We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask the locals where to eat.....”
Review of The Red Barn

The Red Barn
Ranked #1 of 7 Quick Bites in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery
Description: The Red Barn has been a mainstay of our community since 1977, when the Benedicts opened the original restaurant and started serving chicken and seafood to local citizens and curious tourists. Some of its employees have served as many as four generations of central Maine families who have come to count on the Red Barn for quality and value. Over the past thirty five years, all ten of Bill and Florence Benedict’s children have worked here at one time or another. The family’s work ethic has been engrained in all of them. It is the essence of Maine’s economic mentality—you work hard, show commitment to what you do, and eventually reap the benefits. In 1986, Laura Benedict took ownership of the Red Barn, which was then struggling to stay afloat amid an influx of national chain restaurants. The journey certainly hasn’t been an easy one, especially during this current time of economic uncertainty, but she has managed to remain tenacious, despite mistakes and obstacles. Thanks to that tenacity, and the patronage of countless loyal customers who keep coming back year after year, the Red Barn can proudly claim its status as one of the very last and busiest family owned and operated restaurants in the area.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food. At first appears a bit expensive then it arrives. The chowder they gave us fantastic, but more of a soup than a thick chowder...however that is not a reason to even consider not going here. Little off the beaten path but well worth it.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TCPDump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at The Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank yuo so much for your review! We have been a locals' favorite for over 41 years and counting. Our community helped us through the tough times and we are reciprocating by investing over $2,700,000 toward helping needy Maine families. We stick together and that is what Maine is all about. Love,Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1st time visit, so a few comments for other 1st timers. Seat yourself if available grab a menu, and then order at counter, name called and go pickup. My wife and I ordered the Mixed Seafood Basket that includes a Dinner Roll all served in a paper basket When picked up looked great, but I was looking for the Dinner Roll, it is placed on the bottom of basket and all the items are placed on top. The food was good but for the $21.00 price and no other side, not sure if we would return.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Paul0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at The Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Paul. We do offer large portions of the freshest Maine seafood available. Our mixedbaskets are not inexpensive, but the quality is unparalleled. We are also very casual and provide a very pleasant, personal atmosphere. We also have our incredibly popular chicken family meals that feed four for $23.95 and it exceptional and perfect for families. Please do come and see loads of other options. Love,Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small little restaurant, which specializes in fried chicken and seafood. Laura make the best seafood chowder you'll get anywhere. My boys really like the lobster rolls while I go with the fried chicken!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at The Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, Pamela! We are know for our chicken and seel hundreds of orders a day. I enjoy eating it every day and have for over 41 years! Our recipe is coveted and everything is breaded to order to ensure a fresh, piping hot meal every time. Thank you once again. Love,Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

It seems everything is deep fried and salty. The room is cramped, noisy, and uninteresting. One feels like you're being rushed in and out.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank strshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at The Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

I have no words. We are small and very casual and never pretended to be anything other than that. Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

If you need a seafood fix in central Maine hit the Red Barn. The line moves fast, the food is great, and the portions are big. The owner is a huge community supporter and customers can't help but come away full and feeling like their money went to a worthy local business. A thousand kudos to Laura B!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brenda698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at The Red Barn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

I am so happy to read this, Brenda! I love this business and have struggled for decades to stay afloat. In an act of desperation I opened my doors and had my first benefit in Decamber 2010. The communtiy rallied and that saved us. Since that time we have raised over $2,700,000 for needy Maine families and are contiuing to thrive thanks to the support of our community. We are by no means fussy, but we do serve with love. Love,Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Red Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing