and maples, etc. We would absolutely recommend Balsam Woods to everyone!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank onenutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

This is one of the nicest Campgrounds we have visited! Mostly Spacious, wooded, and private! seemed like almost all the sites were level some grassy and quiet! they have a nice heated pool and open pavilion, some of the cleanest bathrooms and showers I've seen, nice walking trails and an ATV area away from campers! Owners are real nice people and hard workers! They put on a nice Sunday morning breakfast of all you can eat assorted Pancakes, Sausage links, coffee and juice just $5 and I couldn't do seconds! they also they host an Ice Cream social which we missed we were setting up, Moosehead Lake area is nice about 25 miles but things to see on the way! they had full hookups and Wifi through out the campground! next time we return we would stay longer! 5 days wasn't enough!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PardyHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

We stayed in 2 sites with friends. The campground is very well kept and clean.Sites large and level. WiFi didn't work for us.Be sure to take Pond Road to the campground. Both our regular and RV GPS took us to the road just beyond Pond Rd. According to a local, he directs folks looking for the campground back to Pond Road on a daily basis.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Very nice, well kept property. Lots to do without leaving the campground. Tons of hiking trails, ATV trails, hayrides, amazing game room, updated horseshoe pits, basketball court and volleyball court. Thwy have a very clean, heated pool, a snack bar, ice cream scoop shop and large gift shop. It is so well maintained and well kept that it has a resort feel to the place. Place is busy during the day but it gets nice and quiet during the night. The sites are reasonably private and wooded. Would recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Large woodsy level sites (nice cabins available too), trees between neighbors, quiet (no road noise, just an occasional loon call), very helpful staff, reasonable rates, full hook-ups, kayak rentals, pool, ATV trails, free air pump, nearby ponds, best shower houses we've ever seen, library, camp store, ice cream, pizza to go, laundry, recycling, recreation room, firewood and fire rings, almost no bugs/flies, discounts for extended stays, free WiFi, phone reception, very service oriented. We kept extending our stay, because we enjoyed this campground and the surrounding area so much. Ended up spending almost 2 weeks when we started with 3 days.

Great bakery nearby, moose watching, fishing, swimming, boating, arts & culture, within half an hour of Moosehead Lake and Greenville. Matt and his staff have listened to their customers' suggestions and made this a top notch campground by all standards. They deserve excellent reviews, but I hate to let the secret out. We hope to come back next year. This is our new favorite campground.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharonmiles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews