We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN THE MOUNTAINS”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a hidden little gem in the mountains of Eastern MA! My husband and I stayed a weekend for a convention and were pleasantly surprised by the well appointed rooms - newly renovated and in good taste. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Trying to find our way on campus can be challenging at first, but once you are acclimated, it's simple and well worth the effort to find this hotel.

Room Tip: They are in the middle of some huge building projects on campus. So, you will see equipment everywh...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladydragonfly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel UMass
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

My daughter and I enjoyed our night at the U Mass Hotel! We came to visit the college and she wanted to stay right on campus. It was VERY convenient to stay there, although I can't imagine staying there if you weren't visiting the campus or having a meeting there. It was strange entering through the garage area but we were greeted by a friendly valet (student) and he helped us with our luggage and took us all the way up to the front desk. This was good because due to the summer construction we would never have found our way without his help! The Rooms were comfy, once I figured out how to get the air on. The only complaint was the construction noise woke me up a 7am the following morning. But overall a great hotel with a nice continental breakfast included too!

Room Tip: With construction going on (if it still is when you go) request room that faces away from it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

July 11/12 2012 A great hotel. The rooms are not large but very well appointed, very clean. Excellent service and most of all (my priority) quite. Very good free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwana_Ugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I shopped around before hearing of this on campus hotel. Slightly higher priced than some but the appointments were of a higher class hotel. We were there one night for the two day Parent Orientation and loved being in the middle of things, could walk the campus with free time, and enjoyed the welcome we always got from staff whenever we encountered one. The sunset view from our seventh floor window was awesome! We'll return in spring and/or fall with our bikes to take advantage of the area. Worth checking this out for yourself.

Room Tip: Seventh floor had a great view of the beautiful orange sunset on the hills beyond campus.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The staff went out of its way to be helpful and friendly. The only negatives were that the room was relatively small, and the bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Service: High level of service. Professional, friendly and helpful staff accommodated any request. From the parking attendants to the housekeeping staff and lobby staff, everyone was wonderful.

Room: Tasteful, modern and recently renovated. They have a "Cleaning Bill of Rights" posted in the room and it was, by far, the cleanest hotel room we've ever seen. We stayed in the two room suite which was spacious and comfortable. Loved the ultra-modern bathrooms and kitchenette. Free Keurig, razors, shaving cream, etc was a nice touch. Incredibly comfortable mattress. Very quiet with no disruption from neighboring occupied rooms. The only downside of the room was that the temperature was a bit hard to control and the room felt cold at times.

Location: Centrally located; walking distance to world-class dining halls at Amherst. On-site cafeteria and campus store provided anything we would have needed on a bad weather day. The gelato and Pho downstairs are a must-try.

Food: Complementary breakfast had healthy choices and some indulgences as well: cereal, organic oatmeal, free-range hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, European-quality pastries, juice, and coffee.

General: Lobby was comfortable and featured floor-to-ceiling windows and stylish, modern and comfortable furniture. Parking was ample and fairly easy to access. As a guest in the hotel, you have access to a nearby pool. Free WiFi was available but a little slow, though the management was aware of the issue and trying to remedy the problem.

Overall, a wonderful hotel that we would highly recommend during your visit to Amherst! A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freebird807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed over for 2 nights for freshman parent's orientation. I like that it was in the middle of UMass and most things are walking distance from the hotel. It's a renovated hotel from the 70's and it shows in the basic architecture but the interior was remodelled tastefully with a touch of the modern. Reservations and check in was a breeze. Needed a car pass for free parking.

Likes:
Location is central
Rooms are spacious for two
Lifts were speedy
Service was very personal and helpful
Windows in rooms open slightly for some fresh air
Lots of free parking
Free access to gym (nothing fancy but got a good workout)
Student Center and University Store right in the same building
University - Collegiate atmosphere in the area
Easy access to the Amherst-Hadley area

Dislikes:
Limited Breakfast (a factor if I workout in the mornings)
Gym is located in a building 3 block away (takes a bit of time in the morning rush)
A bit of a walk from parking to lobby (difficult if you have more than one luggage)
A bit difficult to find within the campus

As the list can show, there are many pluses to checking into the UMass Hotel. With my dislikes, they are mostly minor issues that can easily be overlooked if the service is good. And the service was excellent in this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful that we felt at home in the place. Fine North Eastern hospitality.

When visiting our daughter in the collage or the Amherst area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippineTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
3.4 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
8.8 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
178 reviews
3.8 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
4.7 km away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $173 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing