We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
50
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
50
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atv trails level sites quiet hours wifi maine bathhouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2020

Easily changed our early summer reservation to early October - due to the pandemic. Loved the ease of getting to the campground and into our site. All sizes of sites, many with trees &shrubs between sites, some multiple family areas.Clean, modernized bathhouse, (handicapped accessible,) all the usual playground stuff and more. ATVs welcome, but not allowed to drive around the camper sites. Ample parking near the ATV fuel-up area and well-marked trail to the Maine ATV trails. Snack bar, small store, (game room not open during pandemic). Mostly shaded sites. Wifi available throughout the sites. Many locals on weekends, quieter on the weekdays, quiet hours seem well monitored and respected.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Balsam Woods 5 years ago and loved the campground.
Now 5 years later, the campground is still clean, friendly, level sites, offers large wooded sites and the owners are terrific. Of course, with Covid 19, there are not any activities during the week. Of course, you are asked to maintain social distancing and wear a mask in the store. There are activities on the weekend.
We really think this is one of, if not the best, campgrounds we have stayed in. I hope it’s not another 5 years to visit again.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank camperJan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2019 via mobile

This is a great campground. The sites are described in detail in the website and that helped us pick a private spot. The bathrooms were super clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the rec room and having a general store on-site was a nice bonus. Trail access from the atv parking area was great too. Only wish we could ride out Rzr to our site. We do a lot of camping and leave our truck at a trailhead.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ingridaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Absolutely the best campground I have stayed at so far! The owners obviously put much thought into what campers like and want-the layout is smartly done,amenities are abundant,lots of activities, and close to many points of interest,The place is very clean and well maintained by the owners ,who are extremely friendly and helpful!! I would strongly urge anyone to stay there

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AshtabulaAuggie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We have camped for 40 years, and this is the nicest, best-run place we have ever stayed in. They have something for everyone, and it is clean, quiet, they have recycling bins, just absolutely top notch! It is off the beaten path, nestled in the pines and maples, etc. We would absolutely recommend Balsam Woods to everyone!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank onenutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews